Author Topic: Sequence misbehaving after upgrade from 50 to 100 pixel lights  (Read 262 times)

Offline dchristian

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2018
  • Location:
  • Posts: 26
  • Kudos: 2
Hey Everyone,
After playing around successfully with 50 12v Pixels connected to Falcon PiCap (FPP) I decided to get 100 Pixels as a test for my windows.
So the first thing I did was create a simple light 3 minute sequence in xLights for 300 channels and used the window design. The setup was for 30 pixels on the left and right, 20 on the top and 20 on the bottom, the total being 100 pixels. Everything looks good on xLights. Then I copy the fseq over to my FPP and the sequence goes crazy. By crazy I mean it flickers for 6-7 seconds and then the first 10 pixels light up in different colors. I did make sure I deleted the previous folder and the sequence, rebooted the FPP, then added the new folder and a sequence to it. Still the same problem. Here's some screenshots I took of my setup. Any clues as to why this is happening?



Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,246
  • Kudos: 126
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Sequence misbehaving after upgrade from 50 to 100 pixel lights
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2019, 07:21:41 AM »
What does your "Pi Pixel String" page look like?

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,246
  • Kudos: 126
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Sequence misbehaving after upgrade from 50 to 100 pixel lights
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2019, 07:31:39 AM »
A more complete set of questions would be:

What version of FPP are you using? (i.e., if it isn't fairly new, your xLights FSEQ might be the "wrong" version)

How did you put the FSEQ file on your FPP? Manually or using FPP Connect? (lots of options in FPP Connect)

Offline dchristian

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2018
  • Location:
  • Posts: 26
  • Kudos: 2
Re: Sequence misbehaving after upgrade from 50 to 100 pixel lights
« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2019, 07:55:53 AM »
Hi JonB256,
So there is no limitations by design for the 12v 100 pixels?

My FPP version is 2.5.3.

I put my fseq file on FPP via the web browser manually. Is that the same as FPP connect? This is my first time using it so i'm a bit of a novice and hence asking all these silly questions.

Offline algerdes

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Location: Lebanon, Illinois
  • Posts: 891
  • Kudos: 13
Re: Sequence misbehaving after upgrade from 50 to 100 pixel lights
« Reply #4 on: May 02, 2019, 08:13:54 AM »
Will the network type still set to "Null" (first screen shot) be a problem?
Sequencers: Vixen3 and xLights
Players: FPP and xSchedule Controllers:  Renards - SS24/SS16; E1.31 - San Devices E682 - Falcon F16, F4, F48 - J1Sys - DIYLEDExpress E1.31 Bridges.  Much more!

Offline dchristian

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2018
  • Location:
  • Posts: 26
  • Kudos: 2
Re: Sequence misbehaving after upgrade from 50 to 100 pixel lights
« Reply #5 on: May 02, 2019, 09:11:04 AM »
What should I set the network type as for my FPP?
The attached images are the options I have.

Offline dkulp

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Framingham, MA
  • Posts: 1,595
  • Kudos: 92
    • KulpLights.com
Re: Sequence misbehaving after upgrade from 50 to 100 pixel lights
« Reply #6 on: May 02, 2019, 09:20:23 AM »
Set it up as DDP output and make sure you give it enough channels.   That's the easiest setup to use for FPP.

Offline Todd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Jan 2017
  • Location: Kimberly, Wisconsin
  • Posts: 305
  • Kudos: 6
Re: Sequence misbehaving after upgrade from 50 to 100 pixel lights
« Reply #7 on: May 02, 2019, 09:44:16 AM »
I dont recall seeing this. Are the Falcon controllers going to accept DDP in the near future?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Todd L.
Kimberly, WI

Falcon F16V3 F48, FPP, X-Lights, LOR, Pi 3B

Offline dchristian

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2018
  • Location:
  • Posts: 26
  • Kudos: 2
Re: Sequence misbehaving after upgrade from 50 to 100 pixel lights
« Reply #8 on: May 02, 2019, 09:49:50 AM »
Which FPP controller option do I use? Mine has two outputs for Pixel lines.

Offline dchristian

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2018
  • Location:
  • Posts: 26
  • Kudos: 2
Re: Sequence misbehaving after upgrade from 50 to 100 pixel lights
« Reply #9 on: May 02, 2019, 10:08:02 AM »
Found one problem. I noticed the Pixel strings for the Channel out was set to only 50 pixels. Changing it to 100 helped in the test, however, the sequence till isn't working.
« Last Edit: May 02, 2019, 10:16:53 AM by dchristian »

Offline dkulp

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Framingham, MA
  • Posts: 1,595
  • Kudos: 92
    • KulpLights.com
Re: Sequence misbehaving after upgrade from 50 to 100 pixel lights
« Reply #10 on: May 02, 2019, 10:23:59 AM »


Are you using a 1.x FSEQ or 2.x?    FPP 2.5.3 would only support the 1.x version.


Offline dchristian

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2018
  • Location:
  • Posts: 26
  • Kudos: 2
Re: Sequence misbehaving after upgrade from 50 to 100 pixel lights
« Reply #11 on: May 02, 2019, 10:47:45 AM »
I have no clue which FSEQ version i'm using. How do I found out?

Offline dchristian

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2018
  • Location:
  • Posts: 26
  • Kudos: 2
Re: Sequence misbehaving after upgrade from 50 to 100 pixel lights
« Reply #12 on: May 02, 2019, 11:57:37 AM »
I did some searching and came across a similar post --> https://falconchristmas.com/forum/index.php?topic=10758.0
The FPP Connect did the trick!
Thank you all who helped me!

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,246
  • Kudos: 126
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Sequence misbehaving after upgrade from 50 to 100 pixel lights
« Reply #13 on: May 03, 2019, 05:34:05 AM »
I dont recall seeing this. Are the Falcon controllers going to accept DDP in the near future?


though outside of the original question, DDP is supported on any v2.5 or v2.6 FPP (Pi or Beagle)

That does not include "Falcon" controllers such as the F16 or F48 or F4.  They support E1.31 input (unicast or multicast)

Offline Todd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Jan 2017
  • Location: Kimberly, Wisconsin
  • Posts: 305
  • Kudos: 6
Re: Sequence misbehaving after upgrade from 50 to 100 pixel lights
« Reply #14 on: May 03, 2019, 06:41:11 AM »
Thanks Jon, I know it was outside the original question. But it would help out for my planning for this year if DDP functionality were to be in the Falcons. Im going to be reconfiguring my layout and If DDP were to be included sometime this summer I would hold off on the setup.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

 

Back to top