Author Topic: Setting up controllers in multicast  (Read 855 times)

Offline ebrown19721972

• Kudos: 1
Setting up controllers in multicast
« on: April 14, 2016, 06:23:30 AM »
I will have a couple of f16v2r's in my show this year. I plan on using multicast. I am new to networking and do not know much about it. Lets say I have 48 universes stretched over 3 f16v2's. Lets say 16 universes per controller. Universe 1-16 on my first controller and 17-32 on my second and 33-48 on my last. All I truly need to remember when running multicast is that I have the universes defined on each controller correct? Say my first controller uses a universe per port. Port 1 universe 1 and so on and so forth? My second controller would be port 1 universe 17 and so on and so forth correct? This will not be my setup but to simplify my question I wanted to make sure I have somewhat of an understanding how it works. Multicast sends the same info to each controller and depending on how the controller is set up will depend on what the controller will do with that information. Am I on the right track here? A little insight would be appreciated. Thanks to everyone for helping.

Offline tbone321

• Kudos: 40
Re: Setting up controllers in multicast
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2016, 08:23:11 AM »
I will have a couple of f16v2r's in my show this year. I plan on using multicast. I am new to networking and do not know much about it. Lets say I have 48 universes stretched over 3 f16v2's. Lets say 16 universes per controller. Universe 1-16 on my first controller and 17-32 on my second and 33-48 on my last. All I truly need to remember when running multicast is that I have the universes defined on each controller correct?

There is a little more to it than that.  You also need to make sure that the universes are properly defined in FPP as well.  How you define the universes in FPP will determine what data is in each universe being sent to the controllers.