Author Topic: Wifi issues on Pi3B  (Read 554 times)

Offline Sammy2004

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 5
  • Kudos: 0
Wifi issues on Pi3B
« on: April 10, 2017, 04:26:19 AM »
Hello everyone.

I will do my best to write correct English.

This year i am planning to start with expanding my xmas lights from only fairy strings to
controllable ledstrings.
Im planning to start with 4 arches.
I want to control them with an E682 which i already have in my posession.
Vixen3 sequence will be put on the Pi3B which will be connected to the E682 by ethernet cable.

I want to connect to the Pi3B by wifi. but i cant get that to work.
Wired no issues. I just cant get the wifi running.

I have followed the install instructions on here. And all is correctly done.
Running FPP 1.9.

I have tried different things, also have had alot of help from someone else who has been there.... :)

Tried to change the settings in the Network on the FPP gui.
eth0 and wlan0 both.
When i boot the Pi3B it only read out 1 ip adress.
And when i config into Pi3B through wpa_supplicant changes it wont do shit... :(
iwconfig wont show ipadress neither.

The only thing i can think of is that maybe the router is too far away?
Its 10ft, and 1 wall.

Open for ideas.
Would like the HELP.

Regards.

Albert Markerink
Netherlands.

Offline Emuney18

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Nov 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 212
  • Kudos: 2
Re: Wifi issues on Pi3B
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2017, 05:26:36 PM »
Hello everyone.

I will do my best to write correct English.

This year i am planning to start with expanding my xmas lights from only fairy strings to
controllable ledstrings.
Im planning to start with 4 arches.
I want to control them with an E682 which i already have in my posession.
Vixen3 sequence will be put on the Pi3B which will be connected to the E682 by ethernet cable.

I want to connect to the Pi3B by wifi. but i cant get that to work.
Wired no issues. I just cant get the wifi running.

I have followed the install instructions on here. And all is correctly done.
Running FPP 1.9.

I have tried different things, also have had alot of help from someone else who has been there.... :)

Tried to change the settings in the Network on the FPP gui.
eth0 and wlan0 both.
When i boot the Pi3B it only read out 1 ip adress.
And when i config into Pi3B through wpa_supplicant changes it wont do shit... :(
iwconfig wont show ipadress neither.

The only thing i can think of is that maybe the router is too far away?
Its 10ft, and 1 wall.

Open for ideas.
Would like the HELP.

Regards.

Albert Markerink
Netherlands.
Can you post a screenshot of your pi network page. I know very little about networking but I suspect you have both Ethernet and wifi on the same subnet which will always default to the Ethernet if both connected.  Try this. Plug your Ethernet in and change the ip to dhcp and save. Then set the wifi to a specific IP address that fits the subnet of your router.  Does that fix your wifi problem? 


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline Sammy2004

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 5
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Wifi issues on Pi3B
« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2017, 06:16:42 PM »
Can you post a screenshot of your pi network page. I know very little about networking but I suspect you have both Ethernet and wifi on the same subnet which will always default to the Ethernet if both connected.  Try this. Plug your Ethernet in and change the ip to dhcp and save. Then set the wifi to a specific IP address that fits the subnet of your router.  Does that fix your wifi problem? 
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Ok. So plug in ethernet and go to fpp page. Dhcp the eth0. Save.
Set WiFi as static. And give it an ipadress?

Will give it a go asap.
Just can't do it now. House is asleep here at 2.15am :)

Offline Sammy2004

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 5
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Wifi issues on Pi3B
« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2017, 08:18:47 AM »
tried to follow your advise...
but didnt do anything :(


sadly..


if all fails.. could i get a network switch ?
have 1 input which is connected to router, and 1 output to the e682, and the other output to the pi?
« Last Edit: April 11, 2017, 12:01:35 PM by Sammy2004 »

Offline ThreeSizes

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Location: Fulton, MD
  • Posts: 532
  • Kudos: 30
Re: Wifi issues on Pi3B
« Reply #4 on: April 11, 2017, 12:13:31 PM »
1) Did you configure the External Storage Device in the FPP? If you didn't do this it will not save your network settings.

2) What is the IP address of your E682? And what IP address are you setting for the FPP eth0? This need to be on the same subnet and on a different subnet from your home network.

3) What is the IP address of your home network? And what are you setting FPP wlan0 to or are you using DHCP?

4) Are there any special characters in your WiFi SSID or Passphrase (password)? The FPP will not properly save the settings if their are certain special characters.






"And what happened then? Well, in Whoville they say that the Grinch's small heart grew three sizes that day."

Offline Sammy2004

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 5
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Wifi issues on Pi3B
« Reply #5 on: April 12, 2017, 03:29:33 AM »
1) Did you configure the External Storage Device in the FPP? If you didn't do this it will not save your network settings.

2) What is the IP address of your E682? And what IP address are you setting for the FPP eth0? This need to be on the same subnet and on a different subnet from your home network.

3) What is the IP address of your home network? And what are you setting FPP wlan0 to or are you using DHCP?

4) Are there any special characters in your WiFi SSID or Passphrase (password)? The FPP will not properly save the settings if their are certain special characters.

1: how to configure?  I just followed the installation steps on this forum..

2: the e682 is not connected yet.
With subnet u mean the 3Rd octet yes?

3: 192.168.2.254 is gateway
192.168.2.24 is eth0
Wlan0 don't know. I don't see the ipadress anywhere.
Trying to use dhcp.

4: I had a space in the ssid.
So I made a second network without a space. But that didn't change anything. Besides that it's all normal.

When wired it works great. Just can't get the WiFi to work.
Should I set eth0 to a static IP? So I can change the subnet there? Or should I leave the eth0 as it is on dhcp now. And change the 3Rd octet when I'm configuring the e682?

Offline ThreeSizes

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Location: Fulton, MD
  • Posts: 532
  • Kudos: 30
Re: Wifi issues on Pi3B
« Reply #6 on: April 12, 2017, 05:32:56 AM »
1) Did you configure the External Storage Device in the FPP? If you didn't do this it will not save your network settings.

2) What is the IP address of your E682? And what IP address are you setting for the FPP eth0? This need to be on the same subnet and on a different subnet from your home network.

3) What is the IP address of your home network? And what are you setting FPP wlan0 to or are you using DHCP?

4) Are there any special characters in your WiFi SSID or Passphrase (password)? The FPP will not properly save the settings if their are certain special characters.

1: how to configure?  I just followed the installation steps on this forum..

2: the e682 is not connected yet.
With subnet u mean the 3Rd octet yes?

3: 192.168.2.254 is gateway
192.168.2.24 is eth0
Wlan0 don't know. I don't see the ipadress anywhere.
Trying to use dhcp.

4: I had a space in the ssid.
So I made a second network without a space. But that didn't change anything. Besides that it's all normal.

When wired it works great. Just can't get the WiFi to work.
Should I set eth0 to a static IP? So I can change the subnet there? Or should I leave the eth0 as it is on dhcp now. And change the 3Rd octet when I'm configuring the e682?

With the ethernet connected to the Pi and both ETH0 and WLAN0 configured, please post the output of the Troubleshooting Commands from the FPP Help Menu. I would want to see the output of the ifconfig and iwconfig sections.


Offline Sammy2004

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 5
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Wifi issues on Pi3B
« Reply #7 on: April 12, 2017, 11:37:41 AM »
For now I have done it different.
I attached an 8 port network switch.
So port 1 gets fed by the router.
Port 2 goes into the pi.
Port 3 goes into the e682.

Guess now there won't be any need for wifi.
The positioning of the pi and the future position of the e682 can be realised real easy like this.
Just stupid I couldn't get the WiFi to work.
But hey. If it ain't broken.... Don't try to fix it.

Offline ThreeSizes

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Location: Fulton, MD
  • Posts: 532
  • Kudos: 30
Re: Wifi issues on Pi3B
« Reply #8 on: April 14, 2017, 02:54:12 PM »
Sammy-

You might want to take a look at this thread: http://falconchristmas.com/forum/index.php/topic,7211.msg69660.html#msg69660. In the end we determined it was a compatibility problem with the router from KPM and the older Raspbian image used by FPP. This might be the same exact problem you experienced.


 

Back to top