Author Topic: Trouble connecting to F16V3  (Read 559 times)

Offline K-State Fan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 289
  • Kudos: 5
Re: Trouble connecting to F16V3
« Reply #15 on: January 19, 2019, 01:22:09 PM »
I do not understand all of your routers. It looks like you have three routers. Can you diagram how you have everything hooked up? 


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,924
  • Kudos: 76
Re: Trouble connecting to F16V3
« Reply #16 on: January 19, 2019, 01:24:49 PM »
Maybe jump in on Zoom with us some evening.
https://zoom.us/j/175801909



PixelController, LLC
PixelController.com

Offline Xmas!

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2018
  • Location: Cocoa, FL
  • Posts: 162
  • Kudos: 2
Re: Trouble connecting to F16V3
« Reply #17 on: January 19, 2019, 02:10:34 PM »
Only 1 router. These are the 3 different configurations I have put them in.
My name is Steve and I'm just getting started. but I think this will become a huge hobby!!

Offline Xmas!

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2018
  • Location: Cocoa, FL
  • Posts: 162
  • Kudos: 2
Re: Trouble connecting to F16V3
« Reply #18 on: January 19, 2019, 02:13:53 PM »
BTW Dave thanks for the invite. I've never heard of Zoom before so I installed it but unfortunately I don't have a mic or cam on my PC lol. Is there some other chat we can use?

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,924
  • Kudos: 76
Re: Trouble connecting to F16V3
« Reply #19 on: January 19, 2019, 05:12:03 PM »
Call me. Number of Pixelcontroller.com at bottom of each page.

Offline Xmas!

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2018
  • Location: Cocoa, FL
  • Posts: 162
  • Kudos: 2
Re: Trouble connecting to F16V3
« Reply #20 on: January 19, 2019, 05:29:33 PM »
Roger that.

Offline K-State Fan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 289
  • Kudos: 5
Re: Trouble connecting to F16V3
« Reply #21 on: January 20, 2019, 09:00:54 AM »
I saw in your other post that you are still having trouble.

Are you able to connect to the pi with the wireless?




Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Offline Xmas!

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2018
  • Location: Cocoa, FL
  • Posts: 162
  • Kudos: 2
Re: Trouble connecting to F16V3
« Reply #22 on: January 20, 2019, 09:36:27 AM »
My Pi has connectivity to my router via WiFi but the F16 MUST be hardwired to the router for connectivity. I cannot connect to the F16 via WiFi or cable to the Pi.

Offline tbone321

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 1,571
  • Kudos: 48
Re: Trouble connecting to F16V3
« Reply #23 on: January 20, 2019, 10:29:56 AM »
You just need to set up the routing function in the PI and configure a route command on your PC to get the PC to connect to the F16 thru the PI.  Checking the Route between Interfaces checkbox on the PI's network screen enables the routing on the PI and a route command needs to be entered on the PC (assuming Windows) to get them to talk to each other.  I would need the IP addresses of the two PI interfaces and the F16 to give you the correct command. 

Offline Xmas!

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2018
  • Location: Cocoa, FL
  • Posts: 162
  • Kudos: 2
Re: Trouble connecting to F16V3
« Reply #24 on: January 20, 2019, 11:11:00 AM »
Here they are. And I am still having a problem entering the mask. It won't accept 255.255.255.0

Offline Xmas!

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2018
  • Location: Cocoa, FL
  • Posts: 162
  • Kudos: 2
Re: Trouble connecting to F16V3
« Reply #25 on: January 20, 2019, 11:27:06 AM »
Additionally when the F16 first boots up it shows an WiFi address of 0.0.0.0 regardless of what I put in the GUI.

Offline Xmas!

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2018
  • Location: Cocoa, FL
  • Posts: 162
  • Kudos: 2
Re: Trouble connecting to F16V3
« Reply #26 on: January 20, 2019, 11:45:42 AM »
Here is my route print table

Offline tbone321

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 1,571
  • Kudos: 48
Re: Trouble connecting to F16V3
« Reply #27 on: January 20, 2019, 12:29:47 PM »
Before I get too far into it, I need to know how you are planning to set up.  The way most do it is to use WIFI to communicate with the PI.  The PI then controls the controllers thru its Ethernet connection IOW, the PI and the F16 are wired together and the both of them are monitored from the PC over WIFI.  If that's the way you want it to work, let be know and we can cable it up and configure them properly and if not, then let me know the way you want it to work.  BTW, awesome job on that controller box.  It looks like a commercial unit.  I am impressed.

Offline Xmas!

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2018
  • Location: Cocoa, FL
  • Posts: 162
  • Kudos: 2
Re: Trouble connecting to F16V3
« Reply #28 on: January 20, 2019, 12:46:09 PM »
That is exactly how I was planning on setting it up. Controller connected to Pi, Pi using WiFi.

Offline K-State Fan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 289
  • Kudos: 5
Re: Trouble connecting to F16V3
« Reply #29 on: January 20, 2019, 02:00:23 PM »
The IP of the wired falcon needs to be on the same subnet of eth0 on the pi. I would not worry about wireless on the Falcon if that is how it is going to be hooked up but I do not have that option on mine.       
I have attached my settings if that will help you

 

Back to top