Author Topic: Set-up in FPP but how to map to Renard?  (Read 2703 times)

Offline kreeve

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 3
  • Kudos: 0
Set-up in FPP but how to map to Renard?
« on: December 14, 2016, 11:10:38 PM »
I used vixen 3 to sequence my show and exported to Renard format. 
I have two controllers
#1  E682 E1.31 6 Universes using unicast
#2 Renard SS24 via USB to serial adapter out of pi


I have set up both my E682 and Renard in FPP.


What I do not have a grasp of is how does FPP know what data from the sequence file to send to the Renard?


Kevin







Offline gadgetsmith

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Location: Charlton, NY
  • Posts: 973
  • Kudos: 14
Re: Set-up in FPP but how to map to Renard?
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2016, 03:54:08 AM »
In vixen you map your prop channels to the controller channels.  You will map the same prop channels to controller channels in FPP.  The E1.31 outputs page is where you will setup your E682 channels, and under the 'Other' tab, you'll add a Renard output and select the USB device that's connected, and set the channel ranges.

Sent from my VS985 4G using Tapatalk


Offline kreeve

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 3
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Set-up in FPP but how to map to Renard?
« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2016, 07:37:32 PM »
Thank you for your answer.





The Renard SS24 is turning lights on and off, but none of them are coming on at the sequenced time. They are blinking etc, almost like they are mapped to some channel on the E682.


The renard is connected to the USB/Serial on the Pi, and the USB is selected in the set-up.
For channels I put 1 - 24. 


I used Vixen to sequence.
In Vixen, the E682/E1.31 controller is first mapping 3000 outputs, then the Renard listing as Output 1 - Output 24.  Not a #xxxx like for E682.


So I am convinced it is a patching issue or FFP renard setup issues. 


Ideas?


Offline BigAlsTwinkle

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jun 2015
  • Location: Rogers, AR
  • Posts: 11
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Set-up in FPP but how to map to Renard?
« Reply #3 on: December 15, 2016, 10:48:52 PM »
Personally I setup vixen as one controller. Exported all as 131.

In your example 1-3025 then you would select the Renard channels as 3001-3025.

Offline gadgetsmith

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Location: Charlton, NY
  • Posts: 973
  • Kudos: 14
Re: Set-up in FPP but how to map to Renard?
« Reply #4 on: December 16, 2016, 06:54:46 AM »
I used Vixen to sequence.
In Vixen, the E682/E1.31 controller is first mapping 3000 outputs, then the Renard listing as Output 1 - Output 24.  Not a #xxxx like for E682.

So I am convinced it is a patching issue or FFP renard setup issues. 

I just took a quick look at Vixen, and I see what you mean.  From the info there, it's hard to see what the absolute channel mapping would be with an fseq output setup on a FPP.  BigAl's work around is to set up everything as E1.31 so you can see the absolute channel address for all outputs.  Just requires you to keep it straight in your mind, and also does not allow a sequence to be played from Vixen itself as the outputs are not set correctly.

Offline gadgetsmith

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Location: Charlton, NY
  • Posts: 973
  • Kudos: 14
Re: Set-up in FPP but how to map to Renard?
« Reply #5 on: December 16, 2016, 07:54:21 AM »
Not having the answer as to where this info was available, I asked Jon Chuchla (Vixen support Guru!) and he replied with the following information:

Quote
Every vixen export creates an xml file along side the sequence file. This xml file explains which controller in vixen corresponds with which absolute range in the fpp file. But in order for it to be useful, you'd want to actually set up controllers in vixen the way you would have them set up in fpp. A lot of guys use just one big controller in vixen and don't bother to set them up for output in vixen. This makes an perfectly good exported file. But it can be harder to keep track of the mappings in the translation process.

The XML file lists the Renard controller, the start channel (global), and the number of channels.  Exactly the info required for setting up FPP properly.  I believe there will be a function at some point to simply upload this type of file straight into the FPP, and have it automatically configure the outputs, but for it to work properly, you'll need to have Vixen configured correctly, and not use any workarounds.

For me, it'd still be nice to see global channel assignments next to the controller channels without having to look at the xml output file, so i'm going to submit a feature request to include this information like is done for the E1.31 outputs.


Offline algerdes

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Location: Lebanon, Illinois
  • Posts: 754
  • Kudos: 10
Re: Set-up in FPP but how to map to Renard?
« Reply #6 on: December 16, 2016, 09:16:43 AM »

For me, it'd still be nice to see global channel assignments next to the controller channels without having to look at the xml output file, so i'm going to submit a feature request to include this information like is done for the E1.31 outputs.


I'm using Vixen 3.3u2 and the absolute channel numbers for each controller are listed in the display setup, just before the universe/channel and the IP address.  (I use Unicast.)


Sequencers: Vixen3 and xLights
Players: FPP and xSchedule Controllers:  Renards - SS24/SS16; E1.31 - San Devices E682 - Falcon F16, F4, F48 - J1Sys - DIYLEDExpress E1.31 Bridges.  Much more!

Offline gadgetsmith

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Location: Charlton, NY
  • Posts: 973
  • Kudos: 14
Re: Set-up in FPP but how to map to Renard?
« Reply #7 on: December 16, 2016, 09:30:22 AM »
I'm using Vixen 3.3u2 and the absolute channel numbers for each controller are listed in the display setup, just before the universe/channel and the IP address.  (I use Unicast.)

This likely corresponds to the fact you have only a single E1.31 controller defined.  If you add a second E1.31 controller (or any other output type), then you will find that those start at Channel 1, or once you add a multicast/unicast definition to the E1.31 controller, that controller will start at #1.

If you go to do an export on a sequence, the first thing you see is the mapping of all the controllers and their respective global channels.  The feature request in my head would be basically to see this information at the bottom of the Controller section on the Display Setup.  Perhaps just a selection box to check if you want to see it.

Offline algerdes

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Location: Lebanon, Illinois
  • Posts: 754
  • Kudos: 10
Re: Set-up in FPP but how to map to Renard?
« Reply #8 on: December 16, 2016, 09:41:39 AM »
You are correct.  The numbering in each of the display controller setups does restart at 1 when assigning to the next controller. 
The numbering in the .xml file does combine them and does show the absolute numbering for all the controllers active when the export was made.


Offline kreeve

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 3
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Set-up in FPP but how to map to Renard?
« Reply #9 on: December 16, 2016, 01:42:54 PM »
I really appreciate the insights and help.  I have it working as desired now.


So 3001 is the start address and 24 is the number of channels. 


I made a bad assumption that what it was asking for was 3001 and 3024,  not the 24.  It threw and error and threw me off.   


First year and learning lots. It has been fun.  Show is running and the first guests came by last night to see it.  Now off to improve the audio quality coming out of the Pi.


Appreciate this forum and appreciate all the help/expertise.


Regards,

Kevin
Logan, UT


 

Back to top