Author Topic: Help getting started with pixels and E1.31  (Read 212 times)

Offline frankv

• Kudos: 0
Help getting started with pixels and E1.31
« on: October 24, 2017, 08:08:17 PM »
Hi,
I've been running Xmas lights for several years, starting with a Renard 24-ch controller, and adding in some Wifi-controlled dumb LED strips via my own software. This year, I'm going to the next level with pixels, controlled via my variant of ESPixelSticks.

I have my first 300-pixel strip lighting up, controlled from my phone via the ESPixelStick's "Testing" web page. So far so good. Next step is to get FPP to talk to it. I have FPP running on a RPi, connected via Ethernet to my network router, which talks WiFi to the ESPixelSticks. But I'm unclear about how to proceed from here. As with all data comms, it's also a bit difficult to tell whether the problem is at one end or the other, or between my ears!

My understanding is that I go into FPP, and in the Input/Output Setup, tell it that the E1.31 interface is "eth0", and set up a universe. (I'm a bit unclear on what a "universe" is; I think that in my world it's all the pixels attached to one ESPixelStick). So I would set up Universe #1 to start at FPP Channel 1 and be size 300. After a bit of reading, I think I want it to be "Unicast", and I need to give it the IP address of my ESPixelstick. (Can I give it a DNS name instead? Or do I have to give fixed IPs to all my ESPixelSticks?)

I guess I also need to set the same things up on each ESPixelStick, so each would have the right Universe number and have channels 1-300?

From there, I should be able to go to FPP's "Display Testing"/"Channel Testing" p[/img]age, and run tests on the pixel strip?

And then, I use xlights/nutcracker to create sequences which turn on FPP channels. Lot's more learning for me here too, I think.