Author Topic: Can't increase beyond 512 number of channels  (Read 484 times)

Offline dchristian

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2018
  • Location:
  • Posts: 26
  • Kudos: 2
Can't increase beyond 512 number of channels
« on: May 04, 2019, 11:48:06 AM »
Hello,
Newbie here setting up my Falcon V3 16 for the first time.


It is my understanding that each universe can handle 1024 channels, however, I can't seem to go over 512. Any setting I need to change?


Here's a few screenshots of what I have




Offline rstehle

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Location: Colorado Springs
  • Posts: 251
  • Kudos: 1
Re: Can't increase beyond 512 number of channels
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2019, 12:25:10 PM »
Looks like you only have 1 universe set up on your e131 page.

Offline mac50

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2014
  • Location: Cumberland County, Illinois
  • Posts: 58
  • Kudos: 2
Re: Can't increase beyond 512 number of channels
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2019, 12:51:38 PM »
Hello,
Newbie here setting up my Falcon V3 16 for the first time.


It is my understanding that each universe can handle 1024 channels, however, I can't seem to go over 512.

512 is the max

Offline dchristian

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2018
  • Location:
  • Posts: 26
  • Kudos: 2
Re: Can't increase beyond 512 number of channels
« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2019, 02:32:00 PM »
So was I wrong in my understanding?


One universe i.e. one pigtail coming out of the Falcon 16 V3 can handle only 512 channels?


My plan was to use 100 pixels i.e. 600 channels for each window which means I need to have 2 Universes or two pigtail outlets for each window?


Can someone confirm this please?

Offline rstehle

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Location: Colorado Springs
  • Posts: 251
  • Kudos: 1
Re: Can't increase beyond 512 number of channels
« Reply #4 on: May 04, 2019, 04:02:52 PM »
Yes.  The Falcon controllers can control up to 1024 Pixels per output port.  A universe tops out at 512 channels (170 pixels).  You need to tell your setup how many universes you are using in total, not per port.

Offline deplanche

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 233
  • Kudos: 5
Re: Can't increase beyond 512 number of channels
« Reply #5 on: May 04, 2019, 08:12:00 PM »
Each port on the falcon can output up to 6 universes.  There is not a 1 to 1 relationship between ports and universes.

Offline K-State Fan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 313
  • Kudos: 5
Re: Can't increase beyond 512 number of channels
« Reply #6 on: May 05, 2019, 11:17:35 AM »
So was I wrong in my understanding?


One universe i.e. one pigtail coming out of the Falcon 16 V3 can handle only 512 channels?


My plan was to use 100 pixels i.e. 600 channels for each window which means I need to have 2 Universes or two pigtail outlets for each window?


Can someone confirm this please?


100 pixels is 300 channels

Offline dchristian

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2018
  • Location:
  • Posts: 26
  • Kudos: 2
Re: Can't increase beyond 512 number of channels
« Reply #7 on: May 05, 2019, 02:36:53 PM »
Thank you all for responding and educating me. First, I do have a correction in my earlier statement, I mentioned 300 channels when it should have been 600 channels for my 200 pixel lights.

Based on the replies I got it looks like I can get the 200 pixels (or 600 channels) I need and I just need to figure out how.

Here's what I have already tried:See the attached screenshots? That shows you the design my lights. As an example the 'Above Garage' needs 200 Pixels or 600 channels and I have tried to add two universes (4 and 5) to it but I still get only 512 channels. Any other changes I need to make?
« Last Edit: May 05, 2019, 02:45:11 PM by dchristian »

Offline jnealand

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Location: Kennesaw, GA
  • Posts: 2,936
  • Kudos: 68
Re: Can't increase beyond 512 number of channels
« Reply #8 on: May 05, 2019, 02:37:19 PM »
One universe i.e. one pigtail coming out of the Falcon 16 V3 can handle only 512 channels?

My plan was to use 100 pixels i.e. 600 channels for each window which means I need to have 2 Universes or two pigtail outlets for each window?

We have all gone thru the confusion at some time. 
One port = one pigtail = one string, but the string (logical) may be made up of multiple shorter physical strings connected together.
One string can be from 1 to 1024 nodes/pixels
One strand = the part of a string that goes in one direction before reversing direction, like in a mega tree or matrix where the string physically zig zags up and down or side to side.  I use 240 node strings that go up and down 4 times or 60 node strands on my megatree
One node / pixel = three channels
One DMX universe = 512 channels although some folks use 510 just because it is divisible by 3.  Falcon controllers use 512 with no issues. 
One pixelnet universe is 4096 channels (Lynx controllers).
One channel is a single point that can be turned off/on and dimmed.  This is the true measure of the complexity of your show and not the number of bulbs since a string of 50 AC bulbs is only one channel, but a string of 50 pixels is 150 channels.

Using the correct terminology will always get you the fastest and most accurate help.  There are probably more terms, but I just ran out of memory.  LOL
Jim Nealand
Kennesaw, GA all Falcon controllers, all 12v Master Remote Multisync with Pi and BBB P10 and P5

Offline dchristian

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2018
  • Location:
  • Posts: 26
  • Kudos: 2
Re: Can't increase beyond 512 number of channels
« Reply #9 on: May 05, 2019, 02:59:00 PM »
Thanks Jnealand! That really helps.
Now I just need to know what configuration to setup. Any thoughts? I've attached the screenshots again.

Offline Kensington Graves

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: May 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 129
  • Kudos: 1
Re: Can't increase beyond 512 number of channels
« Reply #10 on: May 17, 2019, 03:27:53 PM »
It appears that when defining the e1.31 parameters, you've used the "single output option," which results in the "5-6" entry on line 5 of the table under "universe or ID".  If you are using that option, Xlights interprets the number entered in "last channel" to be the number of channels per universe (more or less--Xlights uses absolute addressing behind the scenes, iirc).  If you look at the channel numbers on line 5 of your setup, you'll see "300" under "number of channels, but if you look at the channel numbers in the next column, you'll see channels 1201 through 1800 appearing there.  You have thus added 600 channels between those two universes.


Offline Poporacer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Dec 2017
  • Location: Meridian Idaho
  • Posts: 545
  • Kudos: 7
Re: Can't increase beyond 512 number of channels
« Reply #11 on: May 17, 2019, 07:55:53 PM »
There is really no reason to limit your number of channels per Universe to 300. It looks like you are using one Universe per Model? That isn't a good methodology but a common thought process and will cause you a lot of hassles in the future especially when you actually start installing the pixels and finding out that the number of pixels doesn't match your "guess" of the amount of pixels you actually use or add models. For example, your garage is identified as using 200 pixels? Are you sure you are going to use exactly 200 pixels? Are you going to adjust your spacing to make sure it uses exactly 200 pixels? A standard 2 car garage has approximately 32 feet of outline and that would mean that your garage pixel spacing will be approximately 1.92 inches. Many people find 2 inch spacing for outlines to be a little excessive, but it is your choice. 
Universes are just a communication/numbering method. I would suggest using either 510 or 512 channels per universe on all of your Universes and it will greatly simplify things as Jnealand stated. (I use 512) You can have several models/strings on the same Universe and is very common.
Also, as Jnealand pointed out, Universes has nothing at all to do with the model configuration, the ports of your controller, the number of pixels that you are connecting to a port, the number of pixels on a string or number of pixels that are on a strand (and like Jnealand mentioned, understanding the difference is important!) You should change your Universes to the more common 510 or 512 channels per Universe and you would only need 13 Universes for your current configuration.
As Kensington Graves mentioned, if you select the "single output option" then you are listing several Universes on one line which isn't a big deal as long as you understand what you are doing.
If to err is human, I am more human than most people.

Offline Kensington Graves

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: May 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 129
  • Kudos: 1
Re: Can't increase beyond 512 number of channels
« Reply #12 on: May 18, 2019, 12:02:28 AM »
^^I think hes trying to use one controller output per model/prop.  At least thats how I interpreted his setup.  And its not an uncommon setup for a new user, either, until they figure out how everything hangs together.

 

Back to top