Author Topic: Powering whole show  (Read 276 times)

Offline Akareaper

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 27
  • Kudos: 0
Powering whole show
« on: April 17, 2017, 08:44:12 PM »
Since I'm waiting on my F16v3 and expansion boards, I thought of a question. I understand I have to power those boards, but I'm curious to one thing. Is it ok to power all three from one PSU, and ONLY the boards, then use these to power inject all of the strings, using the boards ports only for data?

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 3,371
  • Kudos: 68
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Powering whole show
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2017, 05:13:13 AM »
Several people do exactly that.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk


Offline jeremy0203

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 15
  • Kudos: -2
Re: Powering whole show
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2017, 08:26:36 AM »
Better have a pretty big power supply

Offline Akareaper

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 27
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Powering whole show
« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2017, 08:57:17 AM »
Better have a pretty big power supply

No, 1 PSU for the F16v3 and two expansion boards, then each  F8 distro will have its own PSU, and these will be spread out throughout the props.  I want to run power from the F8's to my props, and skip having to run any power to anything from the main boards. I'm aiming for plug n play, so if any single prop goes bad, I can easily replace without worrying about undoing anything from any of the other props. I know its overkill, but peace of mind.

 

Back to top