Author Topic: RGB -> BRG Issue on P1 and P2  (Read 230 times)

Offline bfmorgan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2018
  • Location:
  • Posts: 5
  • Kudos: 0
RGB -> BRG Issue on P1 and P2
« on: January 13, 2019, 04:12:38 PM »
I have a Pi Cap and have 100 nodes connected to P1 and 100 nodes connected to P2 (see RPi.jpg and RPiSetUp1.jpg). Each port is has two 50 node strings. I had to configure P1 to BRG and P1 to RGB in the "Pi Pixel Settings" in the Channel Outputs (see "PiChannel.jpg) in order for both P1 and P2's node to both be RED when the "Channel Testing" Fill has R set to 255 and G and B set to zero.


I have tried switching the cables from P1 to P2 and vice versa, but still get the same RGB -> BRG issue on port 2. Any ideas what I did wrong. By the way the four strings are from HolidayCoro and all say RGB on the label.


Thanks in advance.

Offline bfmorgan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2018
  • Location:
  • Posts: 5
  • Kudos: 0
Re: RGB -> BRG Issue on P1 and P2
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2019, 04:16:56 PM »
I have a Pi Cap and have 100 nodes connected to P1 and 100 nodes connected to P2 (see RPi.jpg and RPiSetUp1.jpg). Each port is has two 50 node strings. I had to configure P1 to BRG and P1 to RGB in the "Pi Pixel Settings" in the Channel Outputs (see "PiChannel.jpg) in order for both P1 and P2's node to both be RED when the "Channel Testing" Fill has R set to 255 and G and B set to zero.[/size][/font]


I have tried switching the cables from P1 to P2 and vice versa, but still get the same RGB -> BRG issue on port 2. Any ideas what I did wrong. By the way the four strings are from HolidayCoro and all say RGB on the label.


Thanks in advance.

Offline Bwinter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Jul 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 434
  • Kudos: 10
    • First Show 2016
RGB -> BRG Issue on P1 and P2
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2019, 04:26:54 PM »
I think its because youre using Star Channel 1 and 2.  Each set should be our own start 1, and maybe 101 (for the second port).

Or at least maybe the same multiple of three.

Offline Bwinter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Jul 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 434
  • Kudos: 10
    • First Show 2016
Re: RGB -> BRG Issue on P1 and P2
« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2019, 04:35:29 PM »
Ive never spent a lot of time setting my colors exactly in Display Testing.  I use Display Testing merely to see if everything is on (and responding reasonable).

Instead, I generate a sequence and adjust the colors based on that.

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,238
  • Kudos: 126
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: RGB -> BRG Issue on P1 and P2
« Reply #4 on: January 13, 2019, 07:27:20 PM »
At the end of the first string entry, it says "last channel" is 300

Your Start channel for the second string should be 301. (and it will say last channel is 600 then)

Then, you can set both strings to RGB

Offline bfmorgan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2018
  • Location:
  • Posts: 5
  • Kudos: 0
Re: RGB -> BRG Issue on P1 and P2
« Reply #5 on: January 13, 2019, 07:51:13 PM »
I tried setting both Start Channels to 1 and the RGB issue went away and when I set the Start Channel to 301 on the P2 output the RGB issue was gone as well. I'm assuming that if you set both Start Channels to 1 then both P1 and P2 on the PiCap are sending the same information.


Thanks guys for the next step up the ladder here.

 

Back to top