Author Topic: LAN speed of F48  (Read 410 times)

Offline sam-tip

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2018
  • Location:
  • Posts: 4
  • Kudos: 0
LAN speed of F48
« on: February 24, 2019, 10:29:15 AM »
Having trouble finding the Network LAN speed of the Network port (RJ45) on the F48.  Is it 10 , 100, or 1000.  Thinking of new network just for the lights.   Wondering if it would be worth getting gigabit network equipment (1000).    Already have two 10/100 wired routers for home and work networks (192.168.1.1 and 192.168.0.1 ) 

Offline pixelpuppy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Location: Dallas, TX
  • Posts: 1,430
  • Kudos: 45
Re: LAN speed of F48
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2019, 11:59:17 AM »
Its a 100Mb Ethernet interface
-Mark

Offline sam-tip

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2018
  • Location:
  • Posts: 4
  • Kudos: 0
Re: LAN speed of F48
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2019, 02:21:07 PM »
Thank You.  No need to spend extra for 1000mb then.

Offline jnealand

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Location: Kennesaw, GA
  • Posts: 2,947
  • Kudos: 68
Re: LAN speed of F48
« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2019, 06:00:48 PM »
To me the difference in price is negligible in terms of my whole show and buy gig equipment you are future proofed.  Just my 2 cents.
Jim Nealand
Kennesaw, GA all Falcon controllers, all 12v Master Remote Multisync with Pi and BBB P10 and P5

Offline algerdes

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Location: Lebanon, Illinois
  • Posts: 914
  • Kudos: 13
Re: LAN speed of F48
« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2019, 06:46:48 AM »
I totally agree with buying the gig-switch.  Note that we are starting to see gig devices in the hobby. We have used gig-switches and associated equipment since the beginning.  Absolutely no problems.

Sequencers: Vixen3 and xLights
Players: FPP and xSchedule Controllers:  Renards - SS24/SS16; E1.31 - San Devices E682 - Falcon F16, F4, F48 - J1Sys - DIYLEDExpress E1.31 Bridges.  Much more!

Offline pixelpuppy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Location: Dallas, TX
  • Posts: 1,430
  • Kudos: 45
Re: LAN speed of F48
« Reply #5 on: February 25, 2019, 09:54:28 AM »
I don't disagree with the other comments about buying a new gig switch..... IF you need a new switch, yes, buy gig switch.


But if you already have 100Mb switches, the F48 will run fine on them and you do not *need* to buy a gig switch to run it.

 

Back to top