Author Topic: FPP driving P10 panels over Ethernet via a $30 ColorLight 5a-75B receiver board  (Read 5934 times)

Offline adster

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 21
  • Kudos: 1
So now that I have my ColorLight board...


Err...how do I set it up in FPP 1.9? I have FPP setup for my PiHat, but I don't see anywhere in the UI for the ColorLight. Hell, it might not even be in the UI yet.

Offline adster

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 21
  • Kudos: 1
Ok, update. I looked at the channel config json file from the previous page, so I made that modification through the SSH terminal on the FPP. Then I stopped there and moved on to attempt to configure the panels in the ColorLight software.

Holy cow. I have no idea what I was doing. I followed the hardware configure PDF on their site and got part of the way there but some things still aren't right. I have a 2x2 P5 panel matrix. (They are 64x32) and I can't, for the life of me, figure out how to make them work in the ColorLight program. I can get to a certain point where the LED graphic is displayed but it's chopped up on the panel, which tells me I have the layout configured wrong. I gave up and will try again this weekend.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline Bshaver

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2014
  • Location: Denver, CO
  • Posts: 1,171
  • Kudos: 18
I spent about 4-5 hours trying various configurations. I am writing up a document on how to get it working (the way I did). It may not be THE way.
And you are correct, it is NOT in the UI at this time, it is under the hood manually in the .json file. NOTE: if you make any changes on the UI and click SAVE in the channel outputs section, your edits to the .json file are lost.




Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 3,404
  • Kudos: 70
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
NOTE: if you make any changes on the UI and click SAVE in the channel outputs section, your edits to the .json file are lost.

painfully taught myself that. I now keep a copy in a desktop text file using Notepad++

Offline Sulley

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2016
  • Location: Ellensburg, Washington
  • Posts: 2
  • Kudos: 0

I too had issues setting up the ColorLight cards and didn't get it done on the first try.  However, I got lucky as I just attended the InfoComm Show in Orlando and ColorLight was one of the exhibitors.


I had a conversation with Gary and his staff, and they were very accommodating and provided me with the key details I need to get my card(s) configured for my P6 Matrix Panels.


Here is the contact information of the person who helped me:
Gary Tong
Sales Manager Overseas Dept.
Beijing ColorLight Technology Co., LTD.
Mobile: +86 181 2604 6784
Tel: +86 755 86009353
Skype: gary_colorlight
E-Mail: gary@lednets.com
Web: www.colorlightinside.com


Note, they have a new website, and the URL links on this post are in the process of being deprecated.


One last thing, if anyone needs help setting up their ColorLignt cards, please contact me as I'm always willing to help.


Scott

Offline adster

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 21
  • Kudos: 1
I also talked to Gary and his staff at InfoComm. They were incredible friendly (and also Hugh from Linsn also!) I purchased a board from there on the show floor.


Bshaver was able to send me an email about how to get my P5 panels working with the ColorLight software and board. Now I'm stuck at getting FPP to recognize it. I haven't done much to it in the last few days but if you've got a few minutes I'd love to fire it back up again.

 

Back to top