Author Topic: Zero to Lights in 60 Days - I hope  (Read 1667 times)

Offline gilv58

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jan 2017
  • Location: Helotes, TX
  • Posts: 52
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Zero to Lights in 60 Days - I hope
« Reply #30 on: February 06, 2017, 07:11:23 PM »
Problem solved!!!!!!!


jnealand your hint was spot on. A bit of a background, after spending most of my PC life in the Windows world I converted to MAC a while back. One thong that was and continues to be not very clear is how MAC manages its file system.
Bottom line I was telling xLights to save the xml file in one directory while saving the fseq fie to a different directory. The only reason I discovered this is by looking at the xml as jnealand suggested. While looking for this file I noticed I had two copies, one with a single color pallette assigned to both models and tother with two color pallets assigned to one of the models. Conclusion this xml file was causing the lights to go from red to blue.


One I got both synced. I had to recreate the xml file with two E1.31 sets one channel 1-512 the other with channels 513- 1024 and re-define the models. After uploading the new sequence, and re-establishing the play list. all is fine. I can drive all 600 channels now.


Wow what a learning curve.


Thank you very much all how helped and in particular jnealand
« Last Edit: February 06, 2017, 08:27:09 PM by gilv58 »
Gil V.

Offline gilv58

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jan 2017
  • Location: Helotes, TX
  • Posts: 52
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Zero to Lights in 60 Days - I hope
« Reply #31 on: February 27, 2017, 09:21:39 PM »
Wonderful advancements but now I am hitting anther problem


I just received an F16V2-R. I have a RaPi set as master connected to a hub and I connected the F16V2 to the same hub


IP settings are:
FPP
ETH0
Static IP: 192.168.3.100
Netmask: 255.255.255.0
Gateway:
Primary DNS: 192.168.1.1

Secondary DNS: 192.168.1.1

WLAN0
Static IP: 192.168.1.235
Netmask: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: 192.168.1.1

Enable routing between network interfaces is turned on.

F16V2:
Static IP: 192.168.3.101
Gateway: 192.168.3.100
Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
Primary DNS: 192.168.1.1
Secondary DNS: 192.168.1.1
 
Is this correct?


Now what?
How can I  control the F16V2 from the Pi/FPP?

Offline jnealand

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Location: Kennesaw, GA
  • Posts: 2,024
  • Kudos: 37
Re: Zero to Lights in 60 Days - I hope
« Reply #32 on: February 28, 2017, 07:49:07 AM »
Looks correct to me.  Now from a computer connected to the .1 network all you need is a route command which you need to run from an administrative command prompt.  In win 10 you can right click on the start button and you will see "command prompt (admin)", click it and then in the window type

route add -p 192.168.3.0 mask 255.255.255.0 192.168.1.235

I keep that command in a batch file so I can use from other computers on my home network without having to retype the whole line.  Although it is possible to copy and paste it as well if you know how to use the command prompt.
Jim Nealand
Kennesaw, GA
Lynx, Falcon, XL, FPP

Offline gilv58

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jan 2017
  • Location: Helotes, TX
  • Posts: 52
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Zero to Lights in 60 Days - I hope
« Reply #33 on: February 28, 2017, 10:09:57 AM »
Jim


Ok so last night I set a PC's network connection to the 192.168.1 network. I now connected the F16V2 directly to the PC. I launched the browser on the PC and set it to the F16V2's IP and boala I get FPP(?) to show up. I can set things on the F16V2 while its connected to the PC.So far so good  :)


Now next step is to un-theader the F16V2 from the PC and connect it to the lights network (see my schematic on page 1 of this thread) . I would think all I need to do is to connect the F16V2 to the router and that is it. All Pi/FPP on this network are in the 192.168.1 network. My master Pi/FPP can "see"my other two Pi/FPP devices.
So I connected the F16V2 to the router. I would anticipate I would "see" the F16V2 from the master Pi/FPP but I don't.


Also do I need to complete set channels up while connected to the PC or will I bw able to re-set those while the F16 is connected to the "network"?


Thanks for your help

Offline gilv58

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jan 2017
  • Location: Helotes, TX
  • Posts: 52
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Zero to Lights in 60 Days - I hope
« Reply #34 on: February 28, 2017, 10:30:27 AM »
Jim


I re-read your post. I tried your command got an "OK" message but then nothing!!! I still can't "see" the F16V2 from the master Pi/FPP
« Last Edit: February 28, 2017, 12:33:40 PM by gilv58 »

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 3,552
  • Kudos: 74
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Zero to Lights in 60 Days - I hope
« Reply #35 on: February 28, 2017, 12:41:47 PM »
If you are expecting to see it in the Multisync list, that isn't available yet. It is coming with F16v3

Offline gilv58

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jan 2017
  • Location: Helotes, TX
  • Posts: 52
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Zero to Lights in 60 Days - I hope
« Reply #36 on: February 28, 2017, 03:45:20 PM »
If you are expecting to see it in the Multisync list, that isn't available yet. It is coming with F16v3


Jon


Yes I guess I was expeting to see something in the master Pi/FPP on the F16V2.  I guess that is not to be. So if I just bring in a sequence that addresses the F16V2 channels it will "play"???

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 3,552
  • Kudos: 74
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Zero to Lights in 60 Days - I hope
« Reply #37 on: February 28, 2017, 04:38:46 PM »
Yes. Worked for me. Plus, I could access the F16v2 through the Pi using Chrome (if the routing Jim gave you is set).

I even upgraded firmware on the F16v2Red through the Pi while it was under my megatree.
« Last Edit: February 28, 2017, 07:19:02 PM by JonB256 »

Offline gilv58

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jan 2017
  • Location: Helotes, TX
  • Posts: 52
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Zero to Lights in 60 Days - I hope
« Reply #38 on: February 28, 2017, 05:21:20 PM »
I set the routing as Jim suggested. I got I looked like a positive message from the console.
Then I connected the F16V2 to the hub and tried hitting it with the browser but no joy


« Last Edit: February 28, 2017, 05:52:46 PM by gilv58 »

Offline gilv58

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jan 2017
  • Location: Helotes, TX
  • Posts: 52
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Zero to Lights in 60 Days - I hope
« Reply #39 on: February 28, 2017, 06:31:31 PM »
Got it working now


Thanks Jim and Jon

 

Back to top