Author Topic: WS2811 Flex Strip turn on when power applied  (Read 93 times)

Offline TexasStingray

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Mar 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 83
  • Kudos: 0
WS2811 Flex Strip turn on when power applied
« on: December 05, 2017, 08:58:46 PM »
I just received my order of some WS2811 Flex Strips. When I first apply power to them they turn on when no signal is sent. If I send the off signal they turn off. I'm using SSC Mod 3's and V4's both with the same results. Is I apply power to them without a controller they also turn on
 The first set I ordered from Holiday Coro these new sets I ordered from a supplier on aliexpress. Any help would be great.
« Last Edit: December 06, 2017, 07:37:38 AM by TexasStingray »

Offline TexasStingray

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Mar 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 83
  • Kudos: 0
Re: WS2811 Flex Strip turn on when power applied
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2017, 06:48:24 AM »
The IC's on them says SM16703 is that a WS2811 chip?
« Last Edit: December 06, 2017, 07:35:43 AM by TexasStingray »

Offline zwiller

  • Falcon Beta Team
  • **
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Sandusky, OH
  • Posts: 938
  • Kudos: 12
Re: WS2811 Flex Strip turn on when power applied
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2017, 10:27:48 AM »
I think these might be a different speed and not run on DLA.  IIRC Falcon v2 and v3 gear should not sure v1.  I think China is at fault but...     
http://falconchristmas.com/forum/index.php?topic=5336.0
http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/showthread.php?44207-WS2811-LED-Strip-issue

I think I have some extra "true/vintage"  ;D 2811 strips if you need them.  I think 2-3.
Sam

Last year's video: https://vimeo.com/150560653

Offline TexasStingray

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Mar 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 83
  • Kudos: 0
Re: WS2811 Flex Strip turn on when power applied
« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2017, 12:02:57 PM »
Thanks for the reply, I did read those posts. I have contacted the vendor and am waiting for a reply. I have the Falcon Firmware on the controllers, they seem to work ok but the issues come into play that when these receive power they are on (all white) until they receive a signal to do something else. I was reading the datasheet of the SM16703 and found this "Power-On Self-Test POST, white color is on". I guess that is why they are all white on power up. That is not the standard with WS2811. Sad thing about this is that I had them shipped DHL for an extra $20 bucks.

Offline zwiller

  • Falcon Beta Team
  • **
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Sandusky, OH
  • Posts: 938
  • Kudos: 12
Re: WS2811 Flex Strip turn on when power applied
« Reply #4 on: December 07, 2017, 08:48:19 AM »
Responded to PM but the POST doesn't sound too bad, after all, they remained powered constantly unlike incans.  Maybe you power down each night but I leave my stuff on constantly.  Now if they turn white unless data is being sent, that is another beast... 

Offline TexasStingray

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Mar 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 83
  • Kudos: 0
Re: WS2811 Flex Strip turn on when power applied
« Reply #5 on: December 08, 2017, 07:50:51 PM »
I also noticed that they appear to miss/skip some of the signal being sent. I have a chase (Bar) sequence that has highlight on the front and I see about 8 the. It misses like 36 then I see the 8 repeat again. That is looking that the last node on a 50 node flex line.

 

Back to top