Author Topic: Trouble connecting LOR boxes to F4V2 serial port  (Read 558 times)

Offline msiebri

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Aug 2014
  • Location: Parker, CO
  • Posts: 81
  • Kudos: 0
Trouble connecting LOR boxes to F4V2 serial port
« on: November 22, 2016, 07:53:25 PM »
I need to drive 3 LOR boxes off the serial port of the F4V2 to run my rooftop snowflakes.  I have the LOR boxes daisy-chained to the serial port, I have the 3 jumpers on the F4V2 set to LOR, in the serial outputs section I have output #1 configured as DMX.  The LEDs on the LOR boxes are flashing.  When control is established they should turn solid.  I unplugged the cable from the F4V2 and connected it to my LOR dongle, the LOR hardware utility sees all 3 boxes, so I know they are ok.  What am I doing wrong?


- Martin

Offline msiebri

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Aug 2014
  • Location: Parker, CO
  • Posts: 81
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Trouble connecting LOR boxes to F4V2 serial port
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2016, 08:06:20 PM »
I tried switching the jumpers to DMX, but it made no difference.  These are Gen3 LOR boxes, I have run them previously in both LOR and DMX modes.


I am using the test tab in xLights to test these.  When I turn on one of the snowflakes in the test tab I can see the packet count start increasing in the F4V2 status page, so I know I have the channels and universes configured right.


- Martin

Online David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,551
  • Kudos: 57
Re: Trouble connecting LOR boxes to F4V2 serial port
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2016, 09:26:46 PM »
Hmm. Not sure. Users have had great success with the F4, LOR and DMX. If you think it is the controller I can look at it for you. I can meet you half way to pick it up. :)

PixelController, LLC
PixelController.com

Offline msiebri

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Aug 2014
  • Location: Parker, CO
  • Posts: 81
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Trouble connecting LOR boxes to F4V2 serial port
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2016, 10:25:31 PM »
I just tried it with a Lynx Express box and I can't get it to work either.  I'll drive down there tomorrow if you can give me another board to try.

Online David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,551
  • Kudos: 57
Re: Trouble connecting LOR boxes to F4V2 serial port
« Reply #4 on: November 22, 2016, 11:12:00 PM »
I will need to have it over night to fix it. I will have some time tomorrow night to look at it.

Offline Jonnyb44

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: May 2016
  • Location: Turners Falls, MA.
  • Posts: 95
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Trouble connecting LOR boxes to F4V2 serial port
« Reply #5 on: December 06, 2016, 09:08:07 AM »
Has this been resolved?

Online David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,551
  • Kudos: 57
Re: Trouble connecting LOR boxes to F4V2 serial port
« Reply #6 on: December 06, 2016, 12:40:26 PM »
Yes. The board was missing RS-485 chip

Offline Jonnyb44

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: May 2016
  • Location: Turners Falls, MA.
  • Posts: 95
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Trouble connecting LOR boxes to F4V2 serial port
« Reply #7 on: December 06, 2016, 12:41:33 PM »
👍🏻


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline Emuney18

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Nov 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 169
  • Kudos: 1
Re: Trouble connecting LOR boxes to F4V2 serial port
« Reply #8 on: December 06, 2016, 06:07:45 PM »
👍🏻


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
You can't beat that customer service.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline Jonnyb44

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: May 2016
  • Location: Turners Falls, MA.
  • Posts: 95
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Trouble connecting LOR boxes to F4V2 serial port
« Reply #9 on: December 06, 2016, 06:09:01 PM »
No you can't. 


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

 

Back to top