Author Topic: Programming SSCv4 with 0.0.6 hex and 1.0.12 programmer  (Read 2504 times)

Offline Tindivall

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 48
  • Kudos: 0
Programming SSCv4 with 0.0.6 hex and 1.0.12 programmer
« on: December 06, 2014, 12:36:00 PM »
First time using the Falcon programmer so it is quite possible I am doing something wrong!

Linked a video of what I am doing and hopefully someone here has an idea of what I am doing wrong.

http://youtu.be/exkYByDi70Q

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,542
  • Kudos: 57
Re: Programming SSCv4 with 0.0.6 hex and 1.0.12 programmer
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2014, 02:06:16 PM »
1) Take the "DLA programming" jumper off. In our version of SSCv4 firmware this is the test jumper.
2) Click the "program all SSC's on hub" checkbox the first time you program an SSC. Make sure all other SSCs are not on that hub or any hub the Pixelnet goes too.

Step two gives the SSC a start channel then you can  program the SSC in place using the start channel as an address with "Program all SSC's on hub" turned off.
PixelController, LLC
PixelController.com

Offline jnealand

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Location: Kennesaw, GA
  • Posts: 1,882
  • Kudos: 34
Re: Programming SSCv4 with 0.0.6 hex and 1.0.12 programmer
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2014, 02:13:29 PM »
The very first time you do this you must click the button in the bottom right to program all SSCs.  Make there is nothing else connected to a hub anywhere in your network or you will program all of them the same. 

I give all my SSCs a number which I put on a label on the board itself.  I also put a label with that number on the part of the pvc that will always stay connected to that board.  I then try to put that number and a description in the label field of the programmer so that when I go back and make changes I have a visual reminder in the programmer that I have selected the correct entry.  Because once you put in address in the SSC the first time you can then go back and make changes to the configuration by selecting the address that you programmed it to.  No more program all SSCs on the hub unless you go back and flash new firmware.

Here is screen shot of my programmer screen.  You can see that the ones I did last year do not have the number in the description, but all of those SSCs do have a printed thermal label on the outside of the pvc.  I also use the numbering in order to build a checklist when I am going thru and testing for the following year.  The numbers all tell me roughly when I built those SSCs since I start with number 1 for each item type.  I do the same for my hubs and other stuff.


[attachment deleted by admin]
Jim Nealand
Kennesaw, GA
Lynx, Falcon, XL, FPP

Offline Tindivall

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 48
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Programming SSCv4 with 0.0.6 hex and 1.0.12 programmer
« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2014, 07:31:02 PM »
That worked perfect thank you David and Jim for the quick response and help!!!


I have 1 follow up question if you don't  mind....   The strip in the video is the DLA 1809 strip... however I also have some ws2811 strips that I have used in the past on a Zues board, I would like to use them with a SSC instead... how would I go about programming those with the 1.0.12 programmer?


here is a link to the light strips from Ray Wu:
http://www.aliexpress.com/item/5m-led-digital-strip-DC12V-input-WS2811IC-256-scale-10pcs-IC-and-30pcs-5050-SMD-RGB/568458133.html

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,542
  • Kudos: 57
Re: Programming SSCv4 with 0.0.6 hex and 1.0.12 programmer
« Reply #4 on: December 06, 2014, 07:34:03 PM »
That worked perfect thank you David and Jim for the quick response and help!!!


I have 1 follow up question if you don't  mind....   The strip in the video is the DLA 1809 strip... however I also have some ws2811 strips that I have used in the past on a Zues board, I would like to use them with a SSC instead... how would I go about programming those with the 1.0.12 programmer?


here is a link to the light strips from Ray Wu:
http://www.aliexpress.com/item/5m-led-digital-strip-DC12V-input-WS2811IC-256-scale-10pcs-IC-and-30pcs-5050-SMD-RGB/568458133.html
Try the "DLA 1809 strips" for correct color order or rectangle 1809.

Offline Tindivall

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 48
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Programming SSCv4 with 0.0.6 hex and 1.0.12 programmer
« Reply #5 on: December 06, 2014, 07:47:14 PM »
Thanks again David!!!!


Offline Tindivall

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 48
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Programming SSCv4 with 0.0.6 hex and 1.0.12 programmer
« Reply #6 on: December 07, 2014, 12:47:30 PM »
Wanted to say thanks again, after all this I found the video on the wiki which would have answered without me asking, sorry I didn't find it earlier and asked.



As a side note the wiki says can only do SSCv1,2,3... needs to be updated to also mention v4  and the link at the bottom is old version of programmer.

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,542
  • Kudos: 57
Re: Programming SSCv4 with 0.0.6 hex and 1.0.12 programmer
« Reply #7 on: December 07, 2014, 04:20:57 PM »
Good catch

Offline Tindivall

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 48
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Programming SSCv4 with 0.0.6 hex and 1.0.12 programmer
« Reply #8 on: December 15, 2014, 08:10:50 AM »
Rather than start a new thread figured I would just add on here with yet another question, let me preface it with an apology asking about dla equipment here....


I have begun programming all my SSC v4 boards(have 40) .....  I can put the program jumper on all of them and they will run test sequence no problem..... take program jumper off and use the programming utility ... some work some don't.   I have to assume it is the boards themselves because, as mentioned, some are working.


Any ideas what would cause them not to program?   I have tried reflashing a few of the chips to see if that would help, On one it did but others it did not....

Any thoughts / ideas / suggestions would be appreciated.

Offline zwiller

  • Falcon Beta Team
  • **
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Sandusky, OH
  • Posts: 836
  • Kudos: 10
Re: Programming SSCv4 with 0.0.6 hex and 1.0.12 programmer
« Reply #9 on: December 15, 2014, 08:25:08 AM »
First off, I used to think the test mode meant all is OK and I have learned that is not the case...  Having been on the V4 beta I can speak from experience that flashing the chips for these is wonky.  I routinely and still receive weird errors trying to flash them and times the flashing appeared to take but didn't.  All that being said, typically a reboot of the PC and Pickit fixed it.  Hopefully this helps you. 
Sam

Last year's video: https://vimeo.com/150560653

Offline Tindivall

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 48
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Programming SSCv4 with 0.0.6 hex and 1.0.12 programmer
« Reply #10 on: December 15, 2014, 12:25:36 PM »
Zwiller it helps ALOT!  It means I am not going crazy because sometimes this "hobby" makes me think I am!

I will reflash them again and keep going :)

Offline arw01

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 821
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Programming SSCv4 with 0.0.6 hex and 1.0.12 programmer
« Reply #11 on: December 15, 2014, 02:47:18 PM »
I have had to reflash about of the original firmware over to the Falcon firmware this year, but I ALWAYS select the option in the pickit to supply power, I turn it on.  write, do a verify, check the checksum is the same, then turn off the power option, then dis-connect.  Move on to the next one.

I hope Dave get's some breathing room in the next month or two to update the programmer itself to show the color order.  I think the self test can always tell you what it is in a few seconds so you could quickly choose the proper one to reflash.

What;s the difference between 0.0.6 and 0.0.4 that i have been using?

Offline zwiller

  • Falcon Beta Team
  • **
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Sandusky, OH
  • Posts: 836
  • Kudos: 10
Re: Programming SSCv4 with 0.0.6 hex and 1.0.12 programmer
« Reply #12 on: December 15, 2014, 02:58:47 PM »
Happy to see it helped a bit.  Smart gear will do that to ya! 

Also, my pickit does NOT like switching pics in one session.  If try to do a V4 after a V3 I get errors.  Restart PC and they go away.  I use the autowrite mode.  Maybe that's a factor? 

No idea on the hex change tho. 




Offline Tindivall

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 48
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Programming SSCv4 with 0.0.6 hex and 1.0.12 programmer
« Reply #13 on: December 15, 2014, 08:13:52 PM »
Just want to confirm.. using PICkit 3 .... I have device set to : PIC24F04KA200

(same device as listed on the DLA wiki)

Offline zwiller

  • Falcon Beta Team
  • **
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Sandusky, OH
  • Posts: 836
  • Kudos: 10
Re: Programming SSCv4 with 0.0.6 hex and 1.0.12 programmer
« Reply #14 on: December 15, 2014, 08:18:00 PM »
Yes.

 

Back to top