Author Topic: Routing to E682 from RPi3  (Read 96 times)

Offline FM_5k

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 3
  • Kudos: 0
Routing to E682 from RPi3
« on: October 10, 2018, 06:57:28 PM »
OK..dead horse has been beat. So I'll ask the people who can possibly provide a new horse.


I had set up last year to run my Pi as a master and then a single E682 on the other end passing through a dumb switch. All worked well.


This year, I've done a complete overhaul of my network (added new router/switches/wifi APs) and am having some trouble routing through my Pi. Of all the threads I've read, I completely understand that the enable network routing on the FPP interface needs to be checked. Done.


My current Pi set up is:


ETH0 : 192.168.88.5
Netmask: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: Blank


WLAN0 : 10.10.0.60
Netmask: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: 10.10.0.1


DNS: 8.8.8.8, 8.8.4.4


Over WiFi, I can connect to the Pi and do everything I need to from my Mac. No go on the E682. If I hook my E682 to a port on ANY of my other switches, I can connect to it. I have added routes in my router to allow it to be hit from any place on my network -- and it will only do so when plugged in.


I know it has to be something simple to do with either routes or something that's not allowing the passthrough of the interfaces on the Pi. Also, I upgraded to v2.1 of FPP which I think I was using 1.7 or 1.8 last year.


Any suggestions?


I've also attached screen shots of my FPP setup as well as my E682 config.


Thanks in advance!

Online pixelpuppy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Location: Dallas, TX
  • Posts: 993
  • Kudos: 32
Re: Routing to E682 from RPi3
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2018, 07:20:30 PM »
I have added routes in my router to allow it to be hit from any place on my network


What did you set those routes to?   Can you post a screensot of your routers routing table?
xLights and Vixen3 for sequencing / FPP for scheduling and playing / Falcon controllers for pixels / homemade controllers for everything else

Offline FM_5k

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 3
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Routing to E682 from RPi3
« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2018, 08:01:34 PM »
pixelpuppy --


Attached is my router's routing table. Pretty simple I think. No VLANS -- just bridged interfaces out to devices that get DHCP from this router.

Online pixelpuppy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Location: Dallas, TX
  • Posts: 993
  • Kudos: 32
Re: Routing to E682 from RPi3
« Reply #3 on: October 11, 2018, 09:50:41 AM »
I don't recognize that screen, but I don't think its corrrect.   Your static route for 192.168.88.0 needs to point to the Pi's wlan address 10.10.0.60

Offline FM_5k

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 3
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Routing to E682 from RPi3
« Reply #4 on: October 11, 2018, 11:20:17 AM »
I don't recognize that screen, but I don't think its corrrect.   Your static route for 192.168.88.0 needs to point to the Pi's wlan address 10.10.0.60

Its from a Mikrotik RB3011.

When you say my 192.168.x.x route needs to point to my Pis WLAN address...wouldnt that be satisfied by the dynamic route of my home network (10.10.0.0) reachable by all devices on my network?

Also, I downgraded to v1.10 and voila! It works with the exact setup I have in the upper images. Not sure whats causing that issue but its definitely strange. May try reloading v2.1 and see if it fails again on another Pi.

Thanks for nudging the my thoughts!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline bpos

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 115
  • Kudos: 2
Re: Routing to E682 from RPi3
« Reply #5 on: October 12, 2018, 12:47:23 AM »
Is that the correct netmask for wlano? And you probably don't need to keep the gateway blank on etho since your on a completely different IP address than wlano?

 

Back to top