ESpixelStick

Author Topic: ESpixelStick  (Read 562 times)

Offline trkeenan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Feb 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 58
  • Kudos: 0
ESpixelStick
« on: January 25, 2018, 07:18:24 PM »
I purchased the ESpixelStick.  Set up and testing went perfectly as described in the manual. I could access the web the device via the IP address. I can control and communicate via the IP address perfectly. When remove power I can no longer communicate with the unit. Is there something I missed?
[/size]Thanks
Tim
[/color]

Offline k6ccc

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Location: Glendora, Calif, U.S.A. (near Los Angeles)
  • Posts: 266
  • Kudos: 2
    • Newburgh Lights
Re: ESpixelStick
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2018, 08:22:11 AM »
What do you expect it to do when it has no power?

Jim

Offline trkeenan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Feb 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 58
  • Kudos: 0
Re: ESpixelStick
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2018, 06:49:14 PM »
Maybe I should say when I removed the power and power it back up I no longer can log in.


Something in my settings are not holding with the power be recycled.


Thanks
Tim

Offline k6ccc

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Location: Glendora, Calif, U.S.A. (near Los Angeles)
  • Posts: 266
  • Kudos: 2
    • Newburgh Lights
Re: ESpixelStick
« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2018, 08:22:04 PM »
Maybe I should say when I removed the power and power it back up I no longer can log in.


Something in my settings are not holding with the power be recycled.

That would change the situation somewhat  ;D
Sorry, can't help you.

Offline CaptainMurdoch

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Washington
  • Posts: 9,020
  • Kudos: 178
ESpixelStick
« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2018, 08:56:21 PM »
Did you purchase the ESP-01 with the ESPixelStick or separately?  There have been some issues with bad Payu memory chips on some of the ESP-01 modules from eBay or other sources.  Some people who thought they would save a buck or two by not buying the ESP-01 from Sporadic are now having some issues.
-
Chris

Offline trkeenan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Feb 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 58
  • Kudos: 0
Re: ESpixelStick
« Reply #5 on: January 27, 2018, 06:08:34 AM »
I purchased them from Amazon.


 I have just figured out that with the DHCP checked it boots up with a different IP address each time.  So I figured out what was wrong.  Know my new issue is when I try to set up for a static IP address the unit will not save the setting and then neither DHCP or static works.  I then have to reset the stick and reload the program.


Thanks for any help.


Tim

Offline k6ccc

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Location: Glendora, Calif, U.S.A. (near Los Angeles)
  • Posts: 266
  • Kudos: 2
    • Newburgh Lights
Re: ESpixelStick
« Reply #6 on: January 27, 2018, 08:13:00 AM »
Go into your DHCP server (generally your router) and give the MAC for the ESpxelStick a DHCP reservation.  That way every time the thing boots and requests a DHCP address, it will always get the same one.



Sent from a $&@#% iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline trkeenan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Feb 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 58
  • Kudos: 0
Re: ESpixelStick
« Reply #7 on: February 10, 2018, 08:00:04 AM »
Go into your DHCP server (generally your router) and give the MAC for the ESpxelStick a DHCP reservation.  That way every time the thing boots and requests a DHCP address, it will always get the same one.



Sent from a $&@#% iPhone using Tapatalk


Ok did that and solved my problem.


Thanks very much
Tim

Offline k6ccc

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Location: Glendora, Calif, U.S.A. (near Los Angeles)
  • Posts: 266
  • Kudos: 2
    • Newburgh Lights
Re: ESpixelStick
« Reply #8 on: February 10, 2018, 09:13:36 PM »
Glad I was able to help.

 

Back to top