Author Topic: Delay in DMX  (Read 1265 times)

Offline rdebolt

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Location: Boise, ID
  • Posts: 506
  • Kudos: 3
    • Christmas in Boise
Delay in DMX
« on: December 16, 2013, 08:44:30 AM »
I have been Extremely busy as I know everyone has so this is my first chance to get caught up on the forums. My converter is set to all universe 1 so I have 5 outputs set to 1-512 and I am using them all. What I am seeing is about a 1 second delay in the start up for lack of a better word. Once the lights start they are in time. I do not have a video of it yet, but I can post one. I have a Santa and a Rudy talking head. The audio for them talking always starts before they light. I also have a sequence where I turn all of my green on at once. All of my RGB turn on spot on and then all of my DMX come on about a second later. What I don't understand is once they start they are in time.




Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 3,466
  • Kudos: 72
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Delay in DMX
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2013, 11:58:19 AM »
Is the Bridge powered up before the sequence starts? I know that the PIC boots pretty fast, but it is not "instant on."

Since it is extracting data from the Pixelnet line, then resending in DMX protocol, it will always lag, but should never be more than 0.05 seconds.

I'm using one also and have never seen anything like that.

Offline rdebolt

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Location: Boise, ID
  • Posts: 506
  • Kudos: 3
    • Christmas in Boise
Re: Delay in DMX
« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2013, 01:06:40 PM »
Bridge has constant power. I will take some video tonight and post.

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 3,466
  • Kudos: 72
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Delay in DMX
« Reply #3 on: December 16, 2013, 02:49:53 PM »
Could your DMX controllers be asleep? Are they LOR or DLA Express or ??

Sometimes LOR controllers can hesitate when switching from LOR to DMX control mode.
The DLA express is always in DMX, and the D-Light Open controllers (I mention them because I have many) are always ready for DMX.
« Last Edit: December 17, 2013, 04:55:01 AM by JonB256 »

Offline rdebolt

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Location: Boise, ID
  • Posts: 506
  • Kudos: 3
    • Christmas in Boise
Re: Delay in DMX
« Reply #4 on: December 17, 2013, 08:17:12 AM »
Most LE v5s I still have 4 LORs but the ones that I am seeing are driven with the LEs. Not that the LORs are not doing it, but the elements that stand out are being driven by the LEs. I am trying something else right now to make sure that it is not a "Sequence" issue. I will post a video shortly of what I am seeing.




Offline rdebolt

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Location: Boise, ID
  • Posts: 506
  • Kudos: 3
    • Christmas in Boise
Re: Delay in DMX
« Reply #5 on: December 17, 2013, 08:59:40 AM »
Here is what I am seeing. Mind you this still might be Sequence conversion that I am trying something else out. Not sure how to pin this down.


https://vimeo.com/82106107

 

Back to top