Author Topic: New to pi.  (Read 1986 times)

Offline mangoat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 25
  • Kudos: 0
New to pi.
« on: September 27, 2014, 07:42:45 PM »
Just trying to login/use the falcon pi player. Have done username and password.

It then asks for another command or something. Has pihttp or something like that I on the screen with a cursor beside it. Can anyone help me past this stage to get to the GUI please??

Am at work at the moment. Will be able to answer questions tonight once I'm home and have the pi useable to me.

Regards,
mangoat

Sent from my HTC Desire HD A9191 using Tapatalk 2


Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 4,424
  • Kudos: 96
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: New to pi.
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2014, 08:09:06 PM »
mangoat, you must have a monitor and keyboard connected.

I don't use either. Unless you are Linux literate, it is not worth the effort.

My Pi is connected to my home network by CAT5 and I have speakers plugged in. After the Pi announces its TCP/IP address, I do all my configuration from the web browser of my PC (or even smartphone) on the same network, using that IP address as:  http://192.168.0.10  (for example)

I have done a few command line things a long time ago when this was really, really, really beta. For that, I used putty.exe. It will let you login remotely and do many things. Username is pi   Password is raspberry

Offline smeighan

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Highlands Ranch, Colorado
  • Posts: 1,035
  • Kudos: 11
    • Nutcracker123
Re: New to pi.
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2014, 10:11:08 PM »
as jon said, it was the fpp design teams goal that users would NEVER enter a linux command.
Usually mode of the problems i have seen is how people have setup their home network. I, like Jon, just plug my fpp's into my home network.
I use the web page to configure everything.

If there are network issues you could then plug in a hdmi monitor to see what the linux machine is doing. Even with a monitor, i never needed to plugin a keyboard. i would just use putty to issue commands if needed.

sean

Sean
Littleton, CO Latest releases http://nutcracker123.com/nutcracker/releases xLights/Nutcracker Forum http://nutcracker123.com/forum/index.php Facebook [url=https://www.facebook.com/groups

Offline mangoat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 25
  • Kudos: 0
Re: New to pi.
« Reply #3 on: September 28, 2014, 05:32:30 AM »
so i have to enter the user/pass
then utilise the webpage settings from there?

there is no simple GUI on in the falcon player?

ok, that answers that question


thanks guys :)

Offline smeighan

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Highlands Ranch, Colorado
  • Posts: 1,035
  • Kudos: 11
    • Nutcracker123
Re: New to pi.
« Reply #4 on: September 28, 2014, 07:35:50 AM »
No. Just power up the pieces in a few minutes go to a web page and enter 'fpp/". U should never have to login to anything. The web page is the Ui

Offline CaptainMurdoch

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Washington
  • Posts: 9,020
  • Kudos: 178
Re: New to pi.
« Reply #5 on: September 28, 2014, 08:52:38 AM »
The Falcon Player is 'headless',  you do not need a mouse, keyboard, or monitor to use it.  All administration is done via a web browser.
-
Chris

Offline mangoat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 25
  • Kudos: 0
Re: New to pi.
« Reply #6 on: September 28, 2014, 03:16:47 PM »
got it going, nice work guys.
thanks very much for answering my silly questions.

now to make it work with my blinky stuff.
ive only got a megatree for this year.

running vixen 3 with a p12s controller.

thanks for your assistance and hope i can continue my venture into blinky stuff with occasssional help as i run into troubles.

cheers
goat

 

Back to top