Author Topic: Can I run 2 rPi-28D together?  (Read 377 times)

Offline cjurczak

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2018
  • Location:
  • Posts: 2
  • Kudos: 0
Can I run 2 rPi-28D together?
« on: January 25, 2018, 07:23:32 AM »
A quick thank you to the forum where I have been lurking for a while.  I searched for info on the rPi-28D, but didn't find much, so I figured I'll tap into the knowledge base of the membership!

I want to create a small stand alone setup for someone who is less than tech-savvy.  I think the rPi-28D is a perfect match for this project, since budget is a concern, and I'm already familiar with FPP.  But I will need two controllers to work together.  I understand using a Pi/FPP and connecting it to stand alone controller via ethernet, but can I connect two FPP w/rPi-28Ds together?  Thanks in advance, and thanks for the great community for the hobby!

Offline mararunr

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 535
  • Kudos: 12
    • Bentonville Heart Lites
Re: Can I run 2 rPi-28D together?
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2018, 09:06:50 AM »
Yes.  Do research on multi-sync.  Make one Pi the master and the other the remote and they will work in harmony.  (To the US readers a rPi-28D is a pixel hat for the Pi from Hanson Electronics in Australia)
Bentonville Heart Lites (www.facebook.com/bheartlites)
 This is just my opinion/suggestion/viewpoint.  Others with other viewpoints/experiences may have different advice.  I am a hobbyist with a couple years real world experience, not an expert.

Offline cjurczak

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2018
  • Location:
  • Posts: 2
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Can I run 2 rPi-28D together?
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2018, 12:32:49 PM »
Is this functionality new? I don't recall seeing this in my config page, but I will double check...

Thanks for the quick help!

Offline twooly

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 1,064
  • Kudos: 12
Re: Can I run 2 rPi-28D together?
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2018, 01:43:58 PM »
Nope its been around for a few years, its the Master/Remote setup.  Master controls the remotes, multisync shows you players out there and the state they are in  (master/remote/player/bridge)

 

Back to top