Author Topic: How to run more than 340 pixels from PiCap  (Read 234 times)

Offline srtate1

• Kudos: 0
How to run more than 340 pixels from PiCap
« on: May 20, 2019, 08:49:57 PM »
im new to the Raspberry Pi and Falcon PiCap.  The PiCap has two outputs that I understand are supposed to be able to run up to 800 pixels per output.  But when I set up my universes, the maximum number of channels it will allow is 512, which translates to 170 pixels per universe.  Two outputs, two universes - that equals 340 total pixels.  How do I run more?  Can each output run multiple universes?  If so, how many?  Thanks for pointing me in the right direction here.

Online Sawdust

• Kudos: 8
Re: How to run more than 340 pixels from PiCap
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2019, 09:01:16 PM »
What sequencer are you using. 
FPP Hat uses channels  not universes
« Last Edit: May 20, 2019, 09:12:38 PM by Sawdust »

Offline srtate1

« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2019, 09:11:43 PM »
XLights.  I have been running large shows with multiple RGB controllers, but this is my first excursion into the Pi.  Im trying to make a small mobile show for a performance production. A person will be wearing a costume with the lights sewn in.  I have it working with 340 pixels, but more would be better.

Online Sawdust

« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2019, 09:21:09 PM »
I am not an XLights guy, but Pi Hats use channels, not universe.  When you configure your fseq file, it is channels.

For  Vixen, I would just do the number of channels, then assign universes as needed. So 1000 pixels would be 3000 channels or about 6 universes.

On your Pi Pixel String TAB, assign channels sa needed per port.

Offline srtate1

« Reply #4 on: May 20, 2019, 09:39:57 PM »