Author Topic: Need some input on what I need  (Read 180 times)

Offline thewinks

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2018
  • Location:
  • Posts: 5
  • Kudos: 0
Need some input on what I need
« on: January 02, 2019, 12:28:35 PM »
I want to do just a mega tree for next year.  I have been reading alot and wanted to make sure I have my stuff straight.


I am looking at doing a 16 strip *50 nodes per strip so a total of 800 pixels.  I think I can run this from the PiCap.  If there are better suggestions i am open to changing.


my setup I think I will need:
 raspberry pi running FPP.
 PiCap
 12v power supply
 16 strands of 12v pixels
 f8 power distro to power inject every 200?
 wire to connect all.


Does anyone have a parts listing that they suggest to put it all together?  is there anything I am missing that I need? 



Offline Bwinter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Jul 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 411
  • Kudos: 10
    • First Show 2016
Re: Need some input on what I need
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2019, 12:39:35 PM »
Looks good.  You'll also need a uSD card for the Pi (class 10, with reasonable amount of storage space 16-32GB).


I suspect that you'll also need a supporting strip to mount the pixels on.

Offline Bizeek

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 3
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Need some input on what I need
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2019, 03:00:17 PM »
I want to do just a mega tree for next year.  I have been reading alot and wanted to make sure I have my stuff straight.


I am looking at doing a 16 strip *50 nodes per strip so a total of 800 pixels.  I think I can run this from the PiCap.  If there are better suggestions i am open to changing.


my setup I think I will need:
 raspberry pi running FPP.
 PiCap
 12v power supply
 16 strands of 12v pixels
 f8 power distro to power inject every 200?
 wire to connect all.


Does anyone have a parts listing that they suggest to put it all together?  is there anything I am missing that I need?
Are you doing LED strips or doing bullet pixels punched into something like the Boscoyo pixel strips at 2inch or 3 inch spacing?
Need to count in wind factor for weather resistance if you are mounting on to a pole either a 180 degree tree or a flat tree.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline thewinks

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2018
  • Location:
  • Posts: 5
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Need some input on what I need
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2019, 07:45:31 AM »
yes I will be going with the strips.  I was thinking 2 inch spacing.  So that should put the tress about 10 feet or so.  My house is very close to the road maybe 15-20 feet. 

Offline mcas4380

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 28
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Need some input on what I need
« Reply #4 on: January 03, 2019, 02:46:39 PM »
Sounds like your plan will work.

Offline jnealand

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Location: Kennesaw, GA
  • Posts: 2,843
  • Kudos: 62
Re: Need some input on what I need
« Reply #5 on: January 03, 2019, 04:36:42 PM »
When you use the word "strips"  it requires context because some folks will take that as LED strip lighting and other folks will take that to mean mounting strips for nodes.    And there is a big difference in what those two options are.  To get the quickest and best help also qualify your words.
Jim Nealand
Kennesaw, GA all Falcon controllers, all 12v Master Remote Multisync with Pi and BBB P10 and P5

Offline thewinks

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2018
  • Location:
  • Posts: 5
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Need some input on what I need
« Reply #6 on: January 04, 2019, 06:42:39 AM »
Sorry i will correct my terms next time.  I am brand new to all of this.  I am going to be using the mounting strips. 

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,063
  • Kudos: 116
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Need some input on what I need
« Reply #7 on: January 04, 2019, 07:19:25 AM »
Sorry i will correct my terms next time.  I am brand new to all of this.  I am going to be using the mounting strips.

You can go back and edit prior posts. It may help another new person if they see your posting.

 

Back to top