Author Topic: String Type Question  (Read 1060 times)

Offline chadowamsley

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jan 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 169
  • Kudos: 0
String Type Question
« on: February 22, 2016, 04:44:22 PM »
Hello,

Ive looked for the answer to my question and was unable to find it with my looking. Im wondering if Im able to use 2 different chip types, with USC, off the hub at the same time. I dont think Im able to but I wanted to ask to make sure before I just check it off as  a no. I know the F16 V2 is able to do this.

Thanks and sorry for the basic question.

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 3,835
  • Kudos: 81
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: String Type Question
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2016, 05:35:08 PM »
The uSC controllers are 3 Wire. Some 3 wire pixels can be mixed in line because they are so similar. But, the hub itself does not know or care what pixels you have connected to each uSC.

So, I'm pretty sure the short answer is Yes.

Offline jnealand

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Location: Kennesaw, GA
  • Posts: 2,173
  • Kudos: 41
Re: String Type Question
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2016, 06:47:05 PM »
It is not a problem since the hub only passes on the data signal and "injects" power.  There is no configuration in the hub as to nodes, strips, chip type etc.  All configuration is in each uSC
Jim Nealand
Kennesaw, GA
Lynx, Falcon, XL, FPP

Offline chadowamsley

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jan 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 169
  • Kudos: 0
Re: String Type Question
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2016, 06:56:54 PM »
Thanks.

Guess its good that i asked. Ill be using all 2811 strings, and was just wondering as i have a couple 1809 strings.

Thanks for the replies.
« Last Edit: February 22, 2016, 07:12:36 PM by chadowamsley »

 

Back to top