Author Topic: Which files get uploaded where?  (Read 127 times)

Offline pmiller

• Kudos: 0
Which files get uploaded where?
« on: November 12, 2017, 11:31:44 AM »
This is my first year using a Pi3 remote. I have yet to test but I'm planning on everything to be up and running a week before thanksgiving. That gives me time to resolve any issues that might arise.
I have a Pi2 which will be my show Pi. The Pi3 will run a P10. When I upload the fseq files, do I upload only to the Pi2 or all files to both Pi's?
If I have this correct, when setting up channel outputs, I only enter on the Pi2 the universes and channels it will be using and enter on the Pi3 the channels and universes it will be playing.

Sent from my SM-T710 using Tapatalk

Offline jnealand

• Developer
  • Kudos: 41
Re: Which files get uploaded where?
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2017, 06:39:42 PM »
All Pis - master and remote get the all fseqs, although you don't have to do that, but if you put them on the master and tell the master to sync the remotes that is what will happen anyway.  Music only goes on the master which is where you connect the FM transmitter.  I just configure all my Pi's master and remote to see all universes.  Just one less thing to manage.  I name all my remotes something easy to remember like megatree, minis, arches, master, matrix, P10, etc.  Do not use any spaces or special characters in the names.  As your show grows keep a spreadsheet to keep track of controller and Pi info.  I have 12 Pis and 2 BBBs, it is easy to forget which is configured for what.  I have labels on all my Pis and controllers for their dns name.  I also put tiny little labels on each uSD and the USB drive to remind me which Pi they are configured for.  Started that after I had multiple laying on a table and realized I had forgot which one went with which Pi.  The things you learn.