Author Topic: Pasting huge files (from xLights/Nutcracker) into LOR S3 Advanced  (Read 3548 times)

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 4,558
  • Kudos: 103
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Ran across this thread in the LOR forums.
Several people have complained about crashes and save times when their channel counts are very high and they are copy/pasting into LOR.

So, then I read this thread:  http://forums.lightorama.com/index.php?/topic/28077-20000-plus-channelsi-need-help/

If you don't have an LOR id and it won't let you read it, it basically advocates 2 things.

First, since LOR S3 is still 32bit, it can't address more than 2GB of memory to help with big files.
This file:  http://ntcore.com/4gb_patch.php  is supposed to fix that.

Quote
First thing to do is patch your LORSequenceEditor.exe file with the 4 gig patch
 
http://ntcore.com/4gb_patch.php
 
This patch has been a life saver.

Second, you need to disable the "UNDO" feature so that it doesn't try to keep the old file and the new file in memory at the same time.

I have applied the patch to the Sequencer.exe file and it still works without problem.
I'll be trying to paste in HUGE files tomorrow to see the difference. It has been really really slow before.

If anyone here has already done this (good or bad), let me know. I may just be slow to this news.

JonB

Offline dpavisic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 13
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Pasting huge files (from xLights/Nutcracker) into LOR S3 Advanced
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2013, 03:50:24 AM »
Thanks for the tip


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

Offline taybrynn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Castle Rock, CO
  • Posts: 358
  • Kudos: 8
    • RockinChristmas Facebook Page
Re: Pasting huge files (from xLights/Nutcracker) into LOR S3 Advanced
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2013, 08:45:42 AM »
Thanks, patch applied.   :D

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 4,558
  • Kudos: 103
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Pasting huge files (from xLights/Nutcracker) into LOR S3 Advanced
« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2013, 11:44:04 AM »
Every time the EXE file gets updated, you will need to re-run the patch.

sent from my Galaxy Note


Offline taybrynn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Castle Rock, CO
  • Posts: 358
  • Kudos: 8
    • RockinChristmas Facebook Page
Re: Pasting huge files (from xLights/Nutcracker) into LOR S3 Advanced
« Reply #4 on: October 21, 2013, 04:33:00 PM »
So besides this and turning UNDO off ... are there any other ways to speed up LOR for high channel counts?

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 4,558
  • Kudos: 103
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Pasting huge files (from xLights/Nutcracker) into LOR S3 Advanced
« Reply #5 on: October 21, 2013, 07:37:39 PM »
Perhaps tweak the code to use the processor and memory on my video card.

It did wonders for several Adobe  Creative Suite programs (like Premiere Pro).

Offline danj

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 297
  • Kudos: 1
Re: Pasting huge files (from xLights/Nutcracker) into LOR S3 Advanced
« Reply #6 on: October 21, 2013, 08:53:25 PM »
I am not seeing sequencer.exe file (?).  I have LOR S3 and I am seeing sequenceeditor application file.  Is this the correct file to which this patch should be applied?
Thanks!!!!

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 4,558
  • Kudos: 103
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Pasting huge files (from xLights/Nutcracker) into LOR S3 Advanced
« Reply #7 on: October 21, 2013, 09:24:33 PM »
Sorry - shortened it a bit.

c:\program files (x86\light-o-rama\LORSequenceEditor.exe


 

Back to top