Author Topic: Philips Illuminate  (Read 625 times)

Offline Xmas!

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2018
  • Location: Cocoa, FL
  • Posts: 164
  • Kudos: 2
Philips Illuminate
« on: December 27, 2018, 06:45:40 AM »
Hello everyone. Brand new to the forums and RGB pixel lights. My question is about the philips illuminate christmas lights. I can't find any specs on exactly what they are but they act just like an RGB pixel would. I bought a bunch of strings before christmas and have since decided to go all out next year with RGB pixels and the F16V3. Will the philips lights work with the controller as pixels or not? I would love to integrate them in as my roof line lights. They have what appears to be the correct plug and they can light up all colors at different times so I think they may be pixels but I'm not sure. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
My name is Steve and I'm just getting started. but I think this will become a huge hobby!!

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,303
  • Kudos: 127
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Philips Illuminate
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2018, 06:51:45 AM »
A Google search did not find any "hobbyist" comments about these lights related to their control chip.
While it is possible that they are controllable from the Falcon (or other vendor) controllers, somebody needs to do the initial experiment and post results.

Offline Xmas!

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2018
  • Location: Cocoa, FL
  • Posts: 164
  • Kudos: 2
Re: Philips Illuminate
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2018, 04:54:54 PM »
Thanks Jon. If anyone has any experience with this please let me know I contacted philips about the tech specs. If/when they get back to me I will post the results here.

Offline aERonAUtical96

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 50
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Philips Illuminate
« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2018, 09:40:19 PM »
There was a thread over on Diychristmas.  These use the UCS1909 protocol.  The alphapix classic controller from holidaycoro indicates it supports that protocol.  But it also indicates that the 1909 is in the 2811 family.

Sorry wish i knew but maybe the smart guys will chime in.

Offline Xmas!

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2018
  • Location: Cocoa, FL
  • Posts: 164
  • Kudos: 2
Re: Philips Illuminate
« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2018, 09:52:22 AM »
Could you please post a link to that thread if you have it? Thanks.

Offline aERonAUtical96

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 50
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Philips Illuminate
« Reply #5 on: December 28, 2018, 01:44:23 PM »
http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/showthread.php?35787-Phillips-Illuminate-System-at-Target&highlight=illuminate


The original post is a couple of years old, but there are recent posts.  One thing I forgot to mention... in that post they indicate they are 24v.  Again, no experience with them so just relaying information I found while searching.


I saw these at target the other day and I have some old mini trees that the mini light version of these would be perfect for (better than bullets), so i quickly researched them and found the above link.  After reading, I decided it wasn't worth the effort.  I might head back on New Years when they hit 90% off and buy a set to play.  But I don't think it will work.  Hopefully I'm wrong.

Offline Xmas!

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2018
  • Location: Cocoa, FL
  • Posts: 164
  • Kudos: 2
Re: Philips Illuminate
« Reply #6 on: December 28, 2018, 02:25:13 PM »
Well I have 11 sets with the controller that I am hoping to integrate into my new show for next year. I wish the F16 supported these. If not I can always sell them at a discounted price and use the money to buy pixels.

Offline Xmas!

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2018
  • Location: Cocoa, FL
  • Posts: 164
  • Kudos: 2
Re: Philips Illuminate
« Reply #7 on: December 29, 2018, 05:08:29 PM »
aERonAUtical96, if that thread is correct and the alphapix 16 can control them, would I be able to link the alphapix 16 to an F16v3?

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,303
  • Kudos: 127
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Philips Illuminate
« Reply #8 on: December 29, 2018, 06:11:57 PM »
aERonAUtical96, if that thread is correct and the alphapix 16 can control them, would I be able to link the alphapix 16 to an F16v3?

The F16v3 will pass along the E1.31 data to the "next" device, in your case, the alphapix 16.

Offline Xmas!

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2018
  • Location: Cocoa, FL
  • Posts: 164
  • Kudos: 2
Re: Philips Illuminate
« Reply #9 on: December 29, 2018, 07:26:07 PM »
Excellent! Now I just need to figure out how to get them working on an alpha 16

Offline Xmas!

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2018
  • Location: Cocoa, FL
  • Posts: 164
  • Kudos: 2
Re: Philips Illuminate
« Reply #10 on: December 29, 2018, 07:45:44 PM »
US $195.00 | ArtNet to SPI pixel light controller;4* SPI output;supports WS2811/WS2812/SK6812/TM1809/ TM1812/UCS1909/UCS1912/UCS2909/UCS2912
https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/bkRnamlK
Would that work to support the lights? Its up to 24v unlike the alphapix. Says it supports UCS1909. Not sure if Ray Wu is just a seller or tech savvy so I didnt ask him. Thought I would start here.

Offline Xmas!

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2018
  • Location: Cocoa, FL
  • Posts: 164
  • Kudos: 2
Re: Philips Illuminate
« Reply #11 on: December 29, 2018, 08:21:56 PM »
Ok just spoke with Ray and he says that the following 2 modules will work:
https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/WC7mROu
https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/cdNyDa7A
Both work with UCS1909 protocol.
Not sure about integrating it into an F16 though.

 

Back to top