Author Topic: Running dumb gear from a falcon port with Hanson 2811DC15/30  (Read 864 times)

Offline zwiller

• Falcon Beta Team
  • Kudos: 11
Running dumb gear from a falcon port with Hanson 2811DC15/30
« on: January 29, 2017, 01:15:54 PM »
I know, I KNOW, dumb rgb gear isn't really much cheaper if at all to smart but recall dumb gear is ANYTHING besides smart pixels.  IE my spots.  These are 10W 12v led garden lights I have been running for a few years from a DLA dumb string controller (DSC).  I've been looking to replace the large DSC enclosure since mine are frame mounted but I did like the fact these were pixelnet based so I didn't need to fool with dmx or else but just plug into the DLA hub to run them.  Enter the 2811DC15...  http://www.hansonelectronics.com.au/product/2811dc15/ The 2811DC30 is similar but runs 30 channels.  Alan Hanson is a member here (AAH) and is a well known wizard of holiday lighting on the Aussie forum. 

I had been looking for years for something to do this and this little controller has been around longer than that and it was literally underneath my nose the whole time. It has been available since 2013 and is quite popular in AUS. The controller is essentially 5 pixel ICs that are used to drive/control DC channels instead of pixels.  They will drive a variety of DC power from 5-35VDC. (I plan to fool with 50W rgb floods that need 35v)  Channel assignment is not necessary on the 2811DC itself as it is just like a pixel and done via done sequencer and a port of a F16v1/2/3 or ANYTHING that can drive a 2811 pixel, which is ALOT.  While you can add a dedicated power supply to the board I plan to run a few of mine right off the power of the F16 port since 4 of my spots are well under 4A.  I did a quick video to demonstrate.  https://vimeo.com/201548919