Author Topic: PI Cap setup  (Read 489 times)

Offline MarkPiZero

• Kudos: 0
PI Cap setup
« on: January 06, 2019, 11:01:19 PM »
 I am a newbie and this is my first attempt in controlling addressable LEDs.  I have two virtually identical setups consisting of: Pi Zero WH, PiCap, and FPP 2.5.3 OS. One set up is using 12 VDC WS2811 with 49 pixels and the other 12 VDC WS2813 with 150 pixels. I can network to both and upload a simple 30 second sequence from xLights for testing purposes.  Both setup have failed to pass my expectations in the Display Testing in either the General Channel or Sequence sections.  The channel output is set as WS281x in the Pi Pixel Strings.  When testing the pixels may turn on or off and change colors but there are absolutely no patterns or chases going on.  The WS2813 strip has a built in pattern generator any the strip runs patterns when idle. The WS2811 string was verified with another inexpensive controller and they appear to work ok. What am I doing wrong? Thank in advance for any guidance.

Mark

Offline Bwinter

• Kudos: 10
    • First Show 2016
Re: PI Cap setup
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2019, 11:15:18 PM »
So....are the LEDs responding in Display Testing within FPP?  Its a bit hard to follow what youre saying (versus expecting)

Offline Bwinter

• First Show 2016
PI Cap setup
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2019, 11:17:37 PM »
And what do you mean by WS2813 has a built-in pattern?

Strips dont have anything like that built in. Are you referring to an external controller?

Offline mararunr

• Kudos: 14
    • Bentonville Heart Lites
« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2019, 08:08:58 AM »