Author Topic: FPP WiFi Setup (Originally Master + Remotes + WiFi How-To)  (Read 21653 times)

Offline ThreeSizes

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Location: Fulton, MD
  • Posts: 532
  • Kudos: 30
Re: FPP WiFi Setup (Originally Master + Remotes + WiFi How-To)
« Reply #105 on: December 12, 2016, 05:57:46 PM »
OK my turn,  My head hurts just trying to read this thread.

I made the common mistake of placing everything on 192.168.1.xx

The home network was being flooded and master/remote response was only about 80% even after adding 5 second pauses between songs.

I configured a second router as 192.168.10.xx
It has no physical connection to anything (except when I swap my network connection cable from my pc, no wireless.)

In case the pictures do not come through

FPP is the master and is
eth0  DHCP  (only connected to hub to run wired show, no connection to outside)
WLAN  192.168.10.40

FPP10  is a remote
eth0  DHCP  not even connected.
WLAN  192.168.10.41

FPP6  is a remote  sending 48 channels to an ESP  192.168.10.203 unicast
eth0  DHCP  not even connected
WLAN  192.168.10.42

I can talk to all three devices with no problem.
I can also play sequences from the playlist in standalone mode.
Even the ESP response is smooth being driven from a BBB driving a 64x64 matrix.

But when they are in remote mode there is no output. :(
When they were all on the 192.168.1.XX network they did work, just not all the time.

Has to be something simple,  what did I miss.

Joel


What does the MultiSync screen look like on the Master FPP? It should list all three of your FPP's there.




"And what happened then? Well, in Whoville they say that the Grinch's small heart grew three sizes that day."

Offline JoelRose

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 26
  • Kudos: 0
Re: FPP WiFi Setup (Originally Master + Remotes + WiFi How-To)
« Reply #106 on: December 12, 2016, 06:26:03 PM »
It is showing the master twice, once on each interface.
Is that the problem?


Joel

Offline ThreeSizes

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Location: Fulton, MD
  • Posts: 532
  • Kudos: 30
Re: FPP WiFi Setup (Originally Master + Remotes + WiFi How-To)
« Reply #107 on: December 12, 2016, 06:46:50 PM »
Having it listed twice is expected. You do need to check the boxes for the Remotes you want to send sync packets to or check the All Remotes option.




Offline JoelRose

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 26
  • Kudos: 0
Re: FPP WiFi Setup (Originally Master + Remotes + WiFi How-To)
« Reply #108 on: December 12, 2016, 07:37:19 PM »
Call that a V8 moment.   :-[

I thought those checks were only for copying the files to the remotes.

Makes sense now.

Everything is working great.

JOel

Offline Mattera68

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Oct 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 60
  • Kudos: 0
Re: FPP WiFi Setup (Originally Master + Remotes + WiFi How-To)
« Reply #109 on: December 15, 2016, 02:33:27 PM »
I cant figure out where to set up the routes on my router, ARRISGW.

I have no idea where to go to add the routes on my laptop in option 2
Tony

Online jnealand

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Location: Kennesaw, GA
  • Posts: 2,077
  • Kudos: 38
Re: FPP WiFi Setup (Originally Master + Remotes + WiFi How-To)
« Reply #110 on: December 15, 2016, 05:03:43 PM »
On a computer you have to bring up a command prompt in admin mode then just enter your route command.  In Win10 right click on the start button and select command prompt (admin).
Jim Nealand
Kennesaw, GA
Lynx, Falcon, XL, FPP

Offline Mattera68

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Oct 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 60
  • Kudos: 0
Re: FPP WiFi Setup (Originally Master + Remotes + WiFi How-To)
« Reply #111 on: December 15, 2016, 06:36:57 PM »
I got a "the requested operation requires elevation." message

Online jnealand

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Location: Kennesaw, GA
  • Posts: 2,077
  • Kudos: 38
Re: FPP WiFi Setup (Originally Master + Remotes + WiFi How-To)
« Reply #112 on: December 15, 2016, 07:12:20 PM »
That message is due to the fact that you are not running the command prompt in admin mode.  Just because your user id has admin privileges is not sufficient.  You must START the command prompt by right clicking on the icon or if running win 10 right clicking on the start button as I stated above.

Offline Mattera68

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Oct 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 60
  • Kudos: 0
Re: FPP WiFi Setup (Originally Master + Remotes + WiFi How-To)
« Reply #113 on: December 18, 2016, 08:15:23 AM »
ok, I was able to get the route into the command prompt.
When I trace to the controller, 192.168.101.50 this is what I get:

1    13 ms     3 ms     4 ms  FPP [192.168.0.21]
2     3 ms     3 ms     3 ms  192.168.0.1
3    11 ms    14 ms    11 ms  10.249.64.1
4   155 ms    12 ms    11 ms  ge-15-0-cmts1.leonardtown.md.metrocast.net [216.
.30.140]
5   345 ms    33 ms    21 ms  static-216-36-22-226.cpe.metrocast.net [216.36.2
226]
6     *        *        *     Request timed out.
7     *        *        *     Request timed out.
8     *        *        *     Request timed out.
9     *        *        *     Request timed out.
0     *        *        *     Request timed out.
1     *        *        *     Request timed out.
2     *        *        *     Request timed out.
3     *        *        *     Request timed out.
4     *        *

Offline ThreeSizes

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Location: Fulton, MD
  • Posts: 532
  • Kudos: 30
Re: FPP WiFi Setup (Originally Master + Remotes + WiFi How-To)
« Reply #114 on: December 18, 2016, 09:01:51 AM »
ok, I was able to get the route into the command prompt.
When I trace to the controller, 192.168.101.50 this is what I get:

1    13 ms     3 ms     4 ms  FPP [192.168.0.21]
2     3 ms     3 ms     3 ms  192.168.0.1
3    11 ms    14 ms    11 ms  10.249.64.1
4   155 ms    12 ms    11 ms  ge-15-0-cmts1.leonardtown.md.metrocast.net [216.
.30.140]
5   345 ms    33 ms    21 ms  static-216-36-22-226.cpe.metrocast.net [216.36.2
226]
6     *        *        *     Request timed out.
7     *        *        *     Request timed out.
8     *        *        *     Request timed out.
9     *        *        *     Request timed out.
0     *        *        *     Request timed out.
1     *        *        *     Request timed out.
2     *        *        *     Request timed out.
3     *        *        *     Request timed out.
4     *        *

Can you post more details on your setup? We need to see how you have both interfaces configured on the FPP as well as how you have the controller configured.

How you are setup now shows that it's getting the FPP and then something afterwords is sending it out your internet provider.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

Offline Mattera68

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Oct 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 60
  • Kudos: 0
Re: FPP WiFi Setup (Originally Master + Remotes + WiFi How-To)
« Reply #115 on: December 18, 2016, 11:14:14 AM »
Here are the FPP settings

My F16 is set to 192.168.101.50
I think the Gateway was set to 192.168.0.21 which is the FPP wlan ip

Offline ThreeSizes

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Location: Fulton, MD
  • Posts: 532
  • Kudos: 30
Re: FPP WiFi Setup (Originally Master + Remotes + WiFi How-To)
« Reply #116 on: December 18, 2016, 11:23:09 AM »
Here are the FPP settings

My F16 is set to 192.168.101.50
I think the Gateway was set to 192.168.0.21 which is the FPP wlan ip

Remove the gateway on eth0 on the FPP and make sure the gateway on the F16 is the eth0 address of the FPP.




Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

Offline Mattera68

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Oct 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 60
  • Kudos: 0
Re: FPP WiFi Setup (Originally Master + Remotes + WiFi How-To)
« Reply #117 on: December 18, 2016, 12:16:02 PM »
I should have set the controller gateway to the etho ip like it explains on the 1st page here, going from memory.
I changed the ip settings on the controller so now I cannot connect to it.


While writing this I rebooted FPP, then checked the connection to the F16 and it worked. I guess getting rid of the gateway in the eth0 settings did it!

Thanks for everyone's help!!!!!!!

Offline Mattera68

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Oct 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 60
  • Kudos: 0
Re: FPP WiFi Setup (Originally Master + Remotes + WiFi How-To)
« Reply #118 on: December 18, 2016, 12:18:53 PM »
So if I add another Pi in the future I will just have to add another route to my PC like I did for this one?

If I add a controller to this Pi, I should be able to connect with the route I have already written as long as I set it to this same subnet?

Offline Mattera68

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Oct 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 60
  • Kudos: 0
Re: FPP WiFi Setup (Originally Master + Remotes + WiFi How-To)
« Reply #119 on: December 18, 2016, 12:42:39 PM »
Also, what is the reason to have a Pi just connected to the transmitter? and no controller? Referring to the diagrams on the 1st page

 

Back to top