Author Topic: Universe 2 from Pixelnet out  (Read 1117 times)

Offline twooly

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 996
  • Kudos: 13
Universe 2 from Pixelnet out
« on: October 22, 2015, 11:11:56 AM »
Having some trouble getting devices on Universe 2 setup. I've got the F16 Hub setup with devices using Universe 1 and works great.  DMX out also works great (channels 1-100).  I have the pixelnet out (port 1) going to another hub which is using Universe 2.  I setup my SSCs (V4 with falcon firmware) using the universe address (1-4096) instead of the real address (4097-8xxx) and I can't seems to get it working.

As a test I plugged in the SSCs to the Universe 1 hub and they respond/work on the configured address.  Should I use the real address instead (5501)? 

Offline twooly

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 996
  • Kudos: 13
Re: Universe 2 from Pixelnet out
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2015, 11:19:14 AM »
Picture of jumpers on the main board.  The second hub is a dla hub.

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,709
  • Kudos: 61
Re: Universe 2 from Pixelnet out
« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2015, 12:32:24 PM »
Bad output port of hub? Are you sure universe 2 is being output of the Falcon hub. Try switching 4 RS-485 chips around. Can you plug the Pixelnet directly into second hub and bypass first to see if the universe two hub responds directly. The controllers only have address from 1-4096. When you put in addresses over 4096 it basically does a modulus 4096 (x%4096).

 
PixelController, LLC
PixelController.com

Offline twooly

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 996
  • Kudos: 13
Re: Universe 2 from Pixelnet out
« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2015, 01:00:44 PM »
Ok so more testing.  It is something with the output of pixelnet from the f16 hub.  I connected directly to the second hub and everything works as I would expect.  Tried both ports one and two and I get the same result.

Offline twooly

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 996
  • Kudos: 13
Re: Universe 2 from Pixelnet out
« Reply #4 on: October 22, 2015, 01:25:28 PM »
Ok swapped the 485 chips around and those bad boys got hot.  Powered off and took them out and placed all the jumpers on and it works!  So the magical question looks like active pixelnet out is broken for me 😢

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,709
  • Kudos: 61
Re: Universe 2 from Pixelnet out
« Reply #5 on: October 22, 2015, 02:11:10 PM »
Must be a solder bridge or something. All of them got hot?

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,709
  • Kudos: 61
Re: Universe 2 from Pixelnet out
« Reply #6 on: October 22, 2015, 02:12:32 PM »
I looked at the picture again. I know why they are hot. They are the wrong chip in the four sockets. Those are supposed to be MAX490 chips.  :)

Offline twooly

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 996
  • Kudos: 13
Re: Universe 2 from Pixelnet out
« Reply #7 on: October 22, 2015, 02:25:34 PM »

I looked at the picture again. I know why they are hot. They are the wrong chip in the four sockets. Those are supposed to be MAX490 chips.  :)

Doh I assumed they were like the rest, have a mouser link?

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,709
  • Kudos: 61
Re: Universe 2 from Pixelnet out
« Reply #8 on: October 22, 2015, 02:27:33 PM »
Not off hand. Just search for max490. They are in the 8 pin pdip package.

Sent from my LGLS990 using Tapatalk


Offline twooly

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 996
  • Kudos: 13
Re: Universe 2 from Pixelnet out
« Reply #9 on: October 22, 2015, 05:45:15 PM »

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,709
  • Kudos: 61
Re: Universe 2 from Pixelnet out
« Reply #10 on: October 22, 2015, 09:19:41 PM »
Thats it

Sent from my LGLS990 using Tapatalk


 

Back to top