Author Topic: Hardware Help  (Read 678 times)

Offline Akareaper

• Kudos: 0
Hardware Help
« on: January 18, 2017, 09:52:35 AM »
Hi folks! First off, I don't pretend to be a bad ass or anything due to my user name, it was a nick name given to me long ago in the military that stuck. I seemed to always work fatal accidents as an MP, and made many a death notification, even a few in my civilian career when i was a police officer. Hence, Reaper.

Anyway, down to business. Over the past few years I have seen many a display, mostly static and a couple animated, and got the bug. For 2017 I was given a budget to put up lights at my suburban home. The picture is what I came up with. Now, I need to know the hardware requirements. I have selected xlights, have been playing with it for hours and hours. I am going to use falcon gear. based on my layout, and my proposed expansion past this year, what should I get?

Background: For 2017
I have about 150 feet to outline on the house and garage/door/window. Going with 6 inch spacing, C9 style.
9 mini trees, 100 pixels ea,
9 stars, 50 pixels ea.
4 arches (Matt Johnson design)
1 mega tree, 16 strands, 50 pixels ea, for 800 total.

For the following year I plan to add:
150-200 feet of C9 to outline yard area of display
5 snowflakes (over garage door)
1 wreath (over front window)
4 moving heads on ridgeline
4 singing faces
10-12 northpoles.

I know its a lot to ask, but any help on a hardware list falcon controllers, expansion boards, or whatever I may need would be great. The actual display area in the front yard, not including mega tree will be about 40 feet wide, 60 feet deep. 15 feet from front of house where I just had 6 outlets put in off of 3 20amp breakers I had left in my panel. Of course, FM transmission.

Thanks in advance.

Offline PeteyHall

• Kudos: 3
Re: Hardware Help
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2017, 12:42:58 PM »