Author Topic: Falcon Player - FPP v1.9 is now available  (Read 8671 times)

Offline rlemery

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Feb 2015
  • Location: Morganton,NC
  • Posts: 368
  • Kudos: 5
Re: Falcon Player - FPP v1.9 is now available
« Reply #30 on: July 07, 2017, 08:04:55 PM »
I always use static for wlan0 so I always know the Ip address  for each pi or bbb.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

728 lor channels
5492 pixels

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 3,863
  • Kudos: 81
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Falcon Player - FPP v1.9 is now available
« Reply #31 on: July 08, 2017, 05:57:11 AM »
I used to use Static IP on every FPP (Pi or Beagle) but am not so consistent now.

I do have a Static (192.168.0.90) on my "Master" Pi that always sits in my computer room with the Antenna. From that FPP, I rely on the Multisync page to locate and access any other FPP on the system. That can vary from one to ten FPPs depending on what I'm testing or how close to Halloween or Christmas. :)  Doesn't matter whether they are Standalone, Remote or Bridge. I only keep the one as Master, though.

The Multisync feature is always keeping tabs on the other devices.

Offline centauri61032

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 15
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Falcon Player - FPP v1.9 is now available
« Reply #32 on: July 15, 2017, 01:02:20 PM »
I have version 1.8-30 and I do not have the Update button below the version.  What would cause this problem?


I changed DNS1 to be 8.8.8.8 and DNS2 to be 75.75.75.75.
After saving and rebooting the Pi, the Update button appeared.




Offline ed_faranda

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 5
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Falcon Player - FPP v1.9 is now available
« Reply #33 on: August 13, 2017, 11:26:24 PM »
I just loaded by BBB with v1.5.  And I got the notice that v1.8 is available and to use the UI Update button.  When I press it, all it does it show me the revision notes.


What am I missing? 




Offline jnealand

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Location: Kennesaw, GA
  • Posts: 2,189
  • Kudos: 41
Re: Falcon Player - FPP v1.9 is now available
« Reply #34 on: August 14, 2017, 09:28:57 AM »
Jim Nealand
Kennesaw, GA
Lynx, Falcon, XL, FPP

Offline ed_faranda

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 5
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Falcon Player - FPP v1.9 is now available
« Reply #35 on: August 14, 2017, 07:53:21 PM »
Got it loaded.  But, the FPPD won't start, so I can't run any test sequences.

Offline algerdes

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 602
  • Kudos: 7
Re: Falcon Player - FPP v1.9 is now available
« Reply #36 on: August 14, 2017, 08:42:01 PM »
Not sure if this is anywhere near your problem, but...

Did you click on the "test list" name?  When you do, the items from that test list will populate. Then you can click on play.

Offline ed_faranda

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 5
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Falcon Player - FPP v1.9 is now available
« Reply #37 on: August 14, 2017, 10:03:35 PM »
I reloaded the image of 1.9, and it does the same thing.  I did notice that if I don't have the "Enable LED Panel Output" checked in the LEDscape/Octoscoller LED panel, the FPPD will start.  However, when I check the box it doesn't start.


I have 4 panel, but I am just trying to get one working now.  Been having a hard time.

Offline dkulp

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Framingham, MA
  • Posts: 446
  • Kudos: 13
Re: Falcon Player - FPP v1.9 is now available
« Reply #38 on: August 14, 2017, 11:32:35 PM »
You grabbed the wrong image....  You grabbed the oldest image there, not the newest.   I have a new image (20170814) uploading now that I'd suggest you use.   
Dan Kulp

Offline ed_faranda

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 5
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Falcon Player - FPP v1.9 is now available
« Reply #39 on: August 15, 2017, 09:20:03 AM »
Thanks I got the new image and it helped.


I figured out and got the entire 2 x 2 panel working.  However, on the LED Panel Page, when I set up the page.  When I save and restart the FPPD, my test sequences seem to work when tested.  (I need to do further tests)


However, when I got back to the LED Panel Page, it does not pull in the current configuration.  Mind you, it works. Just not showing the correct information when I reload the page.

Offline sklankowski

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2017
  • Location: La Crescent, MN
  • Posts: 18
  • Kudos: 0
    • Rotary Lights
Re: Falcon Player - FPP v1.9 is now available
« Reply #40 on: September 28, 2017, 12:29:22 AM »
Is there a way to have FPP boot faster than a minute and 47 seconds on a RaspPi3??  I timed this reaction from power on to first lights of sequence running. Could it be cut to under a minute, if possible?

Offline algerdes

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 602
  • Kudos: 7
Re: Falcon Player - FPP v1.9 is now available
« Reply #41 on: September 28, 2017, 08:11:55 AM »
One thing you can do to "speed things", at least a little bit, is to turn off the automatic checking for updates.

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 3,863
  • Kudos: 81
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Falcon Player - FPP v1.9 is now available
« Reply #42 on: September 28, 2017, 01:23:23 PM »
One thing you can do to "speed things", at least a little bit, is to turn off the automatic checking for updates.
I think that the default should be DON'T check for updates.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk


Offline CaptainMurdoch

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Washington
  • Posts: 7,974
  • Kudos: 142
Re: Falcon Player - FPP v1.9 is now available
« Reply #43 on: September 29, 2017, 12:21:19 AM »
One thing you can do to "speed things", at least a little bit, is to turn off the automatic checking for updates.
I think that the default should be DON'T check for updates.

Sounds reasonable to me.  Now that we have a way to view the pending updates in the UI, it is easier for a user to check to decide if they want to pull in any new changes.  I think I have an easy way to add this into the existing code for new users or builds, but want to think about it first.  I made a note in my short-term "2017 Q4" ToDo list.  I just knocked out one thing on that list by merging in all the changes from master-v1.x to the v1.9 branch.  master-v1.x had several enhancements and bug fixes which I ran in my display last year but didn't want to release in mid to late December.  That code has been stable for me, so I just pushed all those changes to v1.9 and built new v1.9 binaries and pushed them to the repo.  If you are on v1.9, you will now see v1.9-64.

I'm also looking at merging the new channel outputs in master over to master-v1.x so they can be get into a v1.x release.  This includes the Linsn and ColorLight support as well as support for the small ILI9488 LCD panels for the Pi that I posted a demo video of eons ago.

-
Chris

Offline algerdes

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 602
  • Kudos: 7
Re: Falcon Player - FPP v1.9 is now available
« Reply #44 on: September 29, 2017, 08:06:19 AM »
WOW!  The Captain is back!  Welcome, sir.  You have been missed!


I agree, the default should be "don't check".  Then again, I speak from the status that all of mine are not attached to the internet unless I bring them into the work bench.

 

Back to top