Author Topic: WS2813/WS2818 Compliant  (Read 478 times)

Offline AlInRaleigh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 3
  • Kudos: 0
WS2813/WS2818 Compliant
« on: March 02, 2017, 10:19:31 PM »
Hi, I've searched and didn't find an answer for my question. Are Falcon Pixel Controllers WS2813/WS2818 compliant? I understand there is a difference in the reset time that caused problems with other pixel controllers.  If not, will they be in the future?
Thanks, Al

Offline bowhunter3125

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jan 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 205
  • Kudos: 0
Re: WS2813/WS2818 Compliant
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2017, 06:58:07 PM »
For now you can just plug the secondary data wire into the Data output, they have said that they could create a firmware update to use the clock out put as a secondary Data output. I am already looking at buying the 2818's and using them with my falcon when i get it. San Devices has no plans to update their firmware for those nodes.

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,472
  • Kudos: 54
Re: WS2813/WS2818 Compliant
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2017, 07:10:43 PM »
I spoke with Mark Amber (PixelPuppy) as he bought some of these nodes. He stated there was nothing to be done. All you do is connect the pixels with data, gnd and power.
PixelController, LLC
PixelController.com

Offline AlInRaleigh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 3
  • Kudos: 0
Re: WS2813/WS2818 Compliant
« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2017, 10:36:00 PM »
Thanks. I'm preparing to buy a bunch of WS2818 and wanted to be sure. On  DIYC, one post stated the frame reset time is several times longer and San Devices was implementing a firmware upgrade to accommodate the longer frame reset. I haven't spent the time to verify any of this, so I thought I would ask here.  If this is correct, the longer reset time might pose a problem.

http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/showthread.php?44772-WS2813-Strip

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,472
  • Kudos: 54
Re: WS2813/WS2818 Compliant
« Reply #4 on: March 09, 2017, 11:26:45 PM »
Not with Falcon Controllers. We have a set refresh rate that creates a really long reset.

Offline bowhunter3125

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jan 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 205
  • Kudos: 0
Re: WS2813/WS2818 Compliant
« Reply #5 on: March 10, 2017, 12:50:33 AM »
I spoke with Mark Amber (PixelPuppy) as he bought some of these nodes. He stated there was nothing to be done. All you do is connect the pixels with data, gnd and power.


I have read the same thing, some of the strings i have seen come with an extra data wire and extra power wire. I am guessign the extra power wire is for injection and the other data wire is for the by pass.

Offline pixelpuppy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Location: Dallas, TX
  • Posts: 419
  • Kudos: 7
Re: WS2813/WS2818 Compliant
« Reply #6 on: March 10, 2017, 05:13:38 PM »

Let me try to shed a little more light on this. :)    I have done some preliminary testing on an F16V2 controller with no issues.  :)  I will do the same on the V3 controller when I get my hands on one.  ;)

Yes, the 2813 has four wires.  Three are the same as 2811 and the 4th is a BACKUP data input.   The intention of the backup data line is to handle the situation where an upstream pixel fails and stops passing data to the downstream pixel.    This logic doesn't really apply to the first pixel connected to the controller, only all the subsequent pixels downstream.  The 2813 doesn't care about the Backup line if its receiving signal on the Data In.   So yes there are 4 wires, but the first pixel connected to the controller can omit the "Backup In" wire.  Just connect the same 3 wires from the controller as you would a 2811 (V+, Data, Gnd).  Do NOT use the CLK output on the controller.   If you daisy-chain multiple 2813 strings together, then you would use all four wires (V+, Data, BackupData, Gnd) between strings.

There is a difference in the reset specification between the two pixel types.  The 2811 specifies a reset of >= 50uS and the 2813 specifies a reset of >= 300uS.  As long as the controller sends a reset for at least 300uS it works for both pixel types.  The Falcon controllers use a fixed refresh rate with a reset "gap" that is long enough to satisfy both types.   The SanDevices controllers had a problem with this because they were refreshing at a variable rate depending on string length with minimal gap.  I read there is a beta update to the SanDevices firmware that fixes the reset to a longer interval which works with 2813 but I have not tested the SanDevices or any other controllers besides the Falcon F16V2
« Last Edit: March 10, 2017, 05:30:26 PM by pixelpuppy »
Vixen3, FPP, F16v2, xL4

Offline AlInRaleigh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 3
  • Kudos: 0
Re: WS2813/WS2818 Compliant
« Reply #7 on: March 10, 2017, 08:49:05 PM »
Thank you gentlemen. My question was answered precisely as I wanted.  I really appreciate your time.
Al

Offline Stosh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 1
  • Kudos: 0
Re: WS2813/WS2818 Compliant
« Reply #8 on: March 26, 2017, 04:33:09 PM »
OK with that figured out, is the Falcon F16 v3 going to be available fully assembled with enclosure, ready to run with 4-core pigtails instead of 3-core?  I just ordered a bunch of WS2818 strings with 4-core pigtails preinstalled.  Of course I could do this myself, but the ready-to-run option would be awesome.

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,472
  • Kudos: 54
Re: WS2813/WS2818 Compliant
« Reply #9 on: March 26, 2017, 05:06:30 PM »
The assembled F16V3 will come with 3-core pigtails.

 

Back to top