Author Topic: PiCap built but can't test strings  (Read 827 times)

Offline Jonnyb44

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: May 2016
  • Location: Turners Falls, MA.
  • Posts: 95
  • Kudos: 0
Re: PiCap built but can't test strings
« Reply #15 on: April 14, 2017, 09:20:22 AM »
Btw do you have any channels set on the e131 page?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline travcam

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Feb 2017
  • Location: Huntington, WV
  • Posts: 13
  • Kudos: 0
Re: PiCap built but can't test strings
« Reply #16 on: April 14, 2017, 12:32:51 PM »
Those should light from display testing. As long as they are 12v ws2811


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


That's about where I am...  if I had another controller to test with I would certainly help determining if it's the PiCap board or the lights.   I guess it's possible I have a bad run of 4x fifty pixels, but I'd like to think not.
I don't suppose there's a way to verify the pixels independent of a controller due to the data?


Offline CaptainMurdoch

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Washington
  • Posts: 7,851
  • Kudos: 138
Re: PiCap built but can't test strings
« Reply #17 on: April 14, 2017, 12:46:04 PM »
Check the "Active" box on the second screen shot. You have it configured but not actually loaded correctly.


I've done that and saved it and restarted FPP.  Same result.

Just to confirm, was this a reboot or just a restart of fppd?   Enabling the RPI_WS281x output needs to disable the onboard sound and a reboot is required.
-
Chris

Offline travcam

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Feb 2017
  • Location: Huntington, WV
  • Posts: 13
  • Kudos: 0
Re: PiCap built but can't test strings
« Reply #18 on: April 14, 2017, 01:20:53 PM »
I've done both.  Enable, restart and reboot




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Offline travcam

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Feb 2017
  • Location: Huntington, WV
  • Posts: 13
  • Kudos: 0
PiCap built but can't test strings
« Reply #19 on: April 14, 2017, 01:21:53 PM »
Btw do you have any channels set on the e131 page?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
That page is still all defaults so nothing defined


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Offline Jonnyb44

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: May 2016
  • Location: Turners Falls, MA.
  • Posts: 95
  • Kudos: 0
PiCap built but can't test strings
« Reply #20 on: April 14, 2017, 01:25:28 PM »
That's the only thing I can think of.  Maybe it needs channels defined for output test. 
Captain??

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline CaptainMurdoch

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Washington
  • Posts: 7,851
  • Kudos: 138
Re: PiCap built but can't test strings
« Reply #21 on: April 14, 2017, 02:53:39 PM »
You don't need to define any E1.31 for the channel test page to work. The only thing you need to do is create a channel output and then toggle testing on and that should turn lights on.

Can you go to the FPP Settings page and set your Log Level to Debug and make sure that at least the 'Channel Outputs' checkbox is checked for the Log Mask section, then restart fppd.  Then go to the FPP File Manager and look at the tail end of the fppd.log file to see if there are any messages about the channel output.  I'm running the latest stock v1.9 code on a Pi right now on an infinity mirror so I know the code should be working.

Offline travcam

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Feb 2017
  • Location: Huntington, WV
  • Posts: 13
  • Kudos: 0
Re: PiCap built but can't test strings
« Reply #22 on: April 14, 2017, 08:50:50 PM »
You don't need to define any E1.31 for the channel test page to work. The only thing you need to do is create a channel output and then toggle testing on and that should turn lights on.

Can you go to the FPP Settings page and set your Log Level to Debug and make sure that at least the 'Channel Outputs' checkbox is checked for the Log Mask section, then restart fppd.  Then go to the FPP File Manager and look at the tail end of the fppd.log file to see if there are any messages about the channel output.  I'm running the latest stock v1.9 code on a Pi right now on an infinity mirror so I know the code should be working.


Here's an excerpt from the log. 


2017-04-14 21:47:36 (3353) channeloutput/channeloutputthread.c:174:Output Thread: Loop: 50000us, Send: 4us, Read: 6us, Sleep: 49986us, FrameNum: 2202 2017-04-14 21:47:37 (3353) channeloutput/channeloutputthread.c:174:Output Thread: Loop: 50000us, Send: 4us, Read: 6us, Sleep: 49987us, FrameNum: 2222 2017-04-14 21:47:38 (3353) channeloutput/channeloutputthread.c:174:Output Thread: Loop: 50000us, Send: 4us, Read: 6us, Sleep: 49986us, FrameNum: 2242 2017-04-14 21:47:39 (3353) channeloutput/channeloutputthread.c:174:Output Thread: Loop: 50000us, Send: 4us, Read: 6us, Sleep: 49986us, FrameNum: 2262 2017-04-14 21:47:40 (3353) channeloutput/channeloutputthread.c:174:Output Thread: Loop: 50000us, Send: 4us, Read: 6us, Sleep: 49985us, FrameNum: 2282 2017-04-14 21:47:41 (3353) channeloutput/channeloutputthread.c:174:Output Thread: Loop: 50000us, Send: 3us, Read: 6us, Sleep: 49987us, FrameNum: 2302 2017-04-14 21:47:42 (3353) channeloutput/channeloutputthread.c:174:Output Thread: Loop: 50000us, Send: 4us, Read: 7us, Sleep: 49985us, FrameNum: 2322 2017-04-14 21:47:43 (3353) channeloutput/channeloutputthread.c:174:Output Thread: Loop: 50000us, Send: 3us, Read: 7us, Sleep: 49986us, FrameNum: 2342 2017-04-14 21:47:44 (3353) channeloutput/channeloutputthread.c:174:Output Thread: Loop: 50000us, Send: 6us, Read: 8us, Sleep: 49982us, FrameNum: 2362 2017-04-14 21:47:45 (3353) channeloutput/channeloutputthread.c:174:Output Thread: Loop: 50000us, Send: 6us, Read: 8us, Sleep: 49982us, FrameNum: 2382 2017-04-14 21:47:46 (3353) channeloutput/channeloutputthread.c:174:Output Thread: Loop: 50000us, Send: 8us, Read: 11us, Sleep: 49976us, FrameNum: 2402 2017-04-14 21:47:47 (3353) channeloutput/channeloutputthread.c:174:Output Thread: Loop: 50000us, Send: 6us, Read: 8us, Sleep: 49982us, FrameNum: 2422 2017-04-14 21:47:48 (3353) channeloutput/channeloutputthread.c:174:Output Thread: Loop: 50000us, Send: 6us, Read: 8us, Sleep: 49982us, FrameNum: 2442 2017-04-14 21:47:49 (3353) channeloutput/channeloutputthread.c:174:Output Thread: Loop: 50000us, Send: 7us, Read: 8us, Sleep: 49981us, FrameNum: 2462 2017-04-14 21:47:50 (3353) channeloutput/channeloutputthread.c:174:Output Thread: Loop: 50000us, Send: 6us, Read: 7us, Sleep: 49983us, FrameNum: 2482 2017-04-14 21:47:51 (3353) channeloutput/channeloutputthread.c:174:Output Thread: Loop: 50000us, Send: 8us, Read: 10us, Sleep: 49977us, FrameNum: 2502 2017-04-14 21:47:52 (3353) channeloutput/channeloutputthread.c:174:Output Thread: Loop: 50000us, Send: 6us, Read: 8us, Sleep: 49982us, FrameNum: 2522 2017-04-14 21:47:53 (3353) channeloutput/channeloutputthread.c:174:Output Thread: Loop: 50000us, Send: 6us, Read: 9us, Sleep: 49981us, FrameNum: 2542 2017-04-14 21:47:54 (3348) channeltester/ChannelTester.cpp:78:ChannelTester::SetupTest() 2017-04-14 21:47:54 (3348) channeltester/RGBChase.cpp:142:TestPatternRGBChase::DumpConfig 2017-04-14 21:47:54 (3348) channeltester/RGBChase.cpp:143:    colorPattern    : FF000000FF000000FF 2017-04-14 21:47:54 (3348) channeltester/RGBChase.cpp:144:    colorPatternSize: 3 2017-04-14 21:47:54 (3348) channeltester/TestPatternBase.cpp:208:TestPatternBase::DumpConfig() 2017-04-14 21:47:54 (3348) channeltester/TestPatternBase.cpp:209:    cycleMS     : 1000 2017-04-14 21:47:54 (3348) channeltester/TestPatternBase.cpp:210:    channelSet  : 1-150 2017-04-14 21:47:54 (3348) channeltester/TestPatternBase.cpp:211:    channelCount: 150 2017-04-14 21:47:54 (3348) channeltester/TestPatternBase.cpp:216:                : 1-150 2017-04-14 21:47:54 (3353) channeloutput/channeloutputthread.c:174:Output Thread: Loop: 50000us, Send: 7us, Read: 16us, Sleep: 49973us, FrameNum: 2562 2017-04-14 21:47:55 (3353) channeloutput/channeloutputthread.c:174:Output Thread: Loop: 50000us, Send: 7us, Read: 18us, Sleep: 49971us, FrameNum: 2582 2017-04-14 21:47:56 (3353) channeloutput/channeloutputthread.c:174:Output Thread: Loop: 50000us, Send: 7us, Read: 15us, Sleep: 49974us, FrameNum: 2602 2017-04-14 21:47:57 (3353) channeloutput/channeloutputthread.c:174:Output Thread: Loop: 50000us, Send: 7us, Read: 15us, Sleep: 49975us, FrameNum: 2622 2017-04-14 21:47:58 (3353) channeloutput/channeloutputthread.c:174:Output Thread: Loop: 50000us, Send: 7us, Read: 21us, Sleep: 49968us, FrameNum: 2642 2017-04-14 21:47:59 (3353) channeloutput/channeloutputthread.c:174:Output Thread: Loop: 50000us, Send: 6us, Read: 17us, Sleep: 49973us, FrameNum: 2662 2017-04-14 21:47:59 (3348) channeltester/ChannelTester.cpp:78:ChannelTester::SetupTest() 2017-04-14 21:48:00 (3353) channeloutput/channeloutputthread.c:174:Output Thread: Loop: 50000us, Send: 6us, Read: 8us, Sleep: 49982us, FrameNum: 2682 2017-04-14 21:48:01 (3353) channeloutput/channeloutputthread.c:174:Output Thread: Loop: 50000us, Send: 6us, Read: 10us, Sleep: 49980us, FrameNum: 2702 2017-04-14 21:48:02 (3353) channeloutput/channeloutputthread.c:174:Output Thread: Loop: 50000us, Send: 6us, Read: 11us, Sleep: 49978us, FrameNum: 2722 2017-04-14 21:48:03 (3353) channeloutput/channeloutputthread.c:174:Output Thread: Loop: 50000us, Send: 4us, Read: 8us, Sleep: 49983us, FrameNum: 2742 2017-04-14 21:48:04 (3353) channeloutput/channeloutputthread.c:174:Output Thread: Loop: 50000us, Send: 4us, Read: 11us, Sleep: 49981us, FrameNum: 2762 2017-04-14 21:48:05 (3353) channeloutput/channeloutputthread.c:174:Output Thread: Loop: 50000us, Send: 4us, Read: 11us, Sleep: 49981us, FrameNum: 2782 2017-04-14 21:48:06 (3353) channeloutput/channeloutputthread.c:174:Output Thread: Loop: 50000us, Send: 4us, Read: 8us, Sleep: 49984us, FrameNum: 2802 2017-04-14 21:48:07 (3353) channeloutput/channeloutputthread.c:174:Output Thread: Loop: 50000us, Send: 4us, Read: 7us, Sleep: 49985us, FrameNum: 2822 2017-04-14 21:48:08 (3353) channeloutput/channeloutputthread.c:174:Output Thread: Loop: 50000us, Send: 5us, Read: 7us, Sleep: 49984us, FrameNum: 2842 2017-04-14 21:48:09 (3353) channeloutput/channeloutputthread.c:174:Output Thread: Loop: 50000us, Send: 3us,

Offline Keenbfb

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2017
  • Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
  • Posts: 5
  • Kudos: 0
Re: PiCap built but can't test strings
« Reply #23 on: April 16, 2017, 02:42:13 AM »
You could always test the pixels using an Arduino just to rule broken pixels.

Offline CaptainMurdoch

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Washington
  • Posts: 7,851
  • Kudos: 138
Re: PiCap built but can't test strings
« Reply #24 on: April 17, 2017, 11:40:55 AM »
Here's an excerpt from the log. 

Nothing looks out of the ordinary in there.  Can you restart fppd again and look to see if there are any startup errors related to the channel output.  I don't think there would be, but it is worth a look.

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 3,403
  • Kudos: 70
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: PiCap built but can't test strings
« Reply #25 on: April 17, 2017, 01:06:28 PM »
travcam, it doesn't say where you live. Perhaps someone is close enough to help you one on one. (there is a place in your profile. Highly recommend everyone use it unless you are hiding from someone :) )

Offline paudyd

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2016
  • Location: Metro Detroit
  • Posts: 2
  • Kudos: 0
Re: PiCap built but can't test strings
« Reply #26 on: April 17, 2017, 05:29:17 PM »
These are WS2811-12v Pixelstring 18AWG from DIY LED Express.  I don't see any arrows on them...the pigtails I received only fit one connector per string and won't mate the other way.


Just for kicks, I took the data and tried feeding it thru the opposite end using a pin and jumper.. no luck


This info is odd and does not really clear up if the string is wired correctly.  Most pixel strings have pigtails on either end.  Just within the last year or two, suppliers have been shipping strings with waterproof connectors attached.  DIY LED Express is one of those suppliers.  So I have to wonder if you have pigtails on only one end and a connector on the other?  In any case, the wires leading to the first pixel should enter on the side opposite the chip.  You may be able to see a DI (Data In) for the middle white wire through the epoxy.  If your wires leading to the first pixel are on the chip side, you need to connect the string on the other end.


Paudyd

Offline travcam

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Feb 2017
  • Location: Huntington, WV
  • Posts: 13
  • Kudos: 0
Re: PiCap built but can't test strings
« Reply #27 on: April 18, 2017, 07:41:02 AM »
travcam, it doesn't say where you live. Perhaps someone is close enough to help you one on one. (there is a place in your profile. Highly recommend everyone use it unless you are hiding from someone :) )


Good advice, I'll do that. Besides, some of my best friends started out stalking me online....   ;)

Offline travcam

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Feb 2017
  • Location: Huntington, WV
  • Posts: 13
  • Kudos: 0
PiCap built but can't test strings
« Reply #28 on: April 18, 2017, 03:08:43 PM »
Here's an excerpt from the log. 

Nothing looks out of the ordinary in there.  Can you restart fppd again and look to see if there are any startup errors related to the channel output.  I don't think there would be, but it is worth a look.

The 'are the pixels good?' Part of this equation is now answered. 

I'll get a log of the startup and post it tonight once I get the family fed.  I tested them using a cheap $9 amazon pixel controller. 




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

 

Back to top