Author Topic: Voltage supply for the Pixelnet to DMX bridge board  (Read 1040 times)

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 3,316
  • Kudos: 63
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Voltage supply for the Pixelnet to DMX bridge board
« on: November 30, 2013, 07:47:19 AM »
I think that the board is setup for 5vdc but wondering if (since it is extremely low power needed) if a 12vdc supply would work.

I have a lot more of them lying around.
« Last Edit: November 30, 2013, 09:59:11 AM by JonB256 »

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 3,316
  • Kudos: 63
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Voltage supply for the Pixelnet to DMX bridge board
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2013, 01:39:28 PM »
I see in this other post: http://falconchristmas.com/forum/index.php/topic,409.0.html

it does say 5V 1amp needed, but I'm still wondering about the safety of a 12vdc.

I'll look around for a 5v for now. :(

Online David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,469
  • Kudos: 54
Re: Voltage supply for the Pixelnet to DMX bridge board
« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2013, 02:01:45 PM »
I see in this other post: http://falconchristmas.com/forum/index.php/topic,409.0.html

it does say 5V 1amp needed, but I'm still wondering about the safety of a 12vdc.

I'll look around for a 5v for now. :(

5V DC, 1 Amp Switched power supply.
PixelController, LLC
PixelController.com

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 3,316
  • Kudos: 63
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Voltage supply for the Pixelnet to DMX bridge board
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2013, 06:58:41 AM »
David, I PROMISE I'll try my bridge board this weekend. As I noted in another post, I'm using a DLA combiner/de-combiner to do the same thing, but the Pixelnet bridge is definitely cooler. That's what I'm all about.

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 3,316
  • Kudos: 63
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Voltage supply for the Pixelnet to DMX bridge board
« Reply #4 on: December 05, 2013, 03:16:18 PM »
The weekend came early!  I got home, hooked up 5vdc and moved things over.

Worked instantly. I'm pulling 3 DMX (1, 2 and 3) off of the Pixelnet output of the FPD.

I can't say that it is better or worse than the passive splitter - because I can't tell the difference. That's good, right?

Jon

Offline MyKroFt

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 1,378
  • Kudos: 19
Re: Voltage supply for the Pixelnet to DMX bridge board
« Reply #5 on: December 05, 2013, 04:13:51 PM »
the DLA combiner/splitter will not let you pull DMX out of pixelnet like the FPD board will.  Two completly different products - the DLA product works great if your are straight pixelnet or dmx - but not both.

Main use/design for it was to combine up to 4 lynx usb dongles into one cable like the EthD is

Tony

 

Back to top