Author Topic: Question on hub output  (Read 1125 times)

Offline chadowamsley

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jan 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 169
  • Kudos: 0
Question on hub output
« on: October 23, 2015, 04:36:24 PM »
Hello

I received my usc boatrds today and started playing around. I have my fpd connected to the pi with ribbon cable, then to the hub and then usc to the lights. I have my usc channels programmed. Im using 1804 pixels and have red to 12v, blue yo ground, and green to data. When i send a signal to my lights, they all just turn on white. While programming usc channels, one board at a time, all lights on a string would turn white and stay lit until removed from hub. I verified the wires are wired correctly to the board.

My question is, is there something simple i should check first for this issue ? I thought it was maybe my wires, but i looked at a thread from earlier this year i posted when testing f16, and that is where i was told wire order.

Any help would be appreciated.

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 3,835
  • Kudos: 81
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Question on hub output
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2015, 04:41:17 PM »
I think (definitely with my wiring) that Blue is data.

Offline chadowamsley

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jan 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 169
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Question on hub output
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2015, 04:47:35 PM »
Thanks for the reply. On my strings the blue is shown with the blue wire. In this thread about f16 testing earlier this year, my issue was having blue to do and green to ground.

This is my previous thread and pictures of the strings.

http://falconchristmas.com/forum/index.php/topic,2418.msg26261.html#msg26261

Offline jnealand

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Location: Kennesaw, GA
  • Posts: 2,173
  • Kudos: 41
Re: Question on hub output
« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2015, 06:43:09 PM »
All my usc use Blue to DO and all I used/owned last year were 1804s.
Jim Nealand
Kennesaw, GA
Lynx, Falcon, XL, FPP

Offline chadowamsley

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jan 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 169
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Question on hub output
« Reply #4 on: October 23, 2015, 07:17:36 PM »
Ill try reversing the green and blue and see if that fixes all staying  on white. I was in a rush trying to get the usc boarUds wired in, sequences updated for my small matrix and build a frame before the lights started tonight. So a possibility i missed something.

I was going off what i used on the f16. Being thatbthey all stay on white. That was my original thought a wire misplaced.
« Last Edit: October 23, 2015, 08:40:40 PM by chadowamsley »

Offline chadowamsley

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jan 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 169
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Question on hub output
« Reply #5 on: October 24, 2015, 10:09:58 AM »
I switched the green and blue wires and i get nothing at all.

Do i wire the connection coming from the hub as ow, o, gw, b, bw, g, bw, b as far as wires to pins ?

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 3,835
  • Kudos: 81
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Question on hub output
« Reply #6 on: October 24, 2015, 03:13:43 PM »
Time for a picture of the wires and components in question.

I want to make sure of what I'm looking at.

Offline drlucas

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Barrie, Ontario - Canada
  • Posts: 1,417
  • Kudos: 3
Re: Question on hub output
« Reply #7 on: October 24, 2015, 06:21:13 PM »
I switched the green and blue wires and i get nothing at all.

Do i wire the connection coming from the hub as ow, o, gw, b, bw, g, bw, b as far as wires to pins ?

That's typically it... white-orange/orange for data
green/blue/white-blue for +be
white-green/white-brown/brown for gnd

if however the lights are coming on, sure sounds like ground and power are fine to the usc. do you have any SSCs to test to make sure you don't have any other problem? Looks like you just got the basic boards too from the coop table so can't look to see if you have data coming in. It's been a while since i programmed a usc but I thought the string turns rainbow. only thing i can think of is making sure the hub is on universe 1. make sure that the pi is in bridge mode. make sure xlights or vixen or no other program is broadcasting data at the same time.


Ryan

Offline chadowamsley

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jan 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 169
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Question on hub output
« Reply #8 on: October 24, 2015, 06:53:02 PM »
I removed the usc boards i had wires in and will try with some new cat5 tomorrow or Monday. Has to be something simple and taking a break from it tonight.

Ill take some pics if i still have trouble.

 

Back to top