Author Topic: F4v3 vs F16v3 - Difference question  (Read 325 times)

Offline bhensley

• Kudos: 1
    • Brian's Tutorials >>
F4v3 vs F16v3 - Difference question
« on: September 25, 2017, 12:39:47 PM »
Newbie here. Looking to buy my first pixel controller and want to start small with the hopes of expanding in the future. Thinking gutters / garage this year. Had some initial questions to help my buying decisions.

Outside of number of ports and the number of strings I can drive, is there any other main differences between the two boards? Especially if I only need 4 ports today.

Second question, If I want to add a mega tree next year, i'll need to drive more pixels / ports and I don't think the expansion boards can get me there (correct me if i'm wrong) to provide enough. How does one get two falcon controllers with more ports to talk, do both connect to a Raspberry Pi (brain) and on a network I can get a F16v3 next year and a F4v3 both communicating easily?

Appreciate the guidance.

Cheers,
Brian

Cheers,
Brian

Tektronix oscilloscope AE, blogger and wow i'm really liking my falcon F16v3, xlights and the world of smart pixels. :D :D  My Blog/Tutorials >> www.brianhensley.net

Offline rstehle

• Kudos: -1
Re: F4v3 vs F16v3 - Difference question
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2017, 12:58:22 PM »
Yes, you can use the Raspberry Pi's to communicate with your controllers.  Also, the F16v3 has a network switch built in so you can daisy chain controllers off of it.

Offline jnealand

• Developer
  • Kudos: 42
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2017, 01:07:07 PM »
I have a Pi3 with every F16v2 & 3 (4) that I own.  However the F16v3 will shortly (I hope) have the ability to be a slave to an FPP master.  The hardware is there, but no firmware yet.  For the difference in dollars I would go with the F16v3.  I do not know of anyone who regrets that decision.
Jim Nealand
Kennesaw, GA
Lynx, Falcon, XL, FPP

Offline bhensley

• Brian's Tutorials >>