Author Topic: Power supply for F48?  (Read 1008 times)

Offline brichi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Dec 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 490
  • Kudos: 1
Power supply for F48?
« on: March 22, 2018, 09:19:10 PM »
So in preparation of my F48 possible shipping in a few weeks I was looking into what power supply to get, the site says 5v, 3A and the board looks like there are not screw terminals for a p/s but instead a run input concetor like a beagle bone has. So she we buy the same p/s like I have for my BBB? like this - https://www.amazon.com/Power-Adapter-2-5mm-Regulated-Supply/dp/B006QYRVU6

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,855
  • Kudos: 71
Re: Power supply for F48?
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2018, 09:34:44 PM »
There is screw terminal. But also a barrel connector. 2.1mm center pin 5V.
PixelController, LLC
PixelController.com

Offline brichi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Dec 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 490
  • Kudos: 1
Re: Power supply for F48?
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2018, 08:56:50 AM »
There is screw terminal. But also a barrel connector. 2.1mm center pin 5V.


Great, thank you David

Offline brett

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 6
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Power supply for F48?
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2018, 07:39:46 PM »
Everything I have been doing has been 12v.  Anyone have any recommendations on the 5v PS that they are using for the F48?

Offline brichi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Dec 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 490
  • Kudos: 1
Re: Power supply for F48?
« Reply #4 on: April 06, 2018, 07:47:16 PM »
Everything I have been doing has been 12v.  Anyone have any recommendations on the 5v PS that they are using for the F48?


I had a few extra of these (link below) around from P10 panels, ill most likely use this tomorrow when I build the F48 box -https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B017YEOAPA/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o07_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1


or you can just buy a 5v,3A plug with a 2.1mm end

Offline algerdes

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Location: Lebanon, Illinois
  • Posts: 742
  • Kudos: 10
Re: Power supply for F48?
« Reply #5 on: April 06, 2018, 08:36:53 PM »
David (if you have time to watch this thread),


The spec sheet shows 5V required, but it doesn't show anything as to amperage that is needed.  Also on the voltage, is there any variance allowed?  (4vdc to 6vdc, 4.5vdc to 5.5vdc, etc.?)
Can you give us an idea?
Sequencers: Vixen3 and xLights
Players: FPP and xSchedule Controllers:  Renards - SS24/SS16; E1.31 - San Devices E682 - Falcon F16, F4, F48 - J1Sys - DIYLEDExpress E1.31 Bridges.  Much more!

Offline brichi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Dec 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 490
  • Kudos: 1
Re: Power supply for F48?
« Reply #6 on: April 07, 2018, 08:00:37 AM »
David (if you have time to watch this thread),


The spec sheet shows 5V required, but it doesn't show anything as to amperage that is needed.  Also on the voltage, is there any variance allowed?  (4vdc to 6vdc, 4.5vdc to 5.5vdc, etc.?)
Can you give us an idea?


on the F48 page when you go the website it says

Board can be powered from 5V, 3 amp power supply.


Offline DrewDennis

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2018
  • Location:
  • Posts: 10
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Power supply for F48?
« Reply #7 on: June 24, 2018, 08:21:25 PM »
I got the one in the link below off amazon, plugs into the barrel connector and is working perfectly.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B073JBRTH2/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Offline algerdes

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Location: Lebanon, Illinois
  • Posts: 742
  • Kudos: 10
Re: Power supply for F48?
« Reply #8 on: June 25, 2018, 08:21:09 AM »
I want to get a couple, so  of course it is "unavailable" and "we don't know when or if it will be back in stock."


And yes, I'm Irish.

Offline brichi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Dec 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 490
  • Kudos: 1
Re: Power supply for F48?
« Reply #9 on: June 25, 2018, 08:49:10 AM »
i wound up installing this one that way i can attach a few more things to it if needed - https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01EYMG3YG/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o04_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Offline pixelpuppy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Location: Dallas, TX
  • Posts: 948
  • Kudos: 31
Re: Power supply for F48?
« Reply #10 on: June 25, 2018, 08:56:24 AM »
I want to get a couple, so  of course it is "unavailable" and "we don't know when or if it will be back in stock."


You don't have to get that exact one. There are lots of other suppliers on Amazon.  Here's another...
https://www.amazon.com/ALITOVE-100V-240V-Converter-5-5x2-1mm-Security/dp/B078RXZM4C/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1529938489&sr=8-3&keywords=5v+3a+power+supply+2.1mm
xLights and Vixen3 for sequencing / FPP for scheduling and playing / Falcon controllers for pixels / DIY controllers for everything else

Offline mklabunde

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 24
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Power supply for F48?
« Reply #11 on: September 14, 2018, 02:06:03 PM »
I use one of these and run the board off of my 12v power supply because I have some of the diff boards in the same enclosures as the controller
https://www.ebay.com/itm/12V-To-5V-3A-15W-DC-DC-Step-Down-Converter-DC-Power-Supply-Module-Waterproof/192540965753?hash=item2cd455fb79:g:J-QAAOSwjzJbKswk
12vdc in 5vdc out they work great and are rated upto 3 amps
Mark

 

Back to top