Author Topic: Falcon Player - FPP v1.9 is now available  (Read 1778 times)

Offline CaptainMurdoch

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Washington
  • Posts: 7,842
  • Kudos: 137
Falcon Player - FPP v1.9 is now available
« on: February 02, 2017, 03:33:51 PM »
FPP v1.9 is now available.

As with FPP v1.6/v1.7/v1.8, FPP v1.9 is available via an upgrade button in the
FPP UI.  If you are up to date on FPP v1.8, an 'upgrade' button will
appear below the menu to allow you to upgrade a running system to v1.9.

Changes in v1.9 include:

- Native ArtNet Support.
- Pi Matrix hat pinout selection.
- BBB Serial Output (Pixelnet and DMX).
- Raspberry Pi model detection
- SubMatrices.

For details on these changes, see the v1.9 soft launch thread:  http://falconchristmas.com/forum/index.php/topic,5832.msg58981.html#msg58981

NOTE: This is not an automatic upgrade, the only way to pull in the v1.9
changes is to use the Upgrade button in the UI.  The 'Manual Update'
button on the About page will not upgrade to the v1.9 code, it can
only be used to pull in v1.8 updates.

====================================================================================
EDIT: this message was updated and the thread made sticky to replace the v1.8 release announcement thread.  The original contents of this message are below:

I pushed a change to add the v1.9 upgrade button to the v1.8 UI.  v1.9 was used by several people during the holidays to run their show because they needed some of the new features.  We didn't want to push it out for general release that late in the year though, but now that we are past the holidays, I went ahead and added the upgrade button since it was stable for those who did use it.

We are still working on v2.0, so there probably won't be much more done to the v1.9 branch unless it is an easy fix or backport.  I may backport some of the new Channel Outputs to allow wider testing of those while we work on other v2.0 changes.
« Last Edit: February 14, 2017, 03:19:03 PM by CaptainMurdoch »
-
Chris

Offline pixelpuppy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Location: Dallas, TX
  • Posts: 442
  • Kudos: 8
Re: v1.9 upgrade button added to v1.8 UI
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2017, 04:17:47 PM »

I was running 1.9 but fell back to 1.8 due to mysterious FPPD stopping.

Any estimation on when you might have some branch of 2.0 available for beta testing?
Vixen3, FPP, F16v2, xL4

Offline CaptainMurdoch

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Washington
  • Posts: 7,842
  • Kudos: 137
Re: v1.9 upgrade button added to v1.8 UI
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2017, 04:40:41 PM »
I was running 1.9 but fell back to 1.8 due to mysterious FPPD stopping.

I think some others went the opposite direction.

Any estimation on when you might have some branch of 2.0 available for beta testing?

Not for a while.  The master branch is currently broken for sequence/playlist playback but I am working on putting it back together.  In parallel, I also am working on replacing the socket interface between the UI and the backend fppd daemon.  Once it gets back to a usable state, I will post something.  I'd like to get playback working again before we rip out the UI and start working on swapping in the new one.

Offline jholmes

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Apr 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 107
  • Kudos: 0
Re: v1.9 upgrade button added to v1.8 UI
« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2017, 05:23:44 PM »
Thank you for all your hard-work Captain!
Is there somewhere we can read release notes regarding v1.9?

Offline mararunr

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 501
  • Kudos: 12
    • Bentonville Heart Lites
Re: v1.9 upgrade button added to v1.8 UI
« Reply #4 on: February 02, 2017, 06:32:56 PM »
Thank you for all your hard-work Captain!
Is there somewhere we can read release notes regarding v1.9?

http://falconchristmas.com/forum/index.php/topic,5832.msg58981.html#msg58981
Bentonville Heart Lites (www.facebook.com/bheartlites)

This is just my opinion/suggestion/viewpoint.  Others with other viewpoints/experiences may have different advice.  I am a hobbyist with a couple years real world experience, not an expert.

Offline stanward

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 32
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Falcon Player - FPP v1.9 is now available
« Reply #5 on: April 07, 2017, 01:37:45 AM »
I have version 1.8-30 and I do not have the Update button below the version.  What would cause this problem?

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,523
  • Kudos: 56
Re: Falcon Player - FPP v1.9 is now available
« Reply #6 on: April 07, 2017, 01:56:31 AM »
Usually a DNS setting in the network configuration screen. Incorrect or no DNS server address can cause the Github lookup to fail. Incorrect gateway can also cause this.
PixelController, LLC
PixelController.com

Offline algerdes

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 525
  • Kudos: 4
Re: Falcon Player - FPP v1.9 is now available
« Reply #7 on: April 09, 2017, 10:02:47 AM »
Thanks folks!  I'll upgrade all of the FPPs with this.


Is there a plan to take us to 2.x yet this year?  If so, your target date is? 


Also, what can someone do to help?

Offline CaptainMurdoch

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Washington
  • Posts: 7,842
  • Kudos: 137
Re: Falcon Player - FPP v1.9 is now available
« Reply #8 on: April 14, 2017, 03:16:16 PM »
Is there a plan to take us to 2.x yet this year?  If so, your target date is? 

Also, what can someone do to help?

I'm working on it, but can't make any promises right now.  These past few months have been too busy for me to get a lot of coding done unfortunately.  I was a page and a half behind on new threads here on the forum and the activity has been kind of low, so that tells you how far I was behind.  I haven't even had a chance to look at other sites since my main focus is here.  I have been getting in some coding time, mainly centered around channel outputs, but still have a lot of work to do on the playlist code and have not had a chance to circle back with Tim on any work needed on the backend to support the UI he is working on.

Offline algerdes

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 525
  • Kudos: 4
Re: Falcon Player - FPP v1.9 is now available
« Reply #9 on: April 16, 2017, 04:33:39 PM »
I'm perfectly happy with what we have now.  I'm also very appreciative of all the work that has been going on toward improvements of the FPP. 


Simply, THANK YOU for what you and your crew are doing. 

Offline bowhunter3125

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jan 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 223
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Falcon Player - FPP v1.9 is now available
« Reply #10 on: May 26, 2017, 08:05:01 PM »
Usually a DNS setting in the network configuration screen. Incorrect or no DNS server address can cause the Github lookup to fail. Incorrect gateway can also cause this.


What are the DNS settings supposed to be, i have my network set up as DHCP, same as the DNS but there is nothing listed under the DNS settings. want to upgrade but got no upgrade button.

Offline rlemery

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Feb 2015
  • Location: Morganton,NC
  • Posts: 355
  • Kudos: 5
Re: Falcon Player - FPP v1.9 is now available
« Reply #11 on: May 26, 2017, 09:34:15 PM »
I set the dns on my pi to the same as my router.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

728 lor channels
5492 pixels

Offline bowhunter3125

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jan 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 223
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Falcon Player - FPP v1.9 is now available
« Reply #12 on: May 26, 2017, 09:54:54 PM »
I set the dns on my pi to the same as my router.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk


So i matched the DNS settings off my router to my PI, now i can no longer access the PI through the Wlan

Offline rlemery

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Feb 2015
  • Location: Morganton,NC
  • Posts: 355
  • Kudos: 5
Re: Falcon Player - FPP v1.9 is now available
« Reply #13 on: May 26, 2017, 09:58:21 PM »
I always set a static route for the wlan0 and leave eth0 on dchp unless I'm using it for a controller.  Then I set it to a different subnet than wlan0.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk


Offline bowhunter3125

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jan 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 223
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Falcon Player - FPP v1.9 is now available
« Reply #14 on: Today at 11:59:27 AM »
Well i am at a loss. I was finally able to get back into my pi, but still have no upgrade button. When i set the DNS settings to what the DNS settings were in my router, the pi froze up, had to go into the thumb drive and erase the static IP for the wlan.

 

Back to top