Author Topic: Test updated Pi SD image w/ FPP v1.9 and support for Pi Zero W wireless.  (Read 2669 times)

Offline CaptainMurdoch

• Administrator
  • Kudos: 148
I have created a new SD image for the Pi which contains FPP v1.9 along with the newer kernel and firmware needed to support the Pi Zero W wireless.  If anyone has time to do some testing of this, it is located at http://fpp.bc2va.org/images/FPP-v1.9-Pi-beta.zip

I have only tested this on a Zero W so far, but it should be fine on all other Pi models as well.  If all seems well, in a week or so, I will upload it to the release directory on github and update the FPP install instructions to point to the newer image.
-
Chris

Offline jtrpop

• Kudos: 0
  • Jason Rasmussen
It's my first year RGB, but I plan on running a mini-mega-tree at work without sound with a Pi Zero W & Pi Cap. I don't have my pixels yet though. Does it need an external USB drive to run the 'show' off of like normal FPP?

Thanks

Offline CaptainMurdoch

• Administrator
It's my first year RGB, but I plan on running a mini-mega-tree at work without sound with a Pi Zero W & Pi Cap. I don't have my pixels yet though. Does it need an external USB drive to run the 'show' off of like normal FPP?

FPP has supported the Zero for a while, this new SD image adds in a new kernel to support the wireless on the Zero W.  The same config requirements apply for this as to previous SD images.  You can use USB or SD for storage, although I recommend USB.  On the Zero though, it can make sense to use SD for storage.  I have an Infinity Mirror running FPP in my office that was built using an original Zero w/ USB Wireless dongle and sequences stored on the SD card.

Offline arw01

• Kudos: 0
Cap'n is the read only supported in the version 1.9 branch or more of a get all the way up and then run a script?

Have a couple of the zero laying around.

Offline CaptainMurdoch

• Administrator