Author Topic: F-amp voltage limits  (Read 359 times)

Offline thekev

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2018
  • Location:
  • Posts: 3
  • Kudos: 0
F-amp voltage limits
« on: December 16, 2018, 11:56:39 PM »
I am doing power distribution with 24V power supplies, then buck converting down to 5V at injection points. I have a handful of F-amps. What are the voltage limits for those? For example, the differential receiver is in a box with 24V PS, with a small buck converter to power it. If I place an F-amp 20 feet away, it would be tapping into 24V distribution power, not 5 or 12V. I dont drop down to 5V until Im right before a pixel. Theres no manual/data sheet/description for these on the store page.

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,297
  • Kudos: 126
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: F-amp voltage limits
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2018, 06:11:32 AM »
The PixelController store says "works with 5v and 12v"

I think you'll kill the F-amp pretty quickly. At $5 each, consider it an experiment and report back.

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,943
  • Kudos: 80
Re: F-amp voltage limits
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2018, 10:43:50 AM »
The limit is 12V.
PixelController, LLC
PixelController.com

Offline Bwinter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Jul 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 435
  • Kudos: 10
    • First Show 2016
Re: F-amp voltage limits
« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2018, 10:46:29 AM »
The PixelController store says "works with 5v and 12v"

I think you'll kill the F-amp pretty quickly. At $5 each, consider it an experiment and report back.


Other versions out there (line-buffer and uAmp, I believe) can go up to 24V.  I think there is currently a group-buy for the line-buffer.

Offline thekev

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2018
  • Location:
  • Posts: 3
  • Kudos: 0
Re: F-amp voltage limits
« Reply #4 on: December 17, 2018, 03:36:59 PM »
The PixelController store says "works with 5v and 12v"


Ha! So it does. I was looking too hard, down in the more info section.


Thanks for all the replies.

 

Back to top