Falcon Christmas

Falcon Christmas => F8-Distro => Topic started by: David Pitts on June 01, 2016, 06:24:06 PM

Title: F8-Distro
Post by: David Pitts on June 01, 2016, 06:24:06 PM
I had an extra 30 minutes so I whipped up this board. Very similar to Andy's 6 port version as well as other Falcon expansion/controller power sections. It has eight ports with pluggable connectors. I plan to hold stock at PixelController.com. 
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: JonB256 on June 01, 2016, 06:44:37 PM
I do like the pluggable connectors. I have had to scrounge around for a screwdriver (sometimes hard to find a small one) just to disconnect a pair of wires.

And 8 matches up with the "groups of 8" that almost all pixel controllers seem to use. Good for power injection folks. (like Mark V)
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: Dinkyr on June 01, 2016, 06:46:48 PM
Hi David,


How soon will this be available? Any target price?
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: David Pitts on June 01, 2016, 06:50:01 PM
Within a few weeks. I am hoping to keep price low. I am getting quotes today should expect pricing in a day or two. We can still reduce the height by .1mm
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: Dinkyr on June 01, 2016, 07:06:44 PM
Hmmm. Might have to ask you to hold off on delivery of my orders again. This so I can decide whether to add these to my order.  :)
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: David Pitts on June 01, 2016, 07:10:31 PM
OK. I should get them at about same time or one week after differential boards.
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: Dinkyr on June 01, 2016, 07:19:37 PM
Great. I'll be waiting.
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: Skunberg on June 01, 2016, 07:24:27 PM
I'd be interested also. I hope the price is right.
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: needbrew on June 02, 2016, 04:16:08 AM
I would be interested as well. 
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: rlemery on June 02, 2016, 06:29:05 AM
I'm also interested.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: mararunr on June 02, 2016, 06:51:07 AM
Wow, 40 amp!  Nice.  Interested as well.
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: David Pitts on June 02, 2016, 07:31:43 AM
The main connector is rated at 30-32 amps so not 40 amps. But it is similar to F16V2 where each side of F16V2 has 8 connectors with 5amp fuses but each side is rated at 30 amps max.
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: Emuney18 on June 02, 2016, 09:22:21 AM
I could definitely use 2 as I had originally planned to use 4 of Andy's boards in pairs.  These would be a little cleaner like looking.
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: pixelpuppy on June 02, 2016, 04:51:14 PM
I'm in, but curious about something...
 
Something like this I would want to be as small as possible.  It appears from the picture that there is space between the pluggables that maybe could be reduced.  Is the size of the copper traces dictating the apparent wide spacing or could this be compacted a bit more?
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: David Pitts on June 02, 2016, 04:54:22 PM
I'm in, but curious about something...
 
Something like this I would want to be as small as possible.  It appears from the picture that there is space between the pluggables that could be reduced.  Is the size of the copper traces dictating the current spacing or could this be compacted a bit more?

It is 2.9" x 1.8. It is pretty small.
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: David Pitts on June 02, 2016, 05:11:50 PM
This version is 2.6 x 1.7 (66mm x 43mm). :) But the holes are not in the corners.
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: pixelpuppy on June 02, 2016, 06:47:52 PM
This version is 2.6 x 1.7 (66mm x 43mm). :) But the holes are not in the corners.
Awesome!  That's exactly what I was visualizing in my mind.  ;D
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: Aesl1982 on June 02, 2016, 07:45:10 PM
The first. Version with holes in corners seems would mount better and .3x.1 isn't much of a difference


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: David Pitts on June 02, 2016, 07:48:05 PM
The first. Version with holes in corners seems would mount better and .3x.1 isn't much of a difference


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I agree. The holes distances were also on 1/4" multiple.
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: pixelpuppy on June 02, 2016, 09:31:51 PM
As I said originally, I was just curious about the spacing. It looked bigger than necessary, but I'm fine with it either way.  It's not a big deal.  I'm just brainstorming out loud like I usually do  ::)


I primarily anticipate using these for p10 panels but I'm still waiting for my panel kits to arrive.  Also waiting to see what Boscoyo comes up with for enclosure and mounting things inside it.
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: David Pitts on June 03, 2016, 06:08:15 AM
Got pricing back. The price will be $15.00 a piece and i will have them in stock in 3 weeks. I will have them in the store later today to pre-order.
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: markrvp on June 03, 2016, 07:21:34 AM
Got pricing back. The price will be $15.00 a piece and i will have them in stock in 3 weeks. I will have them in the store later today to pre-order.


$15 is certainly a just and fair price.  To create an eight output power distribution block for my mega tree boxes I had to use a


1.) Fuse block: http://www.amazon.com/HELLA-H84960111-8-Way-Lateral-Single/dp/B000VU9D20/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1464959511&sr=8-3&keywords=fuse+block (http://www.amazon.com/HELLA-H84960111-8-Way-Lateral-Single/dp/B000VU9D20/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1464959511&sr=8-3&keywords=fuse+block)


2.) Screw terminal: h (http://www.amazon.com/TOOGOO-Position-Terminal-Covered-Barrier/dp/B005I03WOI?ie=UTF8&psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00)ttp://www.amazon.com/TOOGOO-Position-Terminal-Covered-Barrier/dp/B005I03WOI?ie=UTF8&psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00 (http://www.amazon.com/TOOGOO-Position-Terminal-Covered-Barrier/dp/B005I03WOI?ie=UTF8&psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00)


3.) Barrier strip: http://www.amazon.com/URBEST-Postions-Insulated-Terminal-Barrier/dp/B00NVG78ZK (http://www.amazon.com/URBEST-Postions-Insulated-Terminal-Barrier/dp/B00NVG78ZK?ie=UTF8&psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00)?ie=UTF8&psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00 (http://www.amazon.com/URBEST-Postions-Insulated-Terminal-Barrier/dp/B00NVG78ZK?ie=UTF8&psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00)


4.) Fuses


5.) Quick connects (for the spade plugs on the fuse block)


Total to build that out was right at $15 and took way longer than just screwing wires into a pre-built distribution block. 
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: David Pitts on June 03, 2016, 08:36:13 AM
OK. it is the store. I have them on order and will have them by the time I get back from CA.

http://pixelcontroller.com/store/index.php?id_product=46&controller=product (http://pixelcontroller.com/store/index.php?id_product=46&controller=product)
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: JonB256 on June 03, 2016, 10:59:10 AM
OK. it is the store. I have them on order and will have them by the time I get back from CA.

http://pixelcontroller.com/store/index.php?id_product=46&controller=product (http://pixelcontroller.com/store/index.php?id_product=46&controller=product)

Sure, but what COLOR will they be? 
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: David Pitts on June 03, 2016, 11:19:53 AM
Red

Sent from my LGLS990 using Tapatalk

Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: Setarcos on June 03, 2016, 12:02:09 PM
Jeesh, I go on vacation for a few days and David has been at it again ;) Glad I held off on building/buying a power distribution board. This one hits all my checkboxes.
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: Dinkyr on June 03, 2016, 06:59:16 PM
Hi David,

I have a couple of questions. I know that there is a safety factor built into these boards as to carrying capacity.  What is the maximum load it can carry per circuit and what could be the maximum main fuse limit? The reason I ask is because some people use converted server power supplies and some of those can go up to 62 amps and instead of using 2 regular power supplies, we can use just one for say a 16 strand (8 strings) x 50 pixel megatree injected every 100. What are your thoughts on this one? Thanks.
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: David Pitts on June 03, 2016, 07:21:07 PM
30 amp max. So 30 amp fuse

Sent from my LGLS990 using Tapatalk

Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: FrankP on July 11, 2016, 05:13:12 PM
Hi Dave,

Any updates on when the orders will be shipping?

Thanks!

Frank

Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: David Pitts on July 11, 2016, 05:26:10 PM
The boards will be here Wednesday. I will be at Expo so when I get back on Sunday I will ship them. I expect to have all boards shipped by Tuesday the 19th.
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: Setarcos on July 11, 2016, 05:43:39 PM
Thanks for the update, and enjoy the Expo :)

I'll be thinking of you guys as I sit in my department meetings this week :P
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: David Pitts on July 11, 2016, 05:44:53 PM
We can have Wednesday meeting live from Expo

Sent from my LGLS990 using Tapatalk

Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: Setarcos on July 11, 2016, 09:17:15 PM
Unfortunately I can't join the Zoom session this week. My department is headed out Wednesday afternoon to do a team building activity.

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: NkySpike65 on July 17, 2016, 05:29:44 AM
For the 8 output ports, what is the max size (gauge) of wire that will fit in them?

Thanks
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: David Pitts on July 17, 2016, 02:22:37 PM
18 fits for sure. Need to test bigger gauges. They are same connectors used on Falcon controllers.
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: Setarcos on July 18, 2016, 06:19:50 PM
Woot! I just received my tracking information.

Thanks again David!
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: RobertB on July 20, 2016, 04:39:36 AM
David ordered a couple of Distro boards the other day. What kind of shipping time could I expect?
Thanks
Robert
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: Setarcos on July 22, 2016, 03:45:48 PM
My order arrived yesterday, and the boards look great!

Thanks again David!
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: heathwithnoteeth on September 07, 2016, 07:09:23 PM
David,


Any info on the mounting hole layout for these?  Im designing up a drilling template... thanks


Also the differential expansion board and receivers, if you have it available.  cheers
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: heathwithnoteeth on September 10, 2016, 04:03:15 AM
not to worry... got out the old ruler and measured it :)
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: PeteyHall on September 15, 2016, 07:07:55 PM
Really really dumb question, what would be an application for these ports?  I'm trying to figure out where I could use these in a display...
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: JonB256 on September 15, 2016, 07:16:59 PM
Power injection to multiple spots. One power supply input. 8 fused power outs.

Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: Aesl1982 on September 15, 2016, 08:20:29 PM
Power injection to multiple spots. One power supply input. 8 fused power outs.
How far off that board is too much for effective power injection.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: PeteyHall on September 15, 2016, 08:28:19 PM
That was what I was wondering as well...
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: JonB256 on September 15, 2016, 08:42:07 PM
If you use heavier gauge wire, you can go a long ways. 14ga would let you go 15 to 20 ft. 12ga would go a lot farther.

I'm using 16ga (spt1) but more injection points because it keeps the current lower per wire.
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: markrvp on September 16, 2016, 07:39:24 AM
I'm not getting any voltage drop through 20' of 18 gauge wire.  I may be doing it wrong. 
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: JonB256 on September 16, 2016, 08:55:20 AM
I'm not getting any voltage drop through 20' of 18 gauge wire.  I may be doing it wrong.

The amount of voltage drop over that distance depends on the amount of current (amperage) going thru the wire.
No current means no voltage drop. If the Prop is at full power (white) and you still have no voltage drop, then that power injection may not have been needed.

Voltage drop is the difference between the voltage at the source and at the injection point when the Prop is lit.
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: bowhunter3125 on December 30, 2016, 11:17:48 PM
When can we expect these top be back in stock?
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: PeteyHall on December 31, 2016, 04:52:05 AM
When can we expect these top be back in stock?
I have 2 or 3 extra from this season never used.

Pm me if interested.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: JonB256 on December 31, 2016, 06:19:04 AM
After a flood light changeout a few days ago, I used my last two DC distribution boards (Dave's and Andy's).
I'll be watching the store during the off-season. More builds planned.
Title: F8-Distro
Post by: code on January 11, 2017, 12:03:02 PM
When can we expect these top be back in stock?
I have 2 or 3 extra from this season never used.

Pm me if interested.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Did u ever sell these? If not . I'm in the uk and interested. If so does anyone know when we can pre order these


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: PeteyHall on January 11, 2017, 03:42:46 PM
When can we expect these top be back in stock?
I have 2 or 3 extra from this season never used.

Pm me if interested.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Did u ever sell these? If not . I'm in the uk and interested. If so does anyone know when we can pre order these


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
No they're still out there if anyone wants to buy them.

Not sure how much it would cost to ship them to the U.K.  Pm me your info if you'd like me to get a quote.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: code on January 11, 2017, 11:32:45 PM
When can we expect these top be back in stock?
I have 2 or 3 extra from this season never used.

Pm me if interested.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Did u ever sell these? If not . I'm in the uk and interested. If so does anyone know when we can pre order these


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
No they're still out there if anyone wants to buy them.

Not sure how much it would cost to ship them to the U.K.  Pm me your info if you'd like me to get a quote.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Will pm you know


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: Dutchsanta on January 15, 2017, 02:43:13 PM
Just asked David today about re-stock because I wanted to get some back home with me to Europe in March.

Planning is early march.
I hope they will be in on time then.
Does anybody have some laying around for sale if not??
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: code on January 28, 2017, 03:15:03 PM
When can we expect these top be back in stock?
I have 2 or 3 extra from this season never used.

Pm me if interested.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Did u ever sell these? If not . I'm in the uk and interested. If so does anyone know when we can pre order these


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
No they're still out there if anyone wants to buy them.

Not sure how much it would cost to ship them to the U.K.  Pm me your info if you'd like me to get a quote.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
How did you get on. No rush just


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: kosmokramer on February 01, 2017, 06:51:47 AM
Just asked David today about re-stock because I wanted to get some back home with me to Europe in March.

Planning is early march.
I hope they will be in on time then.
Does anybody have some laying around for sale if not??


Two things


1) Are you saying boards will be available in March timeframe?
2) If anyone has any extras in the US before then I would be interested


Thanks!!!!!
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: Emuney18 on February 01, 2017, 07:49:42 PM
Just asked David today about re-stock because I wanted to get some back home with me to Europe in March.

Planning is early march.
I hope they will be in on time then.
Does anybody have some laying around for sale if not??
Did you find any?  I have 2 I'll sell you. 


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: whitebuck on February 02, 2017, 06:12:20 AM
If you use heavier gauge wire, you can go a long ways. 14ga would let you go 15 to 20 ft. 12ga would go a lot farther.

I'm using 16ga (spt1) but more injection points because it keeps the current lower per wire.


I have points where my runs are 30+ feet wit 14 gauge and 16 gauge wires.  16 gauge was the largest I could get coming out of my boards with all the wires going into the connection and no stragglers to blow fuses.  In some cases I found it more efficient to place the distribution box closer to the injection points and run 14 gauge from the power supply.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: Setarcos on February 02, 2017, 07:59:20 AM
If you use heavier gauge wire, you can go a long ways. 14ga would let you go 15 to 20 ft. 12ga would go a lot farther.

I'm using 16ga (spt1) but more injection points because it keeps the current lower per wire.


I have points where my runs are 30+ feet wit 14 gauge and 16 gauge wires.  16 gauge was the largest I could get coming out of my boards with all the wires going into the connection and no stragglers to blow fuses.  In some cases I found it more efficient to place the distribution box closer to the injection points and run 14 gauge from the power supply.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I use 14/2 low voltage landscape wire for power injection and it is able to fit into the screw terminals on the connectors just fine. The only issue I have run into is that the stiffness of the wire can make the connectors on the F8-Distro pop out if they do not have sufficient strain relief.
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: zwiller on February 02, 2017, 08:34:37 AM
Not to steal any thunder from the F8, but I was sent a Hanson Hexfuse from AUS and thing is massively overbuilt...  90A!  I am not really into power injection but if I was, I'd look at these.  http://www.hansonelectronics.com.au/product/hexfuse/ (http://www.hansonelectronics.com.au/product/hexfuse/)
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: nutz4lights on February 02, 2017, 06:06:58 PM
Regarding wire gauge, i used around 30 of these F8 Distros last year (i run 5v lights, so i have a good amount on injecting going on).  I have always (over four years now) just used Ray's pigtails for all signals and power injection. I think they're 18 AWG, at least notionally.  What is driving some of you to such heavy gauges? I have some power injection runs that are up to 50 feet  (only a couple) and have no issues with the Ray pigtails and Ray extension cords made from the same gauge wire.

Just curious

Louie

Sent from my SM-G928V using Tapatalk

Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: vipersinu2 on February 02, 2017, 08:02:09 PM
wow you running 5v 50' did you ever put a voltage meter at the end of run? what does your bright white look like?
I run my 5v on 12awg max 20'
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: nutz4lights on February 02, 2017, 08:12:49 PM
Come to think of it, the two 50' runs are on 12V now that I think about it, sorry for that.


I have plenty of other runs that combine a 10' 3-core extension cord from Ray and a 25' 3-core extension cord, so 35', using 18 AWG extension cords (again, I will stress that by no means am I guaranteeing that what is referred to from Ray as 18 AWG is actually 18 AWG, but it performs well).  I just did the voltage drop calculator, and, assuming 35' feet distance, 5V DC, 18AWG wire, injecting power to 50 pixels, running pure white (which from my direct measurements equates to around 1.9A), voltage drop at 35 feet is only 0.89 V which is nothing to write home about.  The reason I chose 50 pixels for my drop calculator is that, most of my display is setup as 100 pixels per output.  I typically connect power and data to pixel #1 directly out of the controller and then I connect power only to pixel #100 (or pixel #50 depending on the particular element).


-Louie
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: nutz4lights on February 06, 2017, 08:20:51 PM
I finally had a chance to look at these extension cords in a bit more detail.  They are labeled as 0.75mm^2 three-core 300V/500V power cabling.  I didn't actually count individual strands and mic out a strand like you are supposed to yet, but that wire gauge comes in between 18AWG to 20AWG.  I found the attached datasheet for wire of this type and it suggests power transmission of this wire up to a current of 6 amps and 26 ohm / kilometer nominal DC resistance.  If make the assumption that you are power injecting with 1 amp of current, that would be a voltage drop due to cabling of 0.26 V per kilometer, which is around 3300 feet, or around 0.01V per 100 feet of voltage drop.  Let me know if I am missing something.


I just ran a test on my 5V lights, 100 pixels ws2811, turned them to 100% on running white light and I am measuring a total current draw of 2.92 amps for those 100 pixels distributed between the power+data line and the power injection line.  The power injection line is carrying less of the overall load, only 0.92 amps, the remaining 2.00 amps is running from the controller to the first pixel.


Looks like I can inject power to multiple strings with one of these extension cords.


-Louie
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: goverland on February 17, 2017, 12:23:09 PM
Planning on at least two of these but wanted to know a source for the pluggable connectors?  Would this be the correct type?

https://www.amazon.com/PHOENIX-CONTACT-PLUGGABLE-TERMINAL-28-16AWG/dp/B00DHV0LTE

Thanks,
Greg
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: jnealand on February 17, 2017, 03:25:01 PM
I do not have any F8s but every other Falcon board that I have bought with pluggable connectors comes with the parts you need for the wires.  I would not be buying any unless you want to have extras on hand.
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: goverland on February 17, 2017, 06:28:38 PM
Good to know, thanks

Greg
Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: goverland on March 08, 2017, 10:42:34 AM
30 amp max. So 30 amp fuse

Sent from my LGLS990 using Tapatalk


As this is my first use of anything, I need to install a separate 30 amp fuse between the PS and the F8-Distro, correct?


Thanks,
Greg

Title: Re: F8-Distro
Post by: rlemery on March 08, 2017, 02:59:34 PM
If the Distro is in the same enclosure I do not fuse it. However if the Distro is in a remote location I will add a 30amp fuse to protect the line  since it's susceptible to damage.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk