Author Topic: Matrix Board Build  (Read 4943 times)

lightsonlinden

Matrix Board Build
« on: January 05, 2016, 09:19:44 PM »
I am wanting to learn more about these P10 panels.

I am new to RGB, Xlights, FPP, etc.  So looking for any guidance and if anyone can direct me to a thread or forum that may spell things out as far as what is needed hardware and programming wise, etc.

Offline mararunr

• Kudos: 12
    • Bentonville Heart Lites
Re: Matrix Board Build
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2016, 06:24:46 AM »
You're in the right place.  Use that search box and put in "P10" or "Beaglebone Black" or "octoscroller" and read away.  It's all here - you just have to search and read.

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
Bentonville Heart Lites (www.facebook.com/bheartlites)
 This is just my opinion/suggestion/viewpoint.  Others with other viewpoints/experiences may have different advice.  I am a hobbyist with a couple years real world experience, not an expert.

lightsonlinden

« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2016, 11:58:30 AM »
Yes I search away...  Are you saying that in order to run the P10 matrix you need P10s plus Octoscroller plus Beagle Bone Black?

Are P10s the only way to have a matrix?

I am not sure what all can be done but I was merely looking to explore one for a Radio Station Sign or the ability to scroll messages.   I don't know if these can be extended to do videos or not.   I am an extreme novice when it comes to Xlights, FPP and RPI.

Offline Bshaver

• Developer
  • Kudos: 22
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2016, 12:05:24 PM »
A matrix is a 'tv screen' basically. you could also use VirtualMatrix and output over HDMI to a projector either rear projection or front projection if the projector was in your yard.

Matrix is what you want it to be.  next year, we are thinking of a large matrix on our fence line ... dont know.. will cost $$$ but will be very cool.
Denver Colorado