Author Topic: PI Channel Setup  (Read 322 times)

Offline trkeenan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Feb 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 58
  • Kudos: 0
PI Channel Setup
« on: June 20, 2018, 06:27:01 PM »
Anyone,


I am trying to set up my channel in the Falcon PI Player.  I must be doing something wrong as my channel test does not work.


Below is my Falcon PI output screen and an excel shot of how I am trying to do the configuration.


Any help would be greatly appreciated.


Thanks
Tim








Offline Sawdust

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2015
  • Location: Northern CA
  • Posts: 469
  • Kudos: 5
Re: PI Channel Setup
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2018, 06:30:15 PM »
start channels are off.  Example U2 is 58  (assuming)
You do not restart at each universe.

« Last Edit: June 21, 2018, 12:30:48 AM by Sawdust »

Offline AAH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Location: Australia
  • Posts: 591
  • Kudos: 18
  • Blinky blinky blinky
    • I love blinky lights
Re: PI Channel Setup
« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2018, 11:59:05 PM »
What sawdust said isn't correct. You can have the same IP for all the universes. If 1 pixel board or FPP is doing all these universes then it's fine.
The FPP start channels is where the problem is. You currently have them all at 1. They should be 1, 58, 142, 256 etc (start channel of previous line plus the number of assigned channels).
You can call me AAH, you can call me Al, or you can call me Alan.
http://www.hansonelectronics.com.au/wp-content/uploads/Catalogue.pdf Catalogue
http://www.hansonelectronics.com.au/

Offline Sawdust

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2015
  • Location: Northern CA
  • Posts: 469
  • Kudos: 5
Re: PI Channel Setup
« Reply #3 on: June 21, 2018, 10:56:14 AM »
If what I said isn't true, why are you repeating what I said?
And thanks for taking my Kudos - are you the person stripping Kudos from people on this forum?


Offline AAH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Location: Australia
  • Posts: 591
  • Kudos: 18
  • Blinky blinky blinky
    • I love blinky lights
Re: PI Channel Setup
« Reply #4 on: June 21, 2018, 04:31:06 PM »
If what I said isn't true, why are you repeating what I said?
And thanks for taking my Kudos - are you the person stripping Kudos from people on this forum?
What you said that wasn't true was that the different universes can't be on the same IP. Perhaps you noticed that when you edited the comment and removed that detail. I explained the requirement that allowed this to be true.I elaborated rather than repeated. There are 2 different start channels that are defined. I tried to make it clear that it is the FPP start channel where he made the mistake and not the universe start channel.
I have NEVER removed kudos from anyone and was unaware or even cared that it was possible.

Offline trkeenan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Feb 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 58
  • Kudos: 0
Re: PI Channel Setup
« Reply #5 on: June 21, 2018, 04:35:56 PM »
Perfect!  Thanks both of you for the help.


That solved my problem


Tim

Offline Sawdust

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2015
  • Location: Northern CA
  • Posts: 469
  • Kudos: 5
Re: PI Channel Setup
« Reply #6 on: June 21, 2018, 05:52:38 PM »
What sawdust said isn't correct. You can have the same IP for all the universes. If 1 pixel board or FPP is doing all these universes then it's fine.
The FPP start channels is where the problem is. You currently have them all at 1. They should be 1, 58, 142, 256 etc (start channel of previous line plus the number of assigned channels).

Maybe it just the rudeness you started your post.  It says everything I said was wrong.

Offline David_AVD

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Location: Victoria Point (QLD - Australia)
  • Posts: 60
  • Kudos: 1
    • da-Share
Re: PI Channel Setup
« Reply #7 on: June 21, 2018, 06:25:26 PM »
I think you're being a bit sensitive Sawdust.

Alan merely pointed out that your (pre-edit) information was not correct.
da-share.com - the home of da_Tester and other handy stuff

Offline Sawdust

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2015
  • Location: Northern CA
  • Posts: 469
  • Kudos: 5
Re: PI Channel Setup
« Reply #8 on: June 21, 2018, 09:58:33 PM »
I think you're being a bit sensitive Sawdust.

Alan merely pointed out that your (pre-edit) information was not correct.

No! it is dealing with rudiness.  The original unedited content of my post remain unchanged.  So his post was intended to discredit my answer to give him full credit.

I do agree, there was a line pasted (4 lines below my post) that got posted in error from a previous email....about  IP addresses.  A proper person would stated he didnt agree, then stated his thoughts, not discredit my whole post by saying I was incorrect

And thanks for the negative kudos....maybe you can have the rest of your Aussie friends give me a negative Kudos too.  In now trying to build the biggest negitive number.
« Last Edit: June 21, 2018, 10:57:16 PM by Sawdust »

Offline David_AVD

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Location: Victoria Point (QLD - Australia)
  • Posts: 60
  • Kudos: 1
    • da-Share
Re: PI Channel Setup
« Reply #9 on: June 21, 2018, 11:25:29 PM »
Boy, you really have a bee in your bonnet.  I didn't give you give you kudos + or - so there you go.  Have a nice day.  :)

Offline MyKroFt

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: NC Montana
  • Posts: 1,405
  • Kudos: 57
Re: PI Channel Setup
« Reply #10 on: June 22, 2018, 07:40:47 AM »
ok, this is out of control and is now ended

 

Back to top