Author Topic: Power injection  (Read 240 times)

Offline Jojoed

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Mar 2018
  • Location:
  • Posts: 111
  • Kudos: 0
Power injection
« on: October 02, 2018, 02:17:53 PM »
Ive done a lot of research and Im still struggling with a power/data issue
My runs from my controller are fairy long 30/40 feet with power injection on the ends with no more then 150 pixels per string with and f-amp on my furthest one but I still get flickering

Do I need more power or should I consider shorter strings?

I have several Ts I was going to use for power injection but I cant seem to get them to work right for some reason?? I get power but no signal they are 3 pin in to 2 pin

Also Id really rather not cut these pixels to add power injection to my string as there pre wired with pigtales n Id hate to cut em up


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline Bos Lights

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2017
  • Location: Kamloops, BC
  • Posts: 15
  • Kudos: 0
    • BosLights - Light Shows
Re: Power injection
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2018, 05:08:26 PM »
Have you tried replacing the cable to the string that is flickering?

Offline Jojoed

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Mar 2018
  • Location:
  • Posts: 111
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Power injection
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2018, 05:46:12 PM »
I have tried other cables and other lights with the same results
Im thinking its and issue with the length of cable as there all new
I guess could be faulty idk thats why Im asking here haha


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline drm1963

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 38
  • Kudos: 4
Re: Power injection
« Reply #3 on: October 11, 2018, 05:00:27 PM »
I am sure ylou have tried this and I did not see where you mentioned if all of the strings/cables lengths were approximatlely the same distances!
If I have just one string that is acting up the first thing I will do is swap the connection with another working string nearest I can get to the controller and see if it follows the string or the controller port.
If the new string acts the same way there is possibly a port issue.

If it follows the string then go to a connecting point closest to that string and do the same swap with a working string to see if it again follows the string or now the connecting cable. If it is still following the string do the same thing with the Power Injection. Swap with a Known working unit.
That is the easiest way to narrow it doen to a final point of concern!!
Hopefully this will assist and not confuse you!


 

Back to top