Author Topic: how are people mounting their P10 matrices?  (Read 13007 times)

Offline Gilrock

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 326
  • Kudos: 8
Re: how are people mounting their P10 matrices?
« Reply #60 on: August 11, 2015, 07:58:49 AM »
By the way I had a lot of strange behavior trying to get my BBB running yesterday.  I guess I need to try to look at the logs.  It didn't seem to always boot up cleanly.  Sometimes I'm not getting a webpage and when that happens the board seems to always have 2 blue lights on solid instead of flashing like normal.  I was using that IPScan program and it seemed like it kept wanting to grab a different IP address.  It was bouncing between 2 different IP addresses and I swear sometimes both IP addresses were showing up in IPScan.  Sometimes the name was FPP and sometimes FPP-4 and sometimes both were there.  I had one time when I was able to control the lights but the webpage wouldn't serve up.  It was driving me crazy.

Offline Steve Gase

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Georgetown, TX (near Austin)
  • Posts: 1,037
  • Kudos: 5
    • WinterLightShow in Georgetown, TX
Re: how are people mounting their P10 matrices?
« Reply #61 on: August 11, 2015, 09:57:36 AM »
By the way I had a lot of strange behavior trying to get my BBB running yesterday.  I guess I need to try to look at the logs.  It didn't seem to always boot up cleanly.  Sometimes I'm not getting a webpage and when that happens the board seems to always have 2 blue lights on solid instead of flashing like normal.  I was using that IPScan program and it seemed like it kept wanting to grab a different IP address.  It was bouncing between 2 different IP addresses and I swear sometimes both IP addresses were showing up in IPScan.  Sometimes the name was FPP and sometimes FPP-4 and sometimes both were there.  I had one time when I was able to control the lights but the webpage wouldn't serve up.  It was driving me crazy.
I saw this sort of behavior as well.  it started when I moved from master to stage, and I couldn't get it resolved until i reimaged the bbb.
i originally had the ethernet nic configured for 192.168.1.114 ...  it no longer responded on that ip, and ipscan told me it had 192.168.1.11 -AND- 192.168.1.13.
rebooting didn't help.  BOTH of those addresses were reachable with ssh and ping.  ifconfig showed 192.168.1.11.  the fp config file showed 192.168.1.114

the /etc/hosts file didn't have the hostname updated.  I had used "FPP-P10A".  The command prompt was messed up too... fpp sometimes... and fppp10a other times.

i thought my router/switch might have gotten confused with its arp table.

anyway, no problems after reimaging.
http://WinterLightShow.com  |  110K channels, 50K lights  |  Nutcracker, Falcon, DLA, HolidayCoro

Online CaptainMurdoch

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Washington
  • Posts: 8,269
  • Kudos: 152
Re: how are people mounting their P10 matrices?
« Reply #62 on: August 11, 2015, 11:52:16 AM »
I saw this sort of behavior as well.  it started when I moved from master to stage, and I couldn't get it resolved until i reimaged the bbb.

Stage was a bit behind for a week or so, but has been updated so it may have been something related to prior merge.  There are currently no differences between stage and master.
-
Chris

Offline arw01

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 836
  • Kudos: 0
Re: how are people mounting their P10 matrices?
« Reply #63 on: September 10, 2015, 11:36:47 PM »
Did anyone find an outside source to print the stl files for the P10 mounting brackets designed up by the Aussie members?

Was working on making some from wood tonight and would like to just order them.

Alan

Online twooly

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 1,020
  • Kudos: 13
Re: how are people mounting their P10 matrices?
« Reply #64 on: September 11, 2015, 07:19:11 AM »
Shapeways.com does that service.  Haven't used them myself but thought I would throw it out there

Offline Frankr

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2013
  • Location: Rocklin, CA
  • Posts: 258
  • Kudos: 0
    • Rocklin Lights
Re: how are people mounting their P10 matrices?
« Reply #65 on: September 11, 2015, 10:11:27 AM »
I looked into shapeways and it was expensive.  I think like $20+ for each piece.

Frank

Offline Charles Belcher

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jul 2015
  • Location: Rowlett, Texas
  • Posts: 154
  • Kudos: 0
Re: how are people mounting their P10 matrices?
« Reply #66 on: September 11, 2015, 10:45:55 AM »
I looked into shapeways and it was expensive.  I think like $20+ for each piece.

Frank
My local library does 3d printing for the cost of the materials
Loser in the 2014 Great Light Fight

Online CaptainMurdoch

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Washington
  • Posts: 8,269
  • Kudos: 152
Re: how are people mounting their P10 matrices?
« Reply #67 on: September 11, 2015, 10:54:01 AM »
My local library does 3d printing for the cost of the materials

I was about to mention that.  My local library (in a town of only 11,000) does something similar.  I haven't used it before, but have been thinking about it.

I picked up a bunch of the U channel for the adjustable shelving the other day at a garage sale.  I think I got about $200 worth of shelving, brackets, and track for $20.  I have more track than needed for the shelving so I will probably use the xtra track for a future P10 panel layout.

Offline neilric99

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 193
  • Kudos: 1
Re: how are people mounting their P10 matrices?
« Reply #68 on: September 11, 2015, 11:21:02 AM »
I suspect that James at Boscoyo Studios is looking at producing some P10 panel brackets.

Offline drlucas

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Barrie, Ontario - Canada
  • Posts: 1,417
  • Kudos: 3
Re: how are people mounting their P10 matrices?
« Reply #69 on: September 11, 2015, 06:23:17 PM »






https://vimeo.com/139037464

My 6x4 matrix is coming together nicely. I had my local plastic shop cut a 53x40 1/4" acrylic sheet for me and screwed it down tonight. Some pictures are included to see what things look like.

I think 1/4" was overkill but if the neighbourhood kids shoot a hockey puck at the matrix it should just bounce off and not hurt anything :)


Sent from my iPhone
Ryan

Offline neilric99

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 193
  • Kudos: 1
Re: how are people mounting their P10 matrices?
« Reply #70 on: September 20, 2015, 04:33:00 PM »
James at Boscoyostudio.com has designed some special brackets to mount the P10 panels http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/showthread.php?39556-new-P10-Matrix-Makers-by-Boscoyo-Studio

Offline drlucas

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Barrie, Ontario - Canada
  • Posts: 1,417
  • Kudos: 3
Re: how are people mounting their P10 matrices?
« Reply #71 on: September 21, 2015, 07:11:59 PM »
Nifty work he does!!

Offline shanebou24

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 19
  • Kudos: 0
Re: how are people mounting their P10 matrices?
« Reply #72 on: March 06, 2017, 05:34:59 PM »
work in progress but all 3d printed
« Last Edit: March 06, 2017, 05:55:11 PM by shanebou24 »

 

Back to top