Author Topic: Power issue  (Read 372 times)

Offline Michael

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 82
  • Kudos: 0
Power issue
« on: November 27, 2016, 03:54:48 PM »
I have 4 x 128 nodes.  At .045 per bulb I believe I am exceeding the max amp per port.  This will draw 5.76 amps.  I didn't calculate this right, and have blown a fuse already. 


My grid is 32 x 16 with 4 stands of 128 bulbs.  What is the best way to fix this?  I don't think the receiver board is going to provide enough power. 


I have a 6 port power distribution board I could use.  My thought is to use the 6 power distribution board to power the pixels and split the panel into 6 strips.  Does this mean I just send data and negative  using the receiver board and use the distribution board to send positive and negative? 





Is there a better way? 






« Last Edit: November 27, 2016, 04:23:06 PM by Michael »

Offline CaptainMurdoch

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Washington
  • Posts: 7,854
  • Kudos: 139
Re: Power issue
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2016, 04:28:05 PM »
Are you running lots of whites?

The quickest way to handle the situation would be to lower the brightness on those 4 outputs to 75% in the F16v2 UI.  You probably won't even notice, especially if it is a matrix/grid.
-
Chris

Offline Michael

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 82
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Power issue
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2016, 04:35:26 PM »
Perfect.  Unfortunately, several of my pixels are burned out, and now the whole string won't light.  Hopefully I didn't destroy the receiver board and just need to replace the string.   Thanks!

Offline CaptainMurdoch

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Washington
  • Posts: 7,854
  • Kudos: 139
Re: Power issue
« Reply #3 on: November 28, 2016, 04:44:38 PM »
I would double check all connections before powering back up.  Unless you are running lots of whites then you wouldn't be running anywhere near the max current draw on those pixel strings, so you may not have blown a fuse due to high current, it may have been something else.

Offline Michael

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 82
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Power issue
« Reply #4 on: November 28, 2016, 09:29:08 PM »
Thanks.  I was able to verify the receiver board still works!  Now I just need to replace the pixels.




 

Back to top