Author Topic: Blowing fuses  (Read 416 times)

Offline Xmas!

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2018
  • Location: Cocoa, FL
  • Posts: 162
  • Kudos: 2
Blowing fuses
« on: January 22, 2019, 05:48:43 PM »
So I am doing some bench testing and during which I am blowing fuses. I have 200 pixels hooked up to output #16 on the F16 and everything goes well when testing except for 100% white. I have double and triple checked that 12V is going to 12V, data is going to data, and ground is going to ground. Data flow is going the correct way as well. The strips work fine when hooked up to separate outputs on the F16V3 even during 100% white. I have good continuity between 12V on both ends and ground on both ends. Voltage at the end of the strand fluctuates between 4.5 and 12 VDC when on 100% white. After another blown fuse while hooked to port 16, I switched to port 15 and it worked like a charm. Took resistance and continuity readings on all pigtails and they all came back good. Swapped pigtail positions between port 15 and 16 and retested. Port 15 is good with pigtail from 16. Port 16 blew a fuse with pigtail 15. So I have ruled out pigtails and pixels. I am thinking the board has a short in it somewhere.




My name is Steve and I'm just getting started. but I think this will become a huge hobby!!

Offline CaptainMurdoch

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Washington
  • Posts: 9,856
  • Kudos: 214
Re: Blowing fuses
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2019, 06:01:40 PM »
Is port 15 set to the default number of pixels while port 16 is set to 200?
-
Chris

Offline Xmas!

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2018
  • Location: Cocoa, FL
  • Posts: 162
  • Kudos: 2
Re: Blowing fuses
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2019, 06:02:34 PM »
Every port is set to 200 for testing purposes.

Offline allknowing2012

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jul 2018
  • Location:
  • Posts: 50
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Blowing fuses
« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2019, 07:35:55 PM »
Can you swap around the phoenix connector to another port?

Offline Xmas!

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2018
  • Location: Cocoa, FL
  • Posts: 162
  • Kudos: 2
Re: Blowing fuses
« Reply #4 on: January 22, 2019, 07:38:08 PM »
Can you swap around the phoenix connector to another port?

I did that by swapping the pigtails. I didnt rewire the Phoenix connectors I just unplugged them and swapped

Offline k6ccc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Location: Glendora, Calif, U.S.A. (near Los Angeles)
  • Posts: 508
  • Kudos: 6
    • Newburgh Lights
Re: Blowing fuses
« Reply #5 on: January 22, 2019, 09:52:21 PM »
200 pixels on a port at 100% without power injection WILL blow fuses - at least if it's on for very long.
Using LOR (mostly SuperStar) for all sequencing - using FPP only to drive P5 and P10 panels.
Jim

Offline Xmas!

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2018
  • Location: Cocoa, FL
  • Posts: 162
  • Kudos: 2
Re: Blowing fuses
« Reply #6 on: January 22, 2019, 11:39:52 PM »
Blows in a second or 2. Other ports were on for 10-20 seconds before I turned them off.

Offline Bwinter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Jul 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 434
  • Kudos: 10
    • First Show 2016
Re: Blowing fuses
« Reply #7 on: January 23, 2019, 12:29:31 AM »
Have you calculated how many amps those 200 pixels will pull at 100% white?

Is it greater than 5A?

Offline AAH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Location: Australia
  • Posts: 728
  • Kudos: 19
  • Blinky blinky blinky
    • I love blinky lights
Re: Blowing fuses
« Reply #8 on: January 23, 2019, 12:32:11 AM »
Measure the voltage at both ends of the strip on ports 15 and 16. The full load current for 200 pixels is 11A at 100% white so in theory they should blow a 7.5A fuse fairly fast 2-3 seconds is a fair bit faster than I would expect but I would also expect a much higher voltage than 4.5V even when the current is being exceeded. The ports themselves should have no effect on the output. They supply fused power and a simple data stream. The actual fuse itself can change the performance so try swapping port 15 and 16 fuses around and see if anything happens then.I don't know if the F16 has dimming ability configurable by port but if the other ports did have a dimming value in there and 16 didn't then this may be the problem.

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,238
  • Kudos: 126
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Blowing fuses
« Reply #9 on: January 23, 2019, 05:49:24 AM »
If you plan on 200 pixels on a single port, you need to power inject at the end. 100% power, White, is too much as indicated by the low voltage at the end of your strings.

Offline Xmas!

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2018
  • Location: Cocoa, FL
  • Posts: 162
  • Kudos: 2
Re: Blowing fuses
« Reply #10 on: January 23, 2019, 06:10:42 AM »
Measure the voltage at both ends of the strip on ports 15 and 16. The full load current for 200 pixels is 11A at 100% white so in theory they should blow a 7.5A fuse fairly fast 2-3 seconds is a fair bit faster than I would expect but I would also expect a much higher voltage than 4.5V even when the current is being exceeded. The ports themselves should have no effect on the output. They supply fused power and a simple data stream. The actual fuse itself can change the performance so try swapping port 15 and 16 fuses around and see if anything happens then.I don't know if the F16 has dimming ability configurable by port but if the other ports did have a dimming value in there and 16 didn't then this may be the problem.


Alan, I agree that 100% white with 200 pixels will draw more than the 5 amp fuse will take but like you said, 2-3 seconds is fast. The low voltage could also be in part due to the hack job connections I am using for temporary testing. I plan on cleaning up the splices and seeing if that helps. All ports are set to 100% and 200 pixels.

Offline Xmas!

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2018
  • Location: Cocoa, FL
  • Posts: 162
  • Kudos: 2
Re: Blowing fuses
« Reply #11 on: January 23, 2019, 06:12:49 AM »
If you plan on 200 pixels on a single port, you need to power inject at the end. 100% power, White, is too much as indicated by the low voltage at the end of your strings.


Jon I fully intend to PI. I was just trying to test the voltage drop at 100% white. I do NOT plan on running the lights that bright when they are on display. This was mearly bench testing. Thanks.

 

Back to top