Author Topic: Network Setup for Newbies  (Read 278 times)

Offline AgingBeaver

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2018
  • Location: Eugene, Oregon
  • Posts: 7
  • Kudos: 0
Network Setup for Newbies
« on: December 17, 2018, 09:21:20 AM »
I am setting up my first Falcon F16V3 ever on my home network.  Have the ip addr set with my gateway addr and no DNS server.   Trying to locate the Falcon  by using the ping command or Angry IP scanner and get no response.  Does the Falcon respons to  ping commands?


Does it only respond to Arcnet protocol?


Trying to use Vixen 3.5 to drive this system. 
Vixen 3.5, falcon 16V3 & Propeller based DMX 24 channel dimmer  packs.

Offline pixelpuppy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Location: Dallas, TX
  • Posts: 1,353
  • Kudos: 43
Re: Network Setup for Newbies
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2018, 09:59:44 AM »
Help us help you.  To diagnose network issues we need a bit more detail:


What is the full IP address, Mask, and Gateway set on your controller (provide all the numbers please)
What is the full IP address, Mask, and Gateway set on your computer (provide all the numbers please)



-Mark

Offline AgingBeaver

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2018
  • Location: Eugene, Oregon
  • Posts: 7
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Network Setup for Newbies
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2018, 10:37:16 AM »
192.169.0.51
255.255.255.0
192.168.0.1

Offline AgingBeaver

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2018
  • Location: Eugene, Oregon
  • Posts: 7
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Network Setup for Newbies
« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2018, 10:39:45 AM »
correction:
192.168.0.51
255,255,255,0
192.168.0.1 or 192.168.0.2 (wifi extender).   I have tried both


Offline AgingBeaver

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2018
  • Location: Eugene, Oregon
  • Posts: 7
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Network Setup for Newbies
« Reply #4 on: December 17, 2018, 11:12:20 AM »
I need to read closer...


Controller set to  192.168.0.51
                            255.255.255.0
               gw        192.168.0.1
             dns 000.000.000.000


Computer  set  192.168.0.14
                         255.255.255.0
                 gw   192.168.0.1
         dns       205.171.3.65
                      205.171.2.65




Offline tbone321

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 1,573
  • Kudos: 49
Re: Network Setup for Newbies
« Reply #5 on: December 17, 2018, 11:47:05 AM »
How are you trying to connect to the F16V3?  Is this wired or wireless?  It seems that you are setting a static address on the F16.  Is this address withing your DHCP address range?  If so, you may need to use a different host number (last number of the address).  If you are connecting over WIFI, did you set the SSID and password correctly?  You can see that by looking into your router and see if its IP address is in the hosts list.  You should also be able to do that for hosts on the Ethernet ports as well.  If you don't see it on your router, then the F16 is not connecting and you may need to check the F16's configuration to make sure that the interface you are using is enabled and configured correctly.  Take a look at the cable if using Ethernet and make sure it is a good cable and fully inserted.  BTW, how did you configure the F16 to begin with?

Offline AgingBeaver

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2018
  • Location: Eugene, Oregon
  • Posts: 7
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Network Setup for Newbies
« Reply #6 on: December 17, 2018, 12:26:28 PM »
I configured the  Falcon 16v3 using the keypad.  The ether-net port activity lights come on when hardwired cable plugged into either port.  Have not done anything with wireless. 


I have also taken out the router and just had the computer and the falcon connected to the same switch.   The falcon does not answer any ping request!.  and can't get to it with a browser.



I have a wifi extender that bridge between A dsl modem and my network extender.  It's IP addr 192.168.0.2. 

Offline Alexissamantha

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2018
  • Location:
  • Posts: 3
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Network Setup for Newbies
« Reply #7 on: December 17, 2018, 12:58:34 PM »
I am having the same problems did you solve this I spent a ton of time installing lights and wiring and got down to connecting to the controller and nothings working


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline AgingBeaver

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2018
  • Location: Eugene, Oregon
  • Posts: 7
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Network Setup for Newbies
« Reply #8 on: December 17, 2018, 01:09:43 PM »
Not yet.  Wondering if I have a bad Falcon?

Offline K-State Fan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 298
  • Kudos: 5
Re: Network Setup for Newbies
« Reply #9 on: December 17, 2018, 02:02:29 PM »
Call David

Offline Alexissamantha

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2018
  • Location:
  • Posts: 3
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Network Setup for Newbies
« Reply #10 on: December 17, 2018, 02:20:24 PM »
Feeling the same I tried everything and I cant seem to get the controller to come up when I type the ip in


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline tbone321

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 1,573
  • Kudos: 49
Re: Network Setup for Newbies
« Reply #11 on: December 17, 2018, 06:26:01 PM »
When you did the direct connection, did you set the PC's Ethernet port to a static address and what was it?  Also make sure that you have saved the changes and rebooted the F16 prior to attempting to connect to it.  Unless the changes are saved and the unit rebooted, the IP address shown is meaningless.
« Last Edit: December 17, 2018, 06:36:06 PM by tbone321 »

Offline AgingBeaver

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2018
  • Location: Eugene, Oregon
  • Posts: 7
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Network Setup for Newbies
« Reply #12 on: January 03, 2019, 02:23:17 PM »
Resolution of the issue:  Talked to David Pitts and determined that the falcon IP port was not functioning and he sent a replacement card.
The replacement came up on my network and has been working flawlessly since.








 

Back to top