Author Topic: Newbie needs help - first 50 leds only working  (Read 284 times)

Offline Mxhatch

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2018
  • Location: Chicago
  • Posts: 20
  • Kudos: 0
Newbie needs help - first 50 leds only working
« on: February 11, 2018, 07:05:43 PM »
OK, links were not helpful, went back through a youtube video and am talking to the Falcon board through the Pi3 WIFI.  Screenshots of the network settings included.  I can see the board, set a test pattern and see the data coming into the falcon board.  Still limited to 50 lights, and did no see anything in Section 4.2 that would help explain that.  Is this a network issue (used the link for those settings it dropped the Pi off) Followed this video and I can see the Pi WIFO and the Falcon board again.   https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YvJzQMH5DCM


IP is 192.168.1.1
[size=78%]wlan0 is 192.168.1.15[/size]
eth0 is  192.168.2.16


I can see the board, packets coming through, reset time and date on the falcon board , test mode via web interface, universes etc. 




Where is the setting to get past 50 LEDs?  Or is the IP setting holding me up?


[/size][size=78%]Close to a quitting point due to time spent getting past this problem.  [/size]
 [/size]

Offline Emuney18

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2015
  • Location: Apex, NC
  • Posts: 352
  • Kudos: 3
Re: Newbie needs help - first 50 leds only working
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2018, 07:26:24 PM »
Do you see the controller page?  Not FPP but the actual controller.  The controller is accessible by putting the ip the controller is set to into a browser.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline Emuney18

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2015
  • Location: Apex, NC
  • Posts: 352
  • Kudos: 3
Re: Newbie needs help - first 50 leds only working
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2018, 07:29:10 PM »
Your controller should be 192.158.2.###.  You do have the controller connected to the Pi Ethernet, right?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline Mxhatch

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2018
  • Location: Chicago
  • Posts: 20
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Newbie needs help - first 50 leds only working
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2018, 07:44:19 PM »
No, I can not get the Falcon board to come up typing the IP for Eth0.  I can see the Pi on Wlan0 (when I say see, I can run the FPP interface), seem to be able to control the board, but can not get the FPP to come up if I type the Eth0 IP in.  Is that the problem? 
« Last Edit: February 11, 2018, 08:04:58 PM by Mxhatch »

Offline Emuney18

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2015
  • Location: Apex, NC
  • Posts: 352
  • Kudos: 3
Re: Newbie needs help - first 50 leds only working
« Reply #4 on: February 11, 2018, 08:06:40 PM »
This makes sense.  You can control the board because the network is setup correct.  You do not need to type the eth0 into the browser, you need to type the controller IP.  What is your controller IP?  It should be 192.168.2.(anything but 16)


But first you need to set the routing.  Do this command below on a windows machine.


On windows machine:
right click on command prompt to run as administrator
route -p add 192.168.2.0 mask 255.255.255.0 192.168.1.15


If you get in you should see the beautiful Falcon in the middle of the top and it will start you on the status screen.  Sorry, I didn't have a good screen shot and my controllers are tucked away.  If you get here it is the String Ports page.

Offline Emuney18

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2015
  • Location: Apex, NC
  • Posts: 352
  • Kudos: 3
Re: Newbie needs help - first 50 leds only working
« Reply #5 on: February 11, 2018, 08:09:59 PM »
Also, leave the gateway blank for the eth0 port on the FPP setting of the PI

Offline Mxhatch

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2018
  • Location: Chicago
  • Posts: 20
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Newbie needs help - first 50 leds only working
« Reply #6 on: February 12, 2018, 05:55:27 PM »
Pi is 192.168.1.15
Flacon Board was 192.168.2.16 - yes I had the dreaded 16 in.  (curious why the number is not good to use)


I now have the Falcon Board to 192.168.2.150  -  need to set the routing on a mac
Pi is 192.168.1.15

You list windows as  route -p add 192.168.2.0 mask 255.255.255.0 192.168.1.15[/size][/font]

After a bit of research I get this for a Mac
sudo route add 192.168.2.150/24 192.168.1.15

My terminal returned this:
add net 192.168.2.150: gateway 192.168.1.15
Hatch:~ Marcus$

Ping get a hit with no packets lost. for 192.168.2.150

Trying a reboot.
« Last Edit: February 12, 2018, 06:03:58 PM by Mxhatch »

Offline Mxhatch

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2018
  • Location: Chicago
  • Posts: 20
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Newbie needs help - first 50 leds only working
« Reply #7 on: February 12, 2018, 06:11:57 PM »
Screenshot of the setup for universes

My E131 page looks different.   

Still can run 50 LEDs only

Screenshot shows UNICAST - which did not work.  Can control 50 Led in MULTICAST
« Last Edit: February 12, 2018, 06:19:10 PM by Mxhatch »

Online David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,773
  • Kudos: 64
Re: Newbie needs help - first 50 leds only working
« Reply #8 on: February 12, 2018, 06:15:33 PM »
Can you please post pics of Falcon controller's E131 and string port pages.
PixelController, LLC
PixelController.com

Offline Mxhatch

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2018
  • Location: Chicago
  • Posts: 20
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Newbie needs help - first 50 leds only working
« Reply #9 on: February 12, 2018, 06:20:02 PM »
E131 page

Offline Mxhatch

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2018
  • Location: Chicago
  • Posts: 20
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Newbie needs help - first 50 leds only working
« Reply #10 on: February 12, 2018, 06:21:49 PM »
I do not know where the string ports page is - or is it one and the same.

Online David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,773
  • Kudos: 64
Re: Newbie needs help - first 50 leds only working
« Reply #11 on: February 12, 2018, 06:26:58 PM »
I guess I am lost. Please tell us about what products you are using as well as your complete setup.

Offline Mxhatch

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2018
  • Location: Chicago
  • Posts: 20
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Newbie needs help - first 50 leds only working
« Reply #12 on: February 12, 2018, 06:45:52 PM »
I have a Pi3B, connected to wifi.  A falcon board F16V3 with two expansion boards connected on eth0.  Upgraded as prompted to Version .8 then 1.9.  What follows are shots of the web interface and discovered FPPs.


My screens look a bit different than what you sent.

Offline Mxhatch

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2018
  • Location: Chicago
  • Posts: 20
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Newbie needs help - first 50 leds only working
« Reply #13 on: February 12, 2018, 06:46:22 PM »
Ignore the second attachment.

I have WS2812B led strips, 60 leds per meter 5 meter strips.  5V

Also have WS1811 5 V.

Offline Mxhatch

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2018
  • Location: Chicago
  • Posts: 20
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Newbie needs help - first 50 leds only working
« Reply #14 on: February 12, 2018, 06:57:23 PM »
Looks like it has to FPPs listed.  Don't know it it is normal.


The Falcon board is 192.168.2.150, took the Gateway off of eth0.


Pi is 192.168.1.15. 


I can ping both IPs.


Board shows idle, if I run the test display in the web interface, it runs 50 leds, and shows the spinning bar like it is receiving data.


Network pages attached.  It appears tat I am talking to the falcon board.  I can set time, start the leds, change color.

 

Back to top